We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The cheese, it's all about the cheese....”

Meierei am Stadtpark
Ranked #209 of 4,106 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Austrian, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Inner City
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“The cheese, it's all about the cheese....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Sunday lunch on a beautiful day in Vienna on the terrace of the Meierei is unbeatable. The food was very good but our heart belongs to the cheese: a cheese platter as good or better than any we've experienced in France and a retail cheese store that made us wish we had more time to picnic. Just a delight.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank teezee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    161
    70
    36
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cold Evening in August”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had dinner there on a cold damp night in August. I was disappointed that we couldn't eat outside because it looked so charming, but we were seated next to a window overlooking the park and had a wonderful meal. The wait staff was very polite and attentive and the food was all delicious. Save room for the inventive desserts!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaphneMcHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth, Texas
Level Contributor
325 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had a wonderful dinner at Meierei in terms of food quality and quantity. They are specialized in typical Austrian dishes but prepare them in fancy and modern way. Service was also impeccable and the check was not overpriced. Highly recommend!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank YoshiDus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altdorf bei Nurnberg, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast - Poor Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We went to the restaurant for a set breakfast and we had ordered tea-coffee to arrive with the breakfast. A basket of bread, butter and marmalade arrived with the tea. We thought it must be a part of the breakfast that we had chosen. After the first course we waited over an hour for the second course to arrive. We asked the waiters twice but we were still left waiting. When the second course (Goulash) finally arrived, we were very disappointed we were expecting a little more than two tiny pieces of goulash meat and a bit of sauce especially after we had waited so long. Whilst we were waiting my partner had decided to have half a piece of bread from the bread basket. After the second course arrived the third one followed farily quickly. We asked for the bill and were suprised to find that they had charged an additional 15 euro for the bread basket, which we most certainly did not order!!! It was assumed that we wanted it and placed on the table. Given that my partner only had half a slice of bread, we thought the 15 euro added to the bill was a bit cheeky. The food was good but after spending a total of 78 euro on a breakfast, I can honestly say we wont be back. There are far better places to go for breakfast in Vienna and for much less money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4ItchyFeet15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
831 reviews
645 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Great cheese selection. Excellent breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

I ate here twice. I highly recommend it. We had the merieri breakfast it was superb I also tried some Austrian cheese . Service was impeccable. Great experience and place to eat in Vienna.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Albertomiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meierei am Stadtpark also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Meierei am Stadtpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing