We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home in Vienna”
Review of Shermin Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shermin Apartments
Ranked #14 of 205 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Home away from home in Vienna”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This review is about the one bedroom apartment at Karolinengasse 28.

Large, spacious, spotlessly clean, this apartment is in the Wieden area of central Vienna, a quiet residential district. Yet, at the eastern end of the street is the Belvedere, one of the city's most famous and loved Baroque palaces, so you are definitely not out of the action. There is an underground stop (Sudtiroler Platz) an easy five minute walk away (turn right out of the building, head to Favoritenstrasse, turn left onto it and walk until you see the blue and white 'U'). The red U1 line takes you to both Karlsplatz and Stephansplatz very quickly, and then you can hook up to any of the other four lines.

There are supermarkets on Favoritenstrasse (Hofer is the Austrian Aldi) and on Argentinierstrasse (Spar), so you will find supplies easy and very close. I do not speak German but had no trouble with communication (the Viennese were friendly and helpful). A walk into the Innere Stadt takes 15-25 minutes, depending on how quickly you walk, and it is all flat. Once at the Karlskirche (a Baroque masterpiece) you have easy access to the galleries, Imperial buildings, Spanish Riding School etc. The Hofburg is a must and you can get to Schonbrunn very easily by the U4 underground line from Karlsplatz.

I highly recommend staying at one of the Shermin Apartments in Vienna. The rates are extremely reasonable and the properties are beautifully kept. The owners, Sofie and her husband, are lovely and respond quickly to any queries. I felt like I was living in Vienna, rather than just visiting.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SydneyGirl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
38
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Waltergasse apartment for two weeks and could not have been more pleased. Two things separate Shermin from the many accommodation options in Vienna. First, the location in Wieden is excellent for both exploring the city and taking care of oneself. There is a tram on the next block which goes directly to the Karlsplatz and Operngasse. The is a grocery store, a welcoming cafe and an epic Beisl within a 5 minute walk. Second, Sophie and her family are extraordinarily helpful and accommodating. They went way beyond the call of duty to ensure all was well with us. I cannot think of even one drawback to the apartment.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, COLOMBIA
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed at the studio-apartment located at Argentinierstrasse 18 from April 7 till April 13th,2012.
In one word : EXCELLENT ! Wonderful location (maybe first impression of the building is not the best), everything well kept. Only "negative" comment : the pillows are "typical german,austrian"
e.g. even with half a dozen there is NO STRUCTURE (they give in and your spine might complain
or your reflux might be "delighted"!). Everything else is really OK.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtheumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2011

This is my third trip to Europe and I have visited Vienna on previous 2 trips and it is one of my favorite cities I’ve visited. So I wanted to experience what is like to live in Vienna.

The apartment I stayed in was located near Belvedere Museum on Karolinegasse.
There is pharmacy at the end of the street and 2 grocery stores Hofer and Zielpunkt on Favoritenstrasse. And there’s a (U-Bahn) Belvedere & Sudtiroler Platz station within few minute walk. Which means it’s a short hop to Vienna city center or to anywhere you like to go.

The apartment itself was spacious 1 bedroom with kitchen, bathroom & toilet.

Weekly cleaning service allowed more time to exploring the city.

The proprietor, Ms. Sophie was very kind to answer any questions I had.

I was able to call this place home away from home for 3 weeks. And when I return to Vienna, I will stay at Shermin Apartments.

I would like to thank Ms Sophie for making the stay very welcome.

Danke Schoen

Tschuss

Room Tip: They do have several locations, so please verify which apartment you are renting. I would google ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THS035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

The apartment in Munzwardeingasse was clean, spacious and centrally located. Sofie was very approachable and helpful, and we felt welcomed and looked after. We had a wonderful stay in Vienna - thank you!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebeccashields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
2 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We [Family of five] have visited Vienna in August 2011. We selected this appt. after short and responsive correspondence with the owner.
The appt. was clean, spacious, well equiped and found to fit us perfectly. 20 min. walk of the Vienna center, Easy access to public transportation.
Transportation to the airport can be arranged with the owners's help

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amir K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We, retired couple, stayed 1 bedroom in Karolinengasse for about 1.5 month.
The room was spacious, neat and clean, and comfortably to stay like home.
Room cleaning and bed making once a week made us comfortable.
It was very convenient location that there are some supermarkets around the apartment and close to U1 train station and Tram D station.

The owner is in the same building, so when we needed any help we could always contact her easily.
She was professional, kind and very supportive for our requests/query.

If we have chance to stay in Vienna again, we definitely stay there!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rikiushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Austria Trend Hotel Beim Theresianum
Wieden
Hotel Prinz Eugen
Hotel Prinz Eugen
#136 of 360 in Vienna
963 reviews
Wieden
Pakat Suites Hotel
Pakat Suites Hotel
#174 of 360 in Vienna
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shermin Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shermin Apartments

Property: Shermin Apartments
Address: Karolinengasse 28/30, Vienna 1040, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Wieden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 205 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our modern and comfortably equipped apartments are located in the city centre of Vienna close to Karlsplatz and Belvedere Palace. Public transport is nearby and easy to reach, i.e. the U1 Taubstummengasse or the major Karlsplatz subway station.No matter if you are a tourist, visiting Vienna for its beautiful sights and tremendous history, or coming to Vienna on a business trip, even for an extended stay Shermin Apartments offer the perfect accommodation for your needs. Our apartments are equipped with a fully functional kitchen, a washing machine, cable TV and internet access (wired or wireless). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Shermin Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing