We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel with a very average breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom
Ranked #30 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow
Level 6 Contributor
432 reviews
251 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 577 helpful votes
“great hotel with a very average breakfast”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

+ modern building, very stylish and trendy lobby and rooms (although one may find it a bit "cold" - as opposite to historical hotels in the city center)
+ located just outside of the Ring (it's actually across the bridge from Schwedenplatz U-Bahn station and tram №1 which goes around the "Ring", so the historical part of the city is easily reached in 10 minutes, as well as the Prater and Hundertwasser's House - also by tram №1, but only in opposite direction). It's not as crowded as the center itself, so the location is even better. There's also a Novotel just around the corner - for those with a more realistic budget. "Coffee Bean" is across the road to start the day, and for dinner I would strongly recommend to try Novotel's "Five Senses" restaurant, which is highly underestimated by many of its guests.
+ very well trained staff, including the most welcoming and charming concierge I have ever met. Attention and attitude were of a highest level, and this is what makes good hotels become great. Concierge and guest service staff did a great job to prepare my spouse's birthday celebration (room decoration, cake etc).
+ airport limo service charge was just a few EUR more than regular taxi, but huge black BMW was totally worth 40 EUR. Definitely recommended. (They also accept credit cards).

+/- classic (cheapest) and superior rooms are mostly the same, the only difference being the floor and the view. They mostly come in white color, while the luxury rooms are gray OR white, the difference again is the view to the cathedral or the Prater wheel. Originally I've booked the superior room, then was upgraded to luxury room because of the A-Club platinum status, and then paid extra 80 EUR per night for a Junior suite.
The suite was all white with a view to the wheel, but I can't say it was really worth it. It was like luxury room plus the living area which is only useful if you plan to throw a party there. Otherwise all the amenities were the same. (There's also a benefit of the free mini-bar, but it's stocked with juices and water - and you can buy lots of it for 80 EUR :).
Now, what I don't like about the "contemporary" style that became so increasingly popular in so many upscale new hotels, it's that the rooms are designed for "luxury living style" magazines, but not actually for living. The huge bathroom is open-plan, which means that it's cold almost everytime (and I won't mention the sliding glass doors that are great for couples but become a problem when staying with kids or colleagues). Very beautiful but complicated room lighting; stained panoramic windows; shower without a curtain or door, so that the water may flow free wherever it may want - this is useless type of design that is only beautiful on pictures, but totally inconvenient to stay in.

- the worst breakfast I have seen in Accor hotels (even Ibis). A very nice 17th floor view is great but it can't feed you. A tiny choice of muesli, pastry, ham, cheese, jogurt and a few types of fruit - it's a standard of 3 star hotel. Yes, the fresh orange juice was great; but why only orange? Intercontinental Warsaw offered like 5 or 7 different freshly squeezed juices, yet it was 3 times cheaper than Sofitel. I've stayed in a lower Accor brands like Ibis and Mercure - and they offered orange juice too, but the choice of food was greater. For some reason they don't have a cooking station, but instead offer various types of omelette and crepes a'la carte. Ok, fine, but it took 10-15 minutes to get my crepes ready, and to be honest, I didn't expect it to be one tiny crepe in the centre of a large plate. I didn't order waffles, but something tells me that there would be just one lonely waffle on the endlessly big plate, like they do it in Michelin restaurants...

Room Tip: even classic rooms are great, but white or black suite is very romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thefall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William H, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your positive and detailed feedback on TripAdvisor.
I am glad to read that you had a wonderful experience in our “Living Artwork” and that the birthday celebration of your spouse was a success.
I have forwarded your kind words to all our Ambassadors and especially to our Concierge.
I am very sorry that the breakfast was not at your satisfaction, here as well I have forwarded your comment to our chef and Director of Operations in order to improve the breakfast and implement your ideas.
I hope to welcome you soon again.
Kind regards from Vienna,
William Haandrikman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,380
    467
    130
    33
    14
See reviews for
276
991
118
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Netanya, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The hotel is near the old town, minutes from the metro and the terminal bus stop a minute away. Superb staff, very nice room, lovely design, cleaning, coffee room and a mini-bar with free drinks.
Breakfast on the 18th floor with breathtaking views of the city.
When we encountered a problem with one of Mr. Andre Lange management team handled our problem to our satisfaction.
Returning to Vienna, then only this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank revitalIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William H, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your positive comment about the hotel.
I am glad to read that you were fully satisfied by our Ambassadors, the room and our “living Artwork”.
I will pass on your kind words about Mr. Lange.
I do hope to welcome you back soon in our hotel.
Kind regards from Vienna,
William Haandrikman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed in this hotel last summer with my b/f and have to say this is the best hotel I have ever stayed in - and I have stayed in a lot of hotels all over the world including Rome/NYC/Paris/London etc. So that is a big statement!! The hotel in itself is beautiful, very modern, clean and elegant. Le loft restaurant is incredible, what an incredible view! Staff were so accommodating and go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Would recommend this to anyone. Also if you look at the right site you will get a great price!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JS3991_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William H, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your very nice comment.
I am very happy to read that you had a positive experience in our hotel and that you would recommend our “living Artwork”.
I do hope to welcome you back soon again.
Kind regards from Vienna,

William Haandrikman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Everything is tip-top, rooms are white only, stylish and very arty, staff very helpful and polite. There's free wi/fi in rooms and lobby, a nespresso machine and a free mini-bar (no alcohol). Also, the spa and fitness facilities are modern and well equipped. The breakfast is rather fair comparing to the other conditions in the hotel but a definitely strong recommendation for Vienna.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilviuMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William H, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed the experience in our “Living Artwork”.
I have forwarded your comments regarding the breakfast to our Director of Operations.
It would be my pleasure to soon welcome you back in our hotel.
Kind regards from Vienna,
William Haandrikman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The accommodation in this hotel is fabulous. Have stayed in alot of hotels, but this was the most unusal room I have stayed in, snow white in colour except for the tv and Nespresso machine, bizarre, but really different. Everything was brilliant, the bed, pillows, shower, towels and the views, these all made for a great stay. We stayed in the upper floorsand the view was superb over Vienna. Checkin went very smoothly and pleasantly and the receptionist brought us to the room, which was a good touch.
In our package we had breakfast included, a bit Fawlty Towers(ish), on the 1st morning we were shown to a table and asked did we want coffee and juice. There was a buffet, but were'nt told about it, asked for a menu, watched other diners and saw them going to the buffet, watched others arrive, obviously their first morning too, and they were the same as us!!! Eventually found our way around. The other mornings we were there, things did not improve, staff did their best not to get things, cutlery, coffee, etc. They would walk by, but no eye contact, difficult to get!!! We had breakfast four times, and a different staff member each time and all were the same, I dont think they were trying to be evasive, but it was very strange. Be on time for breakfast, chefs came out 2 mornings at 10.30 to clear away breads and pastries, no lingering over breakfast for the late arrivers...

Breakfast aside, this is a super hotel and yes I would stay here again (and maybe breakfast elsewhere).

Had drinks in the Loft Bar at night, views fab of the city and the place was buzzing....

Room Tip: The higher the room, the greater the view, lifts very quick up and down.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William H, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in our “Living Artwork”!
Thank you as well for your critics. I have immediately forwarded your comment to our Director of Operation who will check the breakfast to make sure our high standard is maintained.
I will pass on your positive word about the reception, as this is the best motivation.
I do hope to welcome you soon again.
Kind regards from Vienna,
William Haandrikman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The spa is definitely a nice place where to recover after a long walk around a Christmasy Vienna. I really liked the service, very professional and attentive to our needs. The guys at the reception were well informed about things to do in the city and they suggested us very good restaurants. We chose to get breakfast in the hotel for the whole stay and we loved it.

Room Tip: Higher floors allow a better view of the city, it is worth it ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMgt, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your kind word about our Spa and Reception staff.
I will forward your word to all Ambassadors, as this is the best motivation for them.
I do hope to welcome you soon again.
Kind regards from Vienna,
William Haandrikman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We arrived at the hotel and were directed to our superior room that we had booked - a stunning white room. It was a large room with an open plan bathroom with opaque glass sliding screens, a gorgeous large bathroom, separate walk in shower and his and hers sinks and importantly, a private WC. Plenty of storage and all the extras you would expect (robes, slippers, etc) and also a free mini bar stocked with waters and juices. It was also equipped with a nespresso coffee machine which to be honest, was the reason I chose the hotel. The spa in the hotel was great too - a little under used by most guests but we used it a few times during our stay. Our room faced away from the city centre but we could see the famous ferris wheel and watch the snow fall. The bar and restaurant offer even better views and the staff in the bar were especially helpful and friendly, as were the staff on reception and the front door. The staff in the restaurant were less friendly on the whole.... Breakfast was generally very good with plenty of selection although on our last morning the hotel seemed very full and the food kept running out as did the bowls and glasses. We had asked for a jug of milk to go with the coffee but it didn't come so in the end, my husband took his cup to the cereal bar. It seemed as if the restaurant either didn't know how many guests were in the hotel or had failed to prepare. It was especially disappointing as it was our last visit to the restaurant. We did take dinner in the restaurant one evening too and found it very disappointing but I've made a separate review so as not to reduce my rating for the hotel. I would love to stay at this hotel again but would not dine in the restaurant in the evening. I would add that we did take some snack dishes from the bar menu on the evening we arrived and they were good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMgt, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your constructive feedback on TripAdvisor
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you would love to come back in our “Living Artwork”. Though, I am also truly sorry to read that you didn`t have such a good experience in the restaurant. I have immediately forwarded your comment to our Director of Operations who will check on the service quality as it is our ambition to provide you excellent quality and services in all our outlets.
It would be my pleasure to soon welcome you back again and convince you also with our restaurant service.
Kind regards from Vienna,
William Haandrikman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 360 in Vienna
842 reviews
Inner City
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 360 in Vienna
1,404 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Inner City
Park Hyatt Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
#8 of 360 in Vienna
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom

Property: Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom
Address: Praterstrasse 1 | Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, Vienna 1020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Vienna
#11 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#17 Family Hotel in Vienna
#25 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#28 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within splendid view of its gothic namesake, St. Stephens Cathedral, the 5 star superior Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom is an emphatically 21st century structure. Echoing the hotel's sleek exteriors, the 182 monochromatic guest rooms, including 26 suites, are decorated in either immaculate white, cool grey or velvety black. On the mezzanine level the hotel offers a business center and a library. For distinctive business or celebratory events you can choose from 8 sun lit meeting rooms for up to 150 people. On the 5th floor guests can enjoy a relaxing massage in our So SPA or work out in our So FIT. Join the local crowd at Das LOFT, the Sofitel Vienna´s superbly stylish rooftop dining & bar retreat; a fete extraordinaire with fantastical interiors by Jean Nouvel and culinary arts from the imagination of Fabian Gunzel, our Chef de Cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing