We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to eat”

Appiano Das Gasthaus
Ranked #472 of 4,104 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $21
Cuisines: Austrian, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Neighborhood: Inner City
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Bumped in this restaurant, got the feel how this restaurant works very easy,and ordered pizza and pasta. Delicious Pizza and Pasta. you should try it while in Vienna

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rencas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    38
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best kept secret of Vienna”
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Excellent gourmet food in a typical Viennese "Wirtshaus". when you walk through the Schottenbastei, then you would never think that the Appiano is such a great eating experience waiting for you. Ask the waiters to surprise you and the chef will then create the most delicious things for you in gourmet style, so that you and your friends can enjoy the whole menu. Spot on!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CDRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service in this family run restaurant.”
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We tried Appiano based on the Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. The food was excellent and was a combination of Austrian and Italian. The menu changes every few days so we were tempted to go back again on our last night. Our starters included the octopus, tuna sashimi, and pumpkin soup. We enjoyed them all but the octopus stood out as it was very tender. The ravioli was homemade and we tried all of the varieties on the menu (goulash, beet, and beef). The chef was kind enough to give us each an individual sampler plate containing one of each type of ravioli. We finished off with profiteroles and a traditional potato plum dessert.

We loved the food and our waiter was excellent. He was part of the family that owns the restaurant and the service was so much better than anything else we encountered in Vienna; we really appreciated all of his help in navigating the food and wine choices.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Orange-Grapefruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Appiano was a real find. After going through Concierge services that were less than exciting, we went to Trip Advisor, where we read about Appiano. It was everything others have said. Charming, warm with attentive service. Food was fresh and beautifully prepared and presented, and it was affordable. They also offered fabulous homemade bread and pate, and small cups of creamy cucumber bisque. Very satisfying and great value.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Happytravelor187895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islip, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!!! DON'T MISS”
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Friendly, family owned place creating amazing dishes. Fork tender meat in mouthwatering sauces. Marco hooked us up with a wonderful dessert platter. Was our highlight dinner in Vienna. Will be dreaming of that meal for a long time.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bigcatq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Appiano Das Gasthaus also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Appiano Das Gasthaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing