We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top class, if the breakfast improves!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom
Ranked #30 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
200 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Top class, if the breakfast improves!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

The accommodation in this hotel is fabulous. Have stayed in alot of hotels, but this was the most unusal room I have stayed in, snow white in colour except for the tv and Nespresso machine, bizarre, but really different. Everything was brilliant, the bed, pillows, shower, towels and the views, these all made for a great stay. We stayed in the upper floorsand the view was superb over Vienna. Checkin went very smoothly and pleasantly and the receptionist brought us to the room, which was a good touch.
In our package we had breakfast included, a bit Fawlty Towers(ish), on the 1st morning we were shown to a table and asked did we want coffee and juice. There was a buffet, but were'nt told about it, asked for a menu, watched other diners and saw them going to the buffet, watched others arrive, obviously their first morning too, and they were the same as us!!! Eventually found our way around. The other mornings we were there, things did not improve, staff did their best not to get things, cutlery, coffee, etc. They would walk by, but no eye contact, difficult to get!!! We had breakfast four times, and a different staff member each time and all were the same, I dont think they were trying to be evasive, but it was very strange. Be on time for breakfast, chefs came out 2 mornings at 10.30 to clear away breads and pastries, no lingering over breakfast for the late arrivers...

Breakfast aside, this is a super hotel and yes I would stay here again (and maybe breakfast elsewhere).

Had drinks in the Loft Bar at night, views fab of the city and the place was buzzing....

Room Tip: The higher the room, the greater the view, lifts very quick up and down.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William H, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in our “Living Artwork”!
Thank you as well for your critics. I have immediately forwarded your comment to our Director of Operation who will check the breakfast to make sure our high standard is maintained.
I will pass on your positive word about the reception, as this is the best motivation.
I do hope to welcome you soon again.
Kind regards from Vienna,
William Haandrikman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,314
    444
    123
    32
    12
See reviews for
259
953
111
349
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

The spa is definitely a nice place where to recover after a long walk around a Christmasy Vienna. I really liked the service, very professional and attentive to our needs. The guys at the reception were well informed about things to do in the city and they suggested us very good restaurants. We chose to get breakfast in the hotel for the whole stay and we loved it.

Room Tip: Higher floors allow a better view of the city, it is worth it ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMgt, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your kind word about our Spa and Reception staff.
I will forward your word to all Ambassadors, as this is the best motivation for them.
I do hope to welcome you soon again.
Kind regards from Vienna,
William Haandrikman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We arrived at the hotel and were directed to our superior room that we had booked - a stunning white room. It was a large room with an open plan bathroom with opaque glass sliding screens, a gorgeous large bathroom, separate walk in shower and his and hers sinks and importantly, a private WC. Plenty of storage and all the extras you would expect (robes, slippers, etc) and also a free mini bar stocked with waters and juices. It was also equipped with a nespresso coffee machine which to be honest, was the reason I chose the hotel. The spa in the hotel was great too - a little under used by most guests but we used it a few times during our stay. Our room faced away from the city centre but we could see the famous ferris wheel and watch the snow fall. The bar and restaurant offer even better views and the staff in the bar were especially helpful and friendly, as were the staff on reception and the front door. The staff in the restaurant were less friendly on the whole.... Breakfast was generally very good with plenty of selection although on our last morning the hotel seemed very full and the food kept running out as did the bowls and glasses. We had asked for a jug of milk to go with the coffee but it didn't come so in the end, my husband took his cup to the cereal bar. It seemed as if the restaurant either didn't know how many guests were in the hotel or had failed to prepare. It was especially disappointing as it was our last visit to the restaurant. We did take dinner in the restaurant one evening too and found it very disappointing but I've made a separate review so as not to reduce my rating for the hotel. I would love to stay at this hotel again but would not dine in the restaurant in the evening. I would add that we did take some snack dishes from the bar menu on the evening we arrived and they were good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMgt, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your constructive feedback on TripAdvisor
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you would love to come back in our “Living Artwork”. Though, I am also truly sorry to read that you didn`t have such a good experience in the restaurant. I have immediately forwarded your comment to our Director of Operations who will check on the service quality as it is our ambition to provide you excellent quality and services in all our outlets.
It would be my pleasure to soon welcome you back again and convince you also with our restaurant service.
Kind regards from Vienna,
William Haandrikman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

I booked Sofitel for a long weekend to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday.

From the moment we stepped inside the lobby area, we were greeted by a very friendly, professional reception lady, Barbara. She explained with attention to detail on the hotel facilities but also took the time to explain all the sights around Vienna and places to eat. It was a real pleasure to start our long weekend in Vienna with such warm reception.

Our room was the classic white room. We totally loved the stylish white, linear hotel room. The layout was perfect and larger than average size hotel rooms, and it had a separate toilet to the bathroom. The bathroom was just WOW! It has separate shower and bath tub. We took so many photos of the room as it was just so well designed. We have both stayed in many 5 star hotels across over 28 countries, and we both agree the room was one of the best we have stayed in recent times for a standard room without upgrading. As well as normal facilities, the room has its own nespresso machine for coffee / tea, bose sound system.

And... for those with expensive taste, the bath products are from Hermes, Paris. Our room also had a fantastic view of the ferris wheel.

On our first night, they booked a traditional Austrian restaurant, Ofenloch, for us. Many thanks to concierge,Wolfgang. The meals were delicious. When we returned to our room, there were fine quality sweets left in the room for us as well as a little chocolate dessert to wish my boyfriend happy birthday.

On the 2nd night, we ate at the Le Loft Restaurant at the hotel. Food was amazing as you would expect with high profile michelin starred chefs. The view of Vienna from Le Loft is breathtaking as well as the architectural and interesting mural in the ceiling. We also ate at the same place for breakfast the next day to look at the view during daylight.

There is another mural on the same floor as the fitness level. It is worth while to visit if you like modern architecture.

The location of the hotel is also excellent. It is 1 minute walk from the metro station but within 15 minutes walk to most of the historical buildings and sights. We only used the metro one day as it was too cold to walk outside.


We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who appreciate attention to detail, professional and friendly service with high quality of fittings and fixtures in the room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMgt, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your very positive comment about our property. It is always a pleasure to read that our guests enjoyed their “living in an artwork experience” in our hotel built by French architect Jean Nouvel.
I will forward your kind word to all Ambassadors and especially to Barbara and Wolfgang who will be very happy about it.
I do hope to welcome you again in our “Living Artwork”.
Kind regards from Vienna,
William Haandrikman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We went to Vienna for a long weekendfor a special occasion, and wanted to stay in a modern style 5 star hotel, and in Vienna this was pretty much the only option.
We also had the limo transfer, as well as a celebration dinner at Le Loft. I think the best way to review this stay is to divide it up into subsections:

Transfer:
Excellent service from an experienced, professional and knowledgeable driver. The car was a comfortable BMW, with drinks at the ready in the car. It's a great way to start things off when luggage is handled and you can just relax with a drink. When we arrived at the hotel, the hotel staff took care of the luggage and brought it to our room while we checked in. Sane when we checked out, leaving the luggage in the room for the staff to handle and a drop off right infront of the nearest check in for your airline.

Reception Staff:
Just the way you expect it to be at a 5 star hotel. You don't notice they are there until they are needed, but the moment they are, the service is quiet, discreet, efficient and helpful and no problem too small or too big. I wanted to plan a little surprise for my girlfriend, which would never have happened unless they had gone that extra mile. So would have to reserve a special thank you to Oliver for outstanding service and also the kind assistance of the concierge.

Breakfast:
It's extra, the price might to some seem steep, but it's worth it. The selection at the Le Loft breakfast menu isn't huge, but special selection, and what they do have is top quality. The kitchen had a little delay with out eggs, but who can complain when you get a complimentary champagne to enjoy during the wait? Already the second day they knew already what drinks etc we wanted, I was about to ask the waitress for mayonnaise when she came with it.

The Suite:
The only "downside" to the hotel is that actually none of the pictures does it justice. The room looks much better in real life than it does in the photos. I know that some will probably say that it looks too cold and minimalistic, but in reality, it has a soothing effect. I was also worried about both the chairs and couch would be uncomfortable, as well as the tub, but despite their appearances, they are very comfortable.
The bed is absolutely amazing, we slept like babies. There is also a pillow menu with suggestions for which to order based on what position you usually sleep in.
Then there is also the personal little "surprises" like when we came to the room and found a selection of chocolates, cakes etc. waiting for us, or when you come in the evening and there were cups of good night tea waiting with a note wishing us a good nights sleep.
And finally, also full score for the housekeeping. Given the nature of the design of the room, any lack would be immediately noticed, and we couldn't find a single flaw.
The humorous adventure was all the light switches, those can take a little time to get used to which switch is for what!

Le Loft Restaurant:

First off you have an amazing view of the city, then you have excellent food, coupled off with just the level of service you would expect from this level of a restaurant, not sure what else to say here apart from thanks for a wonderful dining experience.


Conclusion:
We travel alot, so whenever we go somewhere, we usually always find some other hotels on the location that could be interesting to try at a return visit. However in Vienna, we didn't, so when we do return, the Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom will be the only option.

Room Tip: Pick a room in a high floor for the magnificient view. Depending on your taste, they have rooms faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David-and-Marisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMgt, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much to have taken your time to write about your experience in “Living Artwork” by architect Jean Nouvel.
I am very happy to read that you fully enjoyed your stay with us and that you will come back.
I will forward your kind words to our Ambassadors and especially to Oliver, as this is the best motivation.
I do hope to welcome you soon again in our hotel.
Kind regards from Vienna,
William Haandrikman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Welcome & Room - We stayed in the Sofitel Vienna for 3 nights in one of the luxury white rooms. Upon arriving to the hotel late on Friday night we received an extremely thorough overview of the city of Vienna. This was delivered by Barbara and meant we were well prepared for our full day the next day. Even for a 5 star hotel this welcome was exceptional. We were then shown to our room which was perfect. The free minibar for the whole of our stay was great to. Bath, toiletries, cumfy bed, choice of cushions and everything was as you would expect from a 5 star hotel.

Location - Located 50m away from an Underground/tram stop was perfect for traveling around the city. This is only 1 stop away from where the CAT(Airport train) comes in so would definitely recommend that route to get there from the airport. Walking around from Sofitel was really easy to!

Bar & Restaurant - We went up to the bar which was amazing and had a great view over the city. It was pretty busy but we eventually did get a table by the window. Prices were €5 for a beer so not too bad. We didn't eat in the restaurant but the food looked divine. As you can imagine prices were exceptionally high (25€ for a starter, €35 for a main). It would have been nice to have some sort of discount for staying in the hotel.

Spa - We didn't actually use the spa which was a shame as we did receive a nice tour of it all. As a couple it was a bit of a shame to just have separate jacuzzis for genders but guess this is understandable!

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone as it really is a truly special hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jez_Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMgt, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comment about our Living Artwork.
I am glad to read that you had a wonderful stay with us.
I will forward your kind words to all Ambassadors and especially to Barbara as this is the best motivation for them.
I do hope to welcome you soon again.
Kind regards,
William Haandrikman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We celebrated my 40th birthday in Vienna and at the Sofitel hotel, a three nights stay. We initially booked the grey room, but were so kindly offered a white junior suite for an additional fee. We had booked the limousine service and a very informative, polite and helpful driver greeted us at the airport. We immediately liked what we saw upon arrival at the hotel; a modern and spacious reception area. The room was perfect, and catered for our every need. The bed was the most comfortable we have ever lain in.

We managed to get a table in Le Loft all thanks to Oliver (his name if I remember correctly) at the reception desk. I highly recommend booking pre-arrival as it seems to be quite a sought after place to dine in Vienna. The food was of high quality, the service was excellent and the view from the 18th floor was magnificent. When the waiter heard it was my birthday, he provided me with a complimentary dessert. If you do not wish to dine, the bar area is also a stunning place to be.

Upon returning to our room, every evening the hotel placed treats such as good night tea, little sweet delights, and on my birthday; a card and another complimentary cake. Earlier that day the doorman suprised us by greeting me with a happy birthday wish.

We had breakfast at the hotel. The service was perfect and every need was catered for. They remembered our drink choices from the first morning and it seemed everyone took pride in doing their outmost to provide guests with the perfect morning start. We especially appreciated the quality of the food.

I would also like to mention the wonderfly equipped gym, the powerful jacuzzi, curtious room service and spotless housecleaning.

We have made travelling our priority and will continue doing so. It seems so far, Sofitel Vienna Stephandsdom is the place we would like to return to as soon as possible.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelhappy446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMgt, Geschäftsführer at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your positive comment about your stay in our hotel.
I am very glad to read that you had a wonderful birthday and everything went perfect just as you imagined it to be.
I will forward your kind words to our Ambassadors and especially to Oliver from the reception, as this is the best motivation for them.
It would be my pleasure to soon welcome you back in our “Living Artwork”!
Kind regards from Vienna,
William Haandrikman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna
Inner City
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Inner City
Park Hyatt Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
#5 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom

Property: Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom
Address: Praterstrasse 1 | Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, Vienna 1020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#11 Business Hotel in Vienna
#17 Family Hotel in Vienna
#25 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#28 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within splendid view of its gothic namesake, St. Stephens Cathedral, the 5 star superior Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom is an emphatically 21st century structure. Echoing the hotel's sleek exteriors, the 182 monochromatic guest rooms, including 26 suites, are decorated in either immaculate white, cool grey or velvety black. On the mezzanine level the hotel offers a business center and a library. For distinctive business or celebratory events you can choose from 8 sun lit meeting rooms for up to 150 people. On the 5th floor guests can enjoy a relaxing massage in our So SPA or work out in our So FIT. Join the local crowd at Das LOFT, the Sofitel Vienna´s superbly stylish rooftop dining & bar retreat; a fete extraordinaire with fantastical interiors by Jean Nouvel and culinary arts from the imagination of Fabian Gunzel, our Chef de Cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing