We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricing way-point during the Imperial Palace tour”
Review of Cafe Hofburg - CLOSED

Cafe Hofburg
Price range: $8 - $14
Cuisines: Austrian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Inner City
Description: The Habsburg dynasty began to reside in the imperial palace from the 13th century onwards until 1918. During this period the palace was the main centre of power of the empire. Many Hapsburg monarchs lived here such as Charles VI, his daughter Maria Theresa, Joseph II and Emperor Franz Jopseph 1 and his beautiful wife Sisi. The cafe Hofburg is located right next to the entrance of the Sisi museum and the imperial apartments.The cafe Hofburg is located right next to the entrance of the Sisi museum and the imperial apartments., making it the ideal place to relax and have a snack before or after a visit to the imperial palace. The unique location of our terrace in the inner courtyard of the imperial palace, gives you the opportunity to experience 600 years of Hapsburg history whilst having a cup of coffee and eating piece of delicious cake.
Reviewed July 6, 2016

This is a very nice and upscale cafe in the Hofburg. Tea, coffee, torte, and other treats. Everything was tasty. Service was polite but slow, surprising since it is a simple service and they were not busy. Pricey.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank gregoryp822
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (744)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 224 of 744 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2016

I doubt Franz Jospeh ever ate here as he died in 1916, way before the Cafe Hofburg opened. However they serve his favourite food, or so they claim, Kaiserschmarrn.....which is a smashed up pancake served in a roasting dish with apple purée and a baked plum. I am not surprised it was his favourite....it was delicious, if somewhat filling. It's not that cheap, 9.50 EUROS per serving, and it is definitely enough for two to share. The cafe is in a great location in the courtyard of the Imperial Palace and is just the place to sit outside and watch the world go by, which will include the beautiful horse drawn carriages. Good coffee too, but a bit pricey at almost 5 EUROS for coffee with milk. Service is friendly and good.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Terence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 4, 2016

After going to the Imperial Palace in Vienna, we came upon this Cafe'. The location is perfect for sitting outside under the umbrella's and watching everyone pass by. Daniel was our server - he was friendly and eager to please. Our sandwiches and desserts were delicious!

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank drb651
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 2, 2016

We have been to Vienna a number of times and this is the first place we go to for a meal - usually a late lunch. The location is fantastic - right in the courtyard of the Hofburg Palace. We sit outside under the umbrellas in the sun. The people watching is especially good here! The waiters have all given excellent service every time, even though the cafe can be quite busy. We love the waiters in these European capitals - they are often career waiters and really know their stuff. They are friendly enough and their English is good. I tried the homemade lemonade this time and it was delicious. The cakes are always superb as are the sandwiches. We don't find it pricey because you get excellent value for the money.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JenJ898
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 26, 2016

Great place to dine and the menu is good. We settled on cheese and ham toasties, cake and a drink for lunch. The service was reasonably quick even though it was busy, the sandwiches were tasty and the cakes and icecream were delicious. The bill for four came to 82 Euros, not cheap but not overly expensive either. The square is a great place to sit, catch your breath and people watch and there are (paid) toilets nearby.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Hofburg also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.