We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vienna Brewery” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wieden Braeu

Wieden Braeu
Ranked #398 of 4,075 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, European, Pub, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Wieden
Reno, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Vienna Brewery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Need a cab and GPS to find it. Beers are brewed on site. Fabulous pretzels, but otherwise standard brewery fare with Wiener schnitzel (pork or turkey). The potato salad was excellent. It was a very happy beer drinking place with lots of students. I liked that dogs were allowed and I was able to get in a doggie fix with lots of petting.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    124
    46
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
119 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Meh, fine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Yet another place on the fella's must-try beer list! We ducked in on a Thursday afternoon around 2:00 p.m., and the place seemed to have a lot of locals, which is a good sign... although, I did feel a little like a bull in a china shop.

As others have said, the waitresses don't speak much English, but we were able to use our basic German and point at the menu to bridge the gap. The fella tried a couple of beers, and I got a pretzel as part of my quest to try pretzels at every bar and restaurant we visited. Everything was fine, but I'm not sure it was as great as we expected. Maybe our expectations were too high? All in all, a solid place though.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vandelay37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
133 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

I took lunches couple of time in this restaurant. If you love chicken, then you can take Wiener Schnitzel with Chicken or Chicken Basket. Very near to the Karlplatz. The environment is calm.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mmsbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yerevan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Excellent place - central location, but very quiet. Excellent food, good service.
Big portions at average price.
Diversity in beer sorts.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lika_3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zell am See, Austria
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Geat Beer and proper food !!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great micro-brewery ! All the beers are good and easy to drink!
Proper traditional Viennese Food! Go for the rack of ribs !

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sunseeker1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wieden Braeu also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Wieden Braeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing