We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choice Restaurant”

Meierei am Stadtpark
Ranked #252 of 4,261 Restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: Austrian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Inner City
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Choice Restaurant”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Want a great choice of meals beautifully cooked served with aplomb (nice word that :-)) in a reasonable time and value for your money then this is the place to go. You can walk easily to it from several hotels, it has a good outlook and is so close to the railway station!! I thoroughly recommend it for all meal times but be sure to book if you are having a special occasion but having said that it is worth waiting if you cannot at first find a table the waiters will keep you informed. Fancy Rack of Ribs? then do not eat for two days before attempting to do this dish justice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adoks1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    170
    76
    37
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Loved it! What a treat!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Without a reservation, we stopped by for lunch and told that they were all booked up but could sit at the bar (same menu). WOW!! We had read reviews including the New York Times but truly didn't expect it to be so good! Sean had steak tartare. Thank god he ordered the small because there was a lot of it! I had cheese plate of Austrias finest. Normally I wouldn't order cheese plates (for lunch or after dinner instead of dessert) because they are always poor value. Not this time. I had a hard time finishing my six different selections. The plate was beautiful with grapes, fruit sauce, pumpkin seeds and explanations of each cheese.

Staff was really professional (and really busy!) . A very special lunch and I would very much recommend to others. I would suggest reservations and also to dress up a bit as everyone there was in business attire. The staff did not make me feel any less special however I was conscious that I was wearing "traveling clothes" and looked like a tourist. Nonetheless, that was me and no one else suggested any different. Very classy restaurant, what a great experience. We had two glasses of wine each, with lunch for total of 50 euros.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Knuknuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ideal pre concert supper”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Nice location in Stadtpark with panoramic window view of a canal ( containing the river Wien FYI) and the park. Comfortable dining room in white and dairy theme ( don't let that put you off).

Menu a bit difficult to follow as they do breakfast, lunch, tea and dinner so make sure you look at the daily menu to see the full choice available.

Pushed for time with a concert to go to we only had main courses. The daily menu included catfish which I thought was something from the Southern USA swamps but was much appreciated by my mother- in- law who ate it all (rare). Guinea fowl off the leg bone was outstanding with a rich jus and my roe deer was very tender again with a rich gamey jus and sweet preiselbeeren which are , apparently, cranberries in English but here are small and bitter sweet served on a half pear--delicious .

There is a very extensive separate wine list but also one on the menu with wines primarily by the glass and this is more than adequate for most purposes and not expensive for the type of restaurant. Mostly Austrian so we had we had Grune Weltliner , Chardonnay and Blaufrankisch at 7-10 Euro per 'Viertel' or 250 cl. All excellent.

Service is formal, efficient but friendly. Dress 'smart' but no tie required unlike upstairs in the parent restaurant the Steiereck. Don't even think about trainers, jeans or a tee shirt --- you would find the service 'formal' indeed, even supposing they condescended to let you in at all-- the Viennese have a fine sense of what is 'Korreckt'.

An excellent restaurant for the smarter occasion and we look forward to trying the full menu.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeremyMole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A good glass of wine with exceptional choice of cheese”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I know the establishment and return whenever I can. It is close to where the fast train from the airport reaches the city, so if it is mealtime I go straight there (of course it is safer if you have a reservation, even for early breakfast). Recently it was sort of "in between" and - being in the vicinity - I went for a cheese snack with a glass of red wine. Try the good Austrian varieties - you will not believe the great red wines Austria nowadays produces. (They are not cheap, however).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Above average meal”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

A good restaurant with a nice ambiance and average service. Some items come from the kitchen of the upstairs restaurant (Stierereck) that is ranked as #9 in the world. So is the wedding soup, but it's broth was just average while the dumplings in it were great. Meat here is of top quality, and the spaetzels are to die for. The apfelstrudel was very good, and the melange -average.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mh972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meierei am Stadtpark also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Meierei am Stadtpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing