We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere”
Review of Cafe Hofburg - CLOSED

Cafe Hofburg
Price range: $8 - $14
Cuisines: Austrian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Inner City
Description: The Habsburg dynasty began to reside in the imperial palace from the 13th century onwards until 1918. During this period the palace was the main centre of power of the empire. Many Hapsburg monarchs lived here such as Charles VI, his daughter Maria Theresa, Joseph II and Emperor Franz Jopseph 1 and his beautiful wife Sisi. The cafe Hofburg is located right next to the entrance of the Sisi museum and the imperial apartments.The cafe Hofburg is located right next to the entrance of the Sisi museum and the imperial apartments., making it the ideal place to relax and have a snack before or after a visit to the imperial palace. The unique location of our terrace in the inner courtyard of the imperial palace, gives you the opportunity to experience 600 years of Hapsburg history whilst having a cup of coffee and eating piece of delicious cake.
Reviewed August 5, 2016

A great place to take in the atmosphere of Vienna and enjoy a good cake and coffee!
The cafe is in a beautiful setting in the courtyard of the Hofburg imperial palace. We had a delicious cake, a refreshing, self-made lemonade and iced coffee. Staff were very friendly and the service was fast. It was a bit expensive though, but worth it.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank w84
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (744)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 216 of 744 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2016 via mobile

Had impromptu brunch here whilst making my mind up about what parts of palace to see. Had lovely Viennese breakfast; tasty and under €10. Very polite, pleasant staff, and nice spot to watch world go by. I was on my own and I felt totally comfortable in the restaurant itself (outdoor terrace in sun; lovely). Bit off putting that so many tourists stand right in front of you while you try to eat and take snaps of architecture just above your head. But that is modern day lack of etiquette; can't blame the cafe. Would stop again: and next time would just shoo inconsiderate snappers away!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank AnneKissFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 30, 2016 via mobile

The slowest service I've ever seen in my life!!! I spent an hour waiting for bread, jam, and a boiled egg!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank Josh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Querfeld, Inhaber at Cafe Hofburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2016

Dear Josh R,
I am totally sorry that we did not make you satisfied. Quick, best and friendly service in a traditional Viennese Cafe in an impressive environment of the imperial Hofburg Castle is what we usually provide. So I regret that obviously something went wrong with your order. Thank you for your review. It helps us to improve. Berndt Querfeld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2016 via mobile

Have been here with my girlfriend in July 2016. Atmosphere is great, the staff is very gentle and competent. The sandwiches were great and so were the cake and the coffee. A bit pricey but proportional to the quality

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Sir_Bubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 23, 2016

Located in the center of the interior of the Hofburg Imperial Palace square, this is a traditional Viennese cafe experience. It has the famous Kaiser pancakes, Kaiser Melange coffee & cake, pastries and other delicious baked goodies. The specialty Kaiser-themed items were the best! Plus the outdoor cafe ambience was outstanding. Good money spot too!

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank Isha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Hofburg also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.