We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous find in Vienna”

Appiano Das Gasthaus
Ranked #438 of 4,106 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: Austrian, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Neighborhood: Inner City
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous find in Vienna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

By far our best dining experience in Vienna with great food, excellent friendly staff, and beautiful view of Rathaus lit up at night. Just a short walk from St. Stephens and definitely worth it!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoDerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    38
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“too much success”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

Though Appiano has become a lovely restaurant in Vienna which combines the classic beisl with up-market cuisine and nice location, be careful when you book that you do not get the table in the back on the right hand side in front of the kitchen which is hot and noisy. Note that the owner/maitre d' enjoys real attitude from time to time. Due to this restaurant's recent popularity (Trip Advisor has assisted for better and worse), you may experience a lot of other tourists as opposed to locals who now seem to be getting back door treatment. This is a typical Vienna phenomenon, and since I do not consider myself a tourist after living in Vienna twenty years, i have seen everything. We only hope Appiano keeps its level of quality dining because these restaurants are vulnerable to fail with too much success.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank madamelabergere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Extensive wine list and fabulous food. Very helpful waiters and nice outdoor seating. Best cucumber soup and home baked bread!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Atl649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lived up to our expectatios.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

Knowlegable (good english), proffessional and friendly service that goes that extra mile to make your visit a memorable one. Reasonable prices for a wonderful food. You can rely on their wines suggestions and being taking for a ride. I went with my viennesse relatives on my suggestion and they were impressed as well.

Helpful?
2 Thank lech k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rattvik, Sweden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Vienesse gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

If you only have one night in Vienna let this be where you dine. The staff were courteous and knowledgable and really made us feel special. And the food, oh the food...

We were here during asparagus season and my husband started with asparagus soup (light and creamy with delicious chunks of asparagus beneath the surface and a delicate foam atop), followed by the veal (succulent and tender served with asparagus and a pea purée). I had asparagus with goats cheese as a starter, which wasn't on the menu but recommended by our waiter - it was absolutely delicious. As a main I had homemade ravioli stuffed with a fresh cheese and herb filling (a little salty for my liking) and a side salad.

They have a good selection of wines by the glass and helped us select some Austrian wines to accompany our food.

We arrived early without a reservation on a Saturday night and managed to get a table (by the kitchen - perhaps not to everyone's liking) and the place was soon heaving. Next time we'd probably make a reservation to be on the safe side. Because there definitely will be a next time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Altsarbyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Appiano Das Gasthaus also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Appiano Das Gasthaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing