We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Shermin Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shermin Apartments
Ranked #17 of 214 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2011

This is my third trip to Europe and I have visited Vienna on previous 2 trips and it is one of my favorite cities I’ve visited. So I wanted to experience what is like to live in Vienna.

The apartment I stayed in was located near Belvedere Museum on Karolinegasse.
There is pharmacy at the end of the street and 2 grocery stores Hofer and Zielpunkt on Favoritenstrasse. And there’s a (U-Bahn) Belvedere & Sudtiroler Platz station within few minute walk. Which means it’s a short hop to Vienna city center or to anywhere you like to go.

The apartment itself was spacious 1 bedroom with kitchen, bathroom & toilet.

Weekly cleaning service allowed more time to exploring the city.

The proprietor, Ms. Sophie was very kind to answer any questions I had.

I was able to call this place home away from home for 3 weeks. And when I return to Vienna, I will stay at Shermin Apartments.

I would like to thank Ms Sophie for making the stay very welcome.

Danke Schoen

Tschuss

Room Tip: They do have several locations, so please verify which apartment you are renting. I would google ma...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THS035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for Shermin Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 83 of 113 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2011

The apartment in Munzwardeingasse was clean, spacious and centrally located. Sofie was very approachable and helpful, and we felt welcomed and looked after. We had a wonderful stay in Vienna - thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebeccashields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We [Family of five] have visited Vienna in August 2011. We selected this appt. after short and responsive correspondence with the owner.
The appt. was clean, spacious, well equiped and found to fit us perfectly. 20 min. walk of the Vienna center, Easy access to public transportation.
Transportation to the airport can be arranged with the owners's help

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amir K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We, retired couple, stayed 1 bedroom in Karolinengasse for about 1.5 month.
The room was spacious, neat and clean, and comfortably to stay like home.
Room cleaning and bed making once a week made us comfortable.
It was very convenient location that there are some supermarkets around the apartment and close to U1 train station and Tram D station.

The owner is in the same building, so when we needed any help we could always contact her easily.
She was professional, kind and very supportive for our requests/query.

If we have chance to stay in Vienna again, we definitely stay there!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rikiushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

We had stayed here in 2008 and were so pleased to be able to rent this apartment for our trip to Vienna this year as well. Sofie, the owner is friendly and professional. Our arrangements went smoothly both times from the moment we emailed her. She greeted us at the apartment so there is no going to an agency office to pay and pick up keys, she catered to our needs and takes Visa which we liked.
The studio was immaculate both times, is outfitted with everything you need. All appliances are in perfect working order and there is a brand new flat screen TV that gets an additional English channel with some decent programs, not just the news repeated over and over. Bed is a queen size and very comfortable.
In 2008 we stayed in late fall and this year in summer. The apartment is warm in colder weather and because it is on the ground floor it was very cool during the hot days even with no air conditioning. This is a quiet, roomy studio and makes for a very comfortable stay.
If you are watching your dollars the access from the airport is very easy. Just take the CAT (10 Euros) into the city and then walk the block to the Landstrabe subway and take the U4 two stops to Karlsplatz . Walk through the park and down the street to the apartment. You can even pick up a bottle of wine on your way at the Spar Gourmet grocery store (literally steps from the apartment) if you so desire!
Thanks again Sofie, we had a wonderful stay with you! We highly recommend your apartment and your thoughtfulness.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank inspiredtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Shermin Appts- Argentinienstrasse
The location is excellent. Just to the south of Vienna central near Karlsplatz underground. All parts of the city are easily walkable from Argentinienstrasse. A very good supermarket (with cash machine) two bakeries and 3 restaurants are all within 150 m.
Sophie met us and showed us around the unit. A very large ground floor double bed sit with external courtyard and a very large lounge area. The kitchenette has hot plates, microwave, refrigerator, dishwasher and a good selection of crockery, cutlery and cleaning gear. The lounge has a settee, small dining table and chairs, a large TV connected to cable and the wifi is excellent. The bathroom has a shower,toilet etc and washing machine. There is also an iron, ironing board and a drying rack. There are lots of windows so summer ventilation is good. The neighbours are quiet. For anything else, a very helpful Sophie is just a phone call away. It is recommended for an extended stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanberraTell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

I had to be in Vienna for a month for work and really wanted to LIVE here (going to work in the morning as the locals, buying groceries like the locals, going for a meal or drink in a Bezirk's guesthaus like the locals ... remember, do as the Romans do!) - as I hate being a short-term tourist. I stayed at 28 Karolinengasse for this month in a remarkably cosy and neat studio, professionally (and kindly) managed by Frau Sofie. This place was perfect for my idea of live&work in Vienna. Of course, I also visited galleries, Shoenbrunn, Staatsoper etc. Above all my expectations was easily having a daily jog in the Belvedere park (5 min), swimming in Alte Donau (15 min by U1) and going for a walk in Wiener Wald. Internet connection in the apartment worked perfectly well. Everything seems to be so conveninet here - I really want to come back!!!

Room Tip: get in touch with Frau Sofie
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex-and-Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Austria Trend Hotel Beim Theresianum
Wieden
Pakat City Hotel
Pakat City Hotel
#212 of 361 in Vienna
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Novum Hotel Prinz Eugen Wien
AZIMUT Hotel Vienna
#184 of 361 in Vienna
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shermin Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shermin Apartments

Address: Karolinengasse 28/30, Vienna 1040, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Wieden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 214 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Price Range: $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our modern and comfortably equipped apartments are located in the city centre of Vienna close to Karlsplatz and Belvedere Palace. Public transport is nearby and easy to reach, i.e. the U1 Taubstummengasse or the major Karlsplatz subway station.No matter if you are a tourist, visiting Vienna for its beautiful sights and tremendous history, or coming to Vienna on a business trip, even for an extended stay Shermin Apartments offer the perfect accommodation for your needs. Our apartments are equipped with a fully functional kitchen, a washing machine, cable TV and internet access (wired or wireless). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Shermin Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing