We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A super hotel !!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom
Ranked #31 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Guaymas,Sonora
Level Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A super hotel !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

A very nice hotel with a modern luxury and a great service!!! I definitively will go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clau M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMgt, General Manager at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
Dear guest. Thank you for your nice comment and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,312
    444
    123
    32
    12
See reviews for
258
952
111
349
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed for a couple of days for a weekend break in the Sofitel, it was just great. The design is very modern and different (white or grey rooms, simple and stylish). The restaurant at the top with view of Vienna is just crazy, but very difficult to get a table witouht a reservation.......The lobby is a bit dark but the staff at the reception is very friendly (especially Laurant, he was very helpful).I would go there again if I had the possiblity.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theking556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMgt, General Manager at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Dear guests, thank you for your praise. We were happy delight you with our ambassadors. We will inform Laurent about you positive comment. Hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

Outstanding. The view of Vienna from the restaurant/bar on the top floor was a sightseeing event by itself. The food at the restaurant for morning and lunch was outstanding. The service and friendliness of the staff were exemplar.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMgt, General Manager at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
Dear Guest,

Great to read that you enjoyed our restaurant. We hope to welcome you back soon.

William Haandrikman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

we started our trip from vienna, covered salzburg, innsbruck and headed towards france (montecarlo, paris). sofitel was one hotel we missed when v were at other places. as u enter its lobby (where the rooms are)...u'll find it very dark and mysterious...its all black....d black turns to blackish pink. at first we thought we made a wrong decision because we had kids with us and they dont like dark places...but the moment d hotel personnel will open d room for u....its "MAGIC" for u to discover. trust me ...head for sofitel. the staff is cooperating. they kept our luggage for 3 days after check out...all intact

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank LiveOn_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMgt, General Manager at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
Dear guest, we are delighted that you discovered the “magic” of our hotel with your family and I am happy that our staff created magic moments for you I appreciate very much that you shared your experience with us. William Haandrikman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

This was truly our best hotel experience everrrr - the hotel is perfect in every way - the simplistic design is magnificent. The interior design of the rooms is beyond perfect - every corner is well studied without one thing missing. We had wifi internet in the room and complimentary water and jucies refilled everyday. The service was just outstanding from every aspect. The breakfast on the 18th floor is a must - the views are breathtaking and the breakfast service is just top luxury. Finally the location is extremely convenient. Perfect in every way!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ymas2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMgt, General Manager at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing SOFITEL and posting your feedback on TripAdvisor. It is most pleasant to read that you appreciated the hotel and its features, as well as that you experienced our staff friendly and professional.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back to Vienna soon again.

Friendly wishes,

William Haandrikman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

We would do appriciate an origional sauna with scent speciment. Above this we had a nice pleasure time and vocation.
The massage menu sholud be wider not only the oriental types. For example general sport massage beside the relaxing ones.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMgt, General Manager at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, June 22, 2011
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We do apologise that the SPA did not fully meet your expectations.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

William Haandrikman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nivelles, Belgium
Level Contributor
144 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

I stayed here for business seminar, and was impressed by the sleek design. I was in one of the grey rooms (they are all unicolour), and liked the concept. People in the white ones took off their shoes immediately in order to keep it clean! Impressive view on Vienna from the restaurant on the top floor, where also breakfast is served. Needless to say that the choice was enormous and of excellent quality. It is situated at walking distance of the historical city center, and public transport is nearby as well.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BelgianInIstanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMgt, General Manager at Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We are very glad to read that you enjoyed the unique design of the room.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

William Haandrikman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Inner City
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Park Hyatt Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
#5 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom

Property: Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom
Address: Praterstrasse 1 | Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom, Vienna 1020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#11 Business Hotel in Vienna
#17 Family Hotel in Vienna
#26 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#28 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within splendid view of its gothic namesake, St. Stephens Cathedral, the 5 star superior Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom is an emphatically 21st century structure. Echoing the hotel's sleek exteriors, the 182 monochromatic guest rooms, including 26 suites, are decorated in either immaculate white, cool grey or velvety black. On the mezzanine level the hotel offers a business center and a library. For distinctive business or celebratory events you can choose from 8 sun lit meeting rooms for up to 150 people. On the 5th floor guests can enjoy a relaxing massage in our So SPA or work out in our So FIT. Join the local crowd at Das LOFT, the Sofitel Vienna´s superbly stylish rooftop dining & bar retreat; a fete extraordinaire with fantastical interiors by Jean Nouvel and culinary arts from the imagination of Fabian Gunzel, our Chef de Cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Vienna Stephansdom Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing