We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect stay in Vienna”
Review of Shermin Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shermin Apartments
Ranked #14 of 205 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A perfect stay in Vienna”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We recently returned home from a trip abroad and our stay in Vienna was certainly a highlight. Although the apartment was so comfortable with all the modern amenities you could ask for, and the location was perfect to access all that Vienna has to offer, the biggest bonus of all was the hospitality shown to us by Sofie, the owner. She greeted us with a warm smile, and maps to pinpoint areas of interest, transportation, etc.. We did not have a phone and she volunteered to arrange transportation when were leaving early in the morning to the bus station, as well, she made our reservations for the bus so we made sure we had a seat. Talk about going the extra mile! We will recommend these apartments to anyone we know who is traveling there and can't wait to get back there ourselves one day. All in all, a perfect stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginkersmcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
38
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We spent 2 weeks in a large, well-equipped studio apartment on Argentinerstrasse, and have nothing but praise for the apartment, its location and--especially--our landlady Sofie. We had a ground floor apartment with a private garden where we could eat or have a drink. The bed is tucked into a windowed nook, so we had no feeling of the room being dominated by the bed. Instead, we had a large living/dining room with a good TV and free wifi. The kitchenette was fine as long as you aren't planning to do major cooking--we made coffee, toast and omelets. There is a washing machine and a drying rack which can be used in the storage room or set out on the patio--we did both. The storage room was great for getting the luggage out of sight. Nice neighbohood--several embassies within a couple of blocks. We were very close to a U-Bahn station (hint: the Taubstummengasse station is closer than the Karlsplatz station) and several tram lines. Within 2 or 3 blocks we found a grocery store, a pharmacy and several restaurants of various types. I've saved the best for last: Sofie is warm and friendly and speaks perfect English. She arranged a car service for us to and from the airport, and she met us at the apartment when we arrived. I hope you don't get sick while you are enjoying Vienna, but I did--very sick. On Day 4 of my illness, I started trying to call English speaking doctors from the US Embassy list, but I was having difficulty making my brand-new smart phone work. I finally gave up and emailed Sofie, asking "can you help?" I thought maybe she would come over and use her cell phone to call doctors for me. Instead, she and her personal physician were both at our apartment within about an hour! He spoke excellent English, figured out what was wrong with me, prescribed treatment that put me back out on the tourist path within a couple of days, and charged less than my own doctor would have charged for an office visit. As Sofie gently scolded me, I should have asked for her help much sooner. If we ever return to Vienna, we won't even consider staying anyplace else.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Westback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hautes-Pyrenees, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We are a retired couple, visiting Vienna especially for the Klimt exhibitions and we couldn't have chosen a more convenient place to stay. It was within walkable distance or easy access by public transport to everywhere we wanted to be, also close to shops and lots of good eating places. We stayed at Muhlgasse 15, which was a very comfortable, spacious and well equipped apartment. Sofie was extremely welcoming and friendly and was on call if we needed anything. Everything was just perfect.

Room Tip: Muhlgasse was a good choice because it wasn't too close to be bothered by the noise of the trams...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed with our 1 year old - nice apartment with a separate living room and bedroom. Baby bed supplied without any extra fee and also a baby chair (IKEA one - not a bad one actually). Kitchen is great for preparing food for the baby as needed. Great location - 2 blocks on one side from tram to the ring, 2 blocks on the other side to an underground station, about 10 minutes walk to the ring and the opera. Great hospitality and advise from Sofie, the host. Excellent dining options within walking distance.

Highly recommended and a great and sane alternative to pricy hotel rooms in Vienna.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank offirc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed at the Shermin Apartments on Karolinengasse in July for a few days. It was perfect for my wife, my grown daughter and me. We had a living room (with sofabed)/dining area, bedroom, full kitchen and bath (with washing machine). It was very spacious, especially for Europe in my experience. It was also very quiet, facing on an inner courtyard, but even an apartment on the street would be fine, because it is a quiet street. It is not right in the center of town, but it is possible to walk to the center, which we did sometimes, and very close to the U1 subway (bahn). Unfortunately that was under construction, so we walked a couple of blocks more to get to the D tram, which is great, because it goes to the Ringstrasse and then around it. It is also close to a couple of grocery stores on Favoritenstrasse and to the Belvidere Palace and gardens. We got to Vienna on the train, which went to Meidling station, and we were able to take an S bahn to a couple of blocks from the apartment, so we never used a cab.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAL081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
2 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2012

the owner is very friendly and helpful. the rooms are big and clean and the kitchen was well equipted. the apartment was cool inside even when it was very hot outside and the location is great. very comfortable apartment for a family.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 379magner379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Sofie's apartment (#1A) is the fourth quarter, very close to the center of Vienna. With many transportation options. The apartment is great, very clean, high ceiling, very high standard equipped - all modern equipment. Kitchen with full equipment including oven, 4 electric hotplates, refrigerator, microwave, toaster, percolator, kettle, dishwasher. Shower - a new washing machine. Can accommodate up to six people in the apartment. WIFI, LCD. Pleasant and quiet street. The owner lives in the same apartment building, few floors above. Welcoming, very trying to help and go towards the guests. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErezR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Austria Trend Hotel Beim Theresianum
Wieden
Hotel Prinz Eugen
Hotel Prinz Eugen
#136 of 360 in Vienna
963 reviews
Wieden
Pakat Suites Hotel
Pakat Suites Hotel
#174 of 360 in Vienna
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shermin Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shermin Apartments

Property: Shermin Apartments
Address: Karolinengasse 28/30, Vienna 1040, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Wieden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 205 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our modern and comfortably equipped apartments are located in the city centre of Vienna close to Karlsplatz and Belvedere Palace. Public transport is nearby and easy to reach, i.e. the U1 Taubstummengasse or the major Karlsplatz subway station.No matter if you are a tourist, visiting Vienna for its beautiful sights and tremendous history, or coming to Vienna on a business trip, even for an extended stay Shermin Apartments offer the perfect accommodation for your needs. Our apartments are equipped with a fully functional kitchen, a washing machine, cable TV and internet access (wired or wireless). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Shermin Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing