We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed it”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Hofburg

Cafe Hofburg
Ranked #67 of 4,104 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: German, Austrian, Cafe, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Inner City
Description: The Habsburg dynasty began to reside in the imperial palace from the 13th century onwards until 1918. During this period the palace was the main centre of power of the empire. Many Hapsburg monarchs lived here such as Charles VI, his daughter Maria Theresa, Joseph II and Emperor Franz Jopseph 1 and his beautiful wife Sisi. The cafe Hofburg is located right next to the entrance of the Sisi museum and the imperial apartments.The cafe Hofburg is located right next to the entrance of the Sisi museum and the imperial apartments., making it the ideal place to relax and have a snack before or after a visit to the imperial palace. The unique location of our terrace in the inner courtyard of the imperial palace, gives you the opportunity to experience 600 years of Hapsburg history whilst having a cup of coffee and eating piece of delicious cake.
Ontario
Level Contributor
128 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We had lunch here after touring the Imperial Apartments at the Hofburg. Both food & service were good. Desserts in particular were outstanding. Coffee excellent as is usual in Vienna. Old world atmosphere. Great place to stop in central Vienna.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Weswee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    168
    44
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dillon
Level Contributor
363 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great food, upscale service”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We wanted to taste Viennese cafe society, and why not while at the Hofburg touring. Great selection, we had Apple struedel and Sacher torte, coffee and brandy! Relax and ready a newspaper(they are on spindles waiting for you to read), or just enjoy the palace view on the patio. A little chilly the day we were there,so we dined indoors, and enjoyed every minute!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snowpiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gluten free cakes”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We went with a Saga Tour. The cakes we had were very good. We don't know how much this cost as it was pre-paid.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank haras056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
245 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Beautiful food at affordable prices”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Classy old world atmosphere, nice courteous, understated European service. Food was excellent! Coffee was good. Will definitely come back. Only drawback is the absence of toilets and need to use port a loo just outside, which we had difficulty opening.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TonyFNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Convenient museum location with really good food and oh those desserts!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We ate here on two occasions since we were in the Hofburg Palace complex on two different days. It's not really noticeable from the outside--look for it near where you go into the Sisi Museum and Hofburg Palace apartments. Well worth a visit--good ambiance, good people-watching (locals & tourists), good food. And the dessert choices! You'd have to come every day for a month to work your way through them all! We both opted for Caesar salads both days (one with chicken, one with tuna) since we were in need of greenery. But the plates which we saw waiters delivering looked really tasty. The outer entrance room has the cold case where you can look at all the dessert choices, but go on into one of the inner rooms for real sit-down service and the ambiance.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank texafornian66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Hofburg also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Cafe Hofburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing