We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Italian food at reasonable prices”

Ristorante Fratelli
Ranked #631 of 4,234 Restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Inner City
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice Italian food at reasonable prices”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We ate here twice in 5 days being in such a central location near our hotel. Standard Italian selection of pasta, pizzas etc, at reasonable prices for city centre. Service friendly and efficient. Nice decor, especially on downstairs cellar bar (non smoking area). Probably aimed more at tourists than locals, but did not disappoint.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    235
    100
    59
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Really good value”
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We visited the restaurant on two consecutive nights. We opted for the downstairs on both occasions as apparently smoking is permitted on the entrance floor. The restaurant staff were pretty friendly and accommodating (they also had to deal with our two young children and a pushchair). The first night we opted for pizza plus a carpaccio. Being a bit of a carpaccio 'appassionato', I can honestly say it was seasoned to perfection. The carpaccio also came with two dressings (hot peppers in oil and a pesto dressing) both pretty genuine. The pizzas were also excellent.

The second night we requested the waiter to get us penne with tomatoes and basil for the kids whilst we opted for baby calamari and scampi. The penne were made to order as requested and were a success with the kids. The calamari were grilled to perfection and the scampi were a close second. A word of advice to avoid misleading anyone, I do not believe the scampi were the fresh type but they were still very good.

I recommend the pannacotta with strawberries if you really fancy a happy ending......

The final thing that prompted me to write such a good review was attention to detail. Our daughter accidentally stuck the stem of a (fortunately) empty wine glass breaking it. In just one minute the glass was cleared up and a second waiter came with a new glass. He remarked that these things happen and not to worry about it

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Penticles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porsgrunn, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Italien restaurant in Vienna”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

After walking around in Vienna at Christmas, we where happy to find this calm and nice place.
Many others wellknown austrien restaurants was overcrowded and thefore very noisy.

If you like Italien restaurants, and you are staying in the old town, this is the place to go ( close to st. Stephandom).

The food was good and the service ecxellent. We got a table in th "basement", wich have more space than uppstairs.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Olav_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
464 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Average Restaurant, Unintended Entertainment Priceless”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The pizza was OK, the service was OK, the location in old town Vienna is good. But the highlight for us was the entertainment of watching an ongoing heated argument between our waiter and the hostess (topic unknown), the chair that almost fell apart for a customer at a nearby table and had to be replaced and the explanation our waiter gave for not delivering what my wife had ordered. She ordered some kind of pasta "de la mare", which was described on the menu as including several kinds of seafood, including scallops, scampi, shrimp, and so on. What came was close, pasta with only shrimp. Not a big deal, but when my wife politely asked if she had gotten the wrong order instead of the "seafood" pasta, the waiter hurriedly explained while pointing at the plate, "Yes, shrimps are seafood". Well, you can't argue with that logic. Hilarious!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thunderbird12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Too many disappointments”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Service: not very friendly. They don't try to make you feel welcome or good. A little impatient.

Carpaccio: way too sour, tasted almost only like lemon
The recommended red-wine: flat and boring
Pasta bolognese: ok but not amazing. I can do a better one.

I will go there one more time to try the Pizza everyone is raving about.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dgor82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Fratelli also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Ristorante Fratelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing