We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wine, ok food, Great ambiance”

Mayer am Pfarrplatz
Ranked #230 of 4,270 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $24
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Dobling
Description: The tradition-steeped "Mayer am Pfarrplatz" winery, the epitome of Viennese Heuriger culture, has been producing the best Viennese wines since 1683 in Heiligenstadt. In 1817, Ludwig van Beethoven lived in the romantic listed suburban home on Pfarrplatz. During his time in Heiligenstadt he worked on his greatest creation: Symphony No. 9. Homemade spreads and sweet dishes, plus traditional Heuriger cuisine handed down through generations, coupled with new seasonal culinary delicacies, such as Mayer’s asparagus cordon bleu or onion roast made with organic beef, delight our guests and have also earned our "Mayer am Pfarrplatz" Heuriger AMA gastro accreditation. The cosy premises; our sunny terrace under grape vines and walnut trees; and our original Viennese Heuriger music (every day from 7pm) make the "Mayer am Pfarrplatz" a truly unique experience. We have our own children's play area for our younger guests. Our snugs are ideal for celebrations with between 10 and 450 guests. We are very happy to give you an tailored quote, whether you want to celebrate a graduation, wedding or birthday.
Mt Airy, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great wine, ok food, Great ambiance”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We went to the winery to step into the shoes of Beethoven was stayed here for a while. The wine was really good, food was good, but the outside ambiance really made it a great restaurant. The waitress spoke English however there was no English menu so bring your translator app on your smartphone.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SpazJodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    124
    55
    23
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice and too expensive”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Located in one of the many houses the composer Beethoven lived in, the venue is lovely and not far from a bus stop. The food is typical Viennese, fresh and homemade. Wines are from their own winery, of course. Whilst we appreciated that the owner was present, interaction with him was not very pleasant. Overall, far too expensive for what you get, there are much nicer "Heuriger" in Vienna.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanneMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Birthday Dinner”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We went here for my birthday since I love being in Grinzing. It was alittle too cold to eat outside, but we had a nice cozy meal inside with the accordion player nearby. Two people in our party had the buffet and loved the chicken while i ordered a wonderful wurst plate. We had a great time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malachy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Look around carefully before you order”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Unfortunately, although we we were accompanied by a local, we had already selected our food from the Heurigan side of this restaurant - all the food was pre-prepared and sitting in bain-maries. It wasn't very appealing, but it was reasonably priced - however, we didn't realise there was an alternative. We then noticed the board with a proper restaurant menu on the other side of the courtyard - and there we could have ordered the large schnitzels we'd been craving. Very disappointing and make sure you have a good look around before you order!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank josephine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Too expensive”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Very nice environment and atomosphere, good foods and wines but the price is too high, especially conisidering that the portions are quite small

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Francesco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mayer am Pfarrplatz also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Mayer am Pfarrplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing