We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like old times.....”

Eissalon am Schwedenplatz
Ranked #20 of 101 Dessert in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Takeout
Neighborhood: Old University Quarter
Milford, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Feels like old times.....”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I started having ice cream here when I was in college in 1989. I love this place and stop by each time I am in Vienna (approximately 17 times). It's pretty crowded in the summer so be prepared with your choice when you arrive at the counter. I can't wait to go back to Vienna and enjoy ice cream in Schwedenplatz!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KimBux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    72
    24
    6
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Ice-cream which makes you addicted!!!”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I have tried ice-cream all over Vienna and think that the Ice-Cream Parlour at Schwedenplatz is the best. Yes, it is often crowded and yes, there are often long lines but it is worth it. It is easily accessible (subway station Schwedenplatz, Lines 1 and 4) so if you are tired of sightseeing just take a nice ice-cream break there. You can either sit at the table and order a variety of ice-cream creations (try Mozart Ice-Cream) or just grab a cone and sit outside on a bench and enjoy it.

The portions are huge and not really expensive (1 scoop Euro 1.20), the choice is amazing and they just use organic ingredients and no chemicals are added. If you suffer from histamine malabsorbtion you can definitely rely on this quality. It will not make you sick.
My favourite ice-cream flavours are chestnut and nougat.
Right now The Parlour is closed. It will open again on April 1.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mali50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“The world's best ice cream”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

OK, so that's a pretty bold statement to make, but it really is the best ice cream in the world! Forget about some of the well-known brands such as Ben & Jerry's or Haagen Dasz - once you have tried the ice cream at Schwedenplatz, you will settle for anything less. Which makes it really tough during the winter months as the place closes down in the October and doesn't reopen until the end of March (depending on the weather)!

Must tries include: Mango, Malage, Nutella, Raspberry, Apple-Cinnamon, Poppyseed - the list is endless!

Go ahead, try it, but don't say that I didn't warn you!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thomaslegner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
504 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Great ice-cream”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This time in Vienna, Schwedenplatz Undeground was our changing point. And we could hardly resist going up there and take ice-cream in this great café. I do not know whether ice-cream there is the best in Vienna, but clearly it is absolutely magnificent. The service is quick and nice, we also tried coffee in coffeehouse, very good service good coffee. Recommended.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jedrus7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best ice cream ever !”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Comfortable seating both inside and outside. Gorgeous selection of wickedly rich but wonderful ice cream and other desserts including specials for diabetics and those watching their weight. A "must" for those who want to sample the "best ice cream ever".

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Queenofwien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eissalon am Schwedenplatz also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Eissalon am Schwedenplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing