We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Splendid location, good room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fleming's Deluxe Hotel Wien-City
Ranked #91 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Splendid location, good room”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

In my inexperience of Vienna, I made the mistake of walking from Westbanhof. It took about half an hour and, when I eventually got to Josefstädter Straße, I found the hotel was at the other end of the street. I would have been better off taking the underground to Rathaus.

Check-in was simple and efficient. On the way to my room, my heart sank walking the cheerless corridor, with a carpet obviously in need of cleaning or replacing. But once in my room I was pleasantly surprised: clean, well furnished and, for a single room, reasonably spacious. Two windows facing a back street allowed plenty of natural light in. The curtains were thick enough to exclude the light as required. The bed and bedding seemed of good quality, and I soon confirmed this when I lay in the bed for a good nap.

The breakfast buffet was simple but decent. I particularly enjoyed the slices of smoked salmon. Throughout the hotel the service was fine, without any fuss but correct.

Of particular importance for me was the WiFi connection. I had checked beforehand that this was available throughout the hotel and that it was free. This was indeed the case, but the connection was unstable and, strangely, it went off every time my iPad went to sleep. This means that each time I awakened the iPad I would have to re-enter the username and password, neither of which were particularly intuitive or memorable. I therefore found myself disconnected many times, and unable to reconnect if I didn't have the piece of paper on me with the login information. I am a seasoned iPad user, so I know this was not my device's foible, but the connection's. At such times my mobile phone's WiFi could have been the obvious alternative, but I found that the login details were only valid for one device, so connection was refused from the phone.

Another draw for me had been the gym and sauna. The gym proved very basic, with only a few aerobic machines and one multi-gym machine which was not enough for a thorough workout. The sauna, alas, was closed in daytime; it only opens from 1700 onwards, which for me was no use.

Staff at reception were helpful with directions and taxi orders, and they were happy to lend me an umbrella. Check-out was as efficient as check-in had been.

I would go back to the Fleming's Deluxe, but I hope they do something about the WiFi. And it would be more honest to specify in the description of facilities that the sauna is only open in the evenings.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank latinontyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at Fleming's Deluxe Hotel Wien-City, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear latinontyne,

thank you very much for your most recent comment on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is extremely important to us as it helps to improve our services as well as to see our areas of improvement from a customer point of view.
Regarding the complimentary Wifi connectivity I would like to mention that the system logs you out after a certain time. We have launched this system for our guests security initially. However, we are working on a better solution with our provider for the future.
We are very happy to read that our service at front desk was matching your expectations. Our staff is motivated to answer all questions and to esceed our guest expectation regularly.
Mr. latinontyne, once more we want to thank you for your constructive feedback and we are very much looking forward to welcome you again.
With best regards from Vienna,
the team of Fleming's Deluxe Hotel Wien-City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    539
    181
    56
    38
See reviews for
140
679
84
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I come from north america and maybe I am not used to the european hotels.
The hotel was average to me. A few things irritated me:

1: no iron and ironing board in the room. At 160 euros a night(250$ can), I expect a steam iron in my room. Luckily, they had one at the reception that they gave me for the week so I could use it. They had ONE.

2: The bed. They made a queen bed by putting two single beds side to side. Cheap foam matresses, my back was killing me after a few nights. No sheets, all you get is 2 single duvet quilts. That means it's either too cold or too hot, while you are sleeping on the crack between both beds. and between both quilts. Um? You sleep better than that in a 80$ econolodge motel here....

3: the shower. Glass shower in the middle of the room. Great, so my girlfriend can have a look at me while I wash myself. Not that I care that much, but really, how about having a separate bathroom? What's the point with having a toilet, alone in a closet, and having the shower in the middle of the room?

4: the fridge. Did not work. they told me 3 days in a row that they would fix it. 4th day, I told them, it's never getting fixed um? they said no, sorry, it's not. 7 days later, never fixed. Enjoy your paid minibar for 15 euros a day, in a warm fridge.

5: so I asked where is the ice machine? there is no ice machine. I had to go to the bar, find a waiter, then beg for ice, and then I would get 2 glasses of ice.

6: the breakfast service: First day, had good service at the breakfast. (included with my room). Didnt tip the lady because we were in a hurry and I had no change and she wasnt around and I intended to tip her the next day. The next day, no service, no one came to our table, had to get up and confront another waiter to get a coffee (she tried to ignore me a few times looking away but had to look at me when I shood right in front of her). Kmon, really, I am not impolite, I am very polite and didnt do anything wrong to anyone there.

So at the end of the meal (served myself at the buffet) , I went the the waiter and told her that this was the tip for yesterday, and that the other waiter would not get tip today because I had no service. That is BS. The other days after that I had decent service(because they knew I would tip them I guess?). So expect to tip or get ignored, and dont miss a day. I tipped 2 euros for breakfast for 2 the first day, and 1 euro each day afterwards so they would bring me a coffee.

So so sum it up, well, this hotel is average, nothing fancy, it was decent.

Room Tip: Maybe ask if the minibar fridge works before paying for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kryogen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at Fleming's Deluxe Hotel Wien-City, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Kryogen,
thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor. Feedback like yours is extremely important to us as it helps to improve our standards and services.
All our guest rooms are equipped with trouser press, most certainly we can offer you iron and ironing board, which is delivered to your room from our staff.
Regarding the malfunctioning minibar I want to apologize. As a matter of fact we do face some delivery challenges with our vendor at the moment. We are currently looking into detail for alternatives in order to get this problem fixed.
The mentioned service challenge in the restaurant is taken very seriously. Regular meetings and ongoing trainings are in place already in order to prevent those situations in the future.
Mr. Kryogen, I can assure you that your constructive feedback is taken very seriously and we would be more then happy having the chance to prove to we were able to improve your addressed areas of improvement.

With best regards from Vienna,
the Fleming's Team Wien-City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Spent two nights here on an excursion trip to Vienna and am very pleased with my choice.

Staff: Extremely friendly and always offered a smile.

Breakfast: above average

Location: great neighborhood with good eats and nice walks. Just a block or two from the U-bahn and the Rathaus. I had no trouble walking from here to all the old town sites I wanted to see.

Ambiance / lobby: Very pleasant and welcoming. A nice bar and lounge area that is perfect for evening drinks with friends. Classic Ray Charles on the stereo.

Room: single room was just what I needed - comfy bed but typical European lack of adequate pillows (maybe it's just me). Shower was fantastic and unique...a full glass enclosure right in the middle of the room. Overall they get points for bringing good design elements into the room.

I will add that this is a large older building converted to the hotel. As such the hallways lack charm and the layout is a little bit odd. If you want modern and new throughout then this maybe isn't for you. However in my opinion the pros dramatically outweigh the cons here, and I would gladly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Single room had a really cool glass shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at Fleming's Deluxe Hotel Wien-City, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear kpedad,

thank you very much for taking the time to write this review.

I was happy to read, that you enjoyed your stays with us and I was especially glad to read your nice comments about our staff and the breakfast, which I have shared with my associates already.

Dear kpedad, thank you once again for your compliments. I hope we will be able to wecome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Fleming's Team Wien-City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel is extremely well located, the design is very modern. The breakfast is very good and the staff were very helpful indeed. For a business trip is ideal as the metro stop is very close by, just walking distance to many of the main sights too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shivona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at Fleming's Deluxe Hotel Wien-City, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Google Translation
Sehr geehrte Shivona T.,

vielen Dank für das positive Feedback und den damit verbunden Aufenthalt in unserem Hause. Es freut uns zu hören, dass Sie sich bei uns wohl gefühlt haben. Wir hoffen, Sie bei Ihrem nächsten Besuch in Wien wieder als Gast in unserem Hause begrüßen zu dürfen und wünschen Ihnen bis dahin eine gute Zeit.

herzliche Grüße aus Wien
Ihr Fleming's Team Wien-City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights on business. The hotel is well located in the centre of an historic part of Vienna. Taxi from airport was e40. The hotel is modern and one would say aiming for a stylish interior decor. Its not to my personal taste. In fact it has a feel a refurbed hotel from 1999. Checkin etc was good. All english speaking staff - all very capable. But in my opinion all missing that little bit of polish and friendliness.

The corridors of the hotel are odd and really institutional. Room was a fair size - big by paris standards and small by Dublin standards for eg. Much is made of the shower in the middle of the room. Its simply a nice shower. Again this type of thing is surely a 1999 attempt at hipsterism? Bed was comfortable. The whole room has a decent level of corporate toys - flat screed / iphone dock and lovely products from White Company. Wifi in room is just OK and required old school vouchers........ Not enough BW to stream a movie for example but fine for email. Mini bar was basic and no food included. I ate room service in room on one night and the food was good and very well priced by UK standards. No iron in the room and there was some issue about the hotel needing my on loan version back as it was "the only one in the hotel"! I cant believe that.

There is a gym on site - more of a fitness room. But it is underused and has a threadmill for when cold weather arrives. Also has a sauna and steam room. All spotless and in pristine condition. But no weights apart from a multi gym type machine. There are some good nearby running tracks and two excellent gyms within 1.5km.

Breakfast was typical local fare with good coffee in a pleasant enough brasserie. At the bottom of the road there is an excellent cafe - called cafe elle - great coffee and strudel and bratwurst.

All in all i wasnt blown away but I did get an excellent corporate rate so i left feeling i had secured good value but could be good base for the xmas market btw as they are 3mins walk away.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgbentour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at Fleming's Deluxe Hotel Wien-City, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear mgbentour,
thank you very much for your most recent comment on Tripadvisor and that you share your experience with all future trip planners.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay here as constructive feedback like yours is very important to us. Your commented points are taken very seriously in order to improve all areas of services here in the hotel.
Mr. mgbentour, we are very much looking forward to welcome you again at Fleming’s Deluxe Hotel Wien City.
With best regards,
the Fleming's Team Wien-City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
474 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Visited Fleming's Deluxe Hotel in the beginning of December 2012. We had booked a deluxe room but the first room we got when checked in looked more like a standard room, not even worth 3 stars. (it is a so-called 5 stars hotel). We complained to the front desk and the agent there was very helpful and gave us the room which we had originally booked. Located on the top floor. it was a very nice room with a shower in the middle of the room with glass all around. It was much appreciated and nice to shower in the "open"
The breakfast was okay but nothing special to highlight. Free wireless internet all over the hotel (connectivity on the top floor could have been better). Overall quite a nice hotel and certainly a place we would visit again, mainly due to the location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeLundgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at Fleming's Deluxe Hotel Wien-City, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for sharing good impressions here on tripadvisor. We are sorry, that you didn't get the room you've booked in the first place. But we are happy to hear, that beside this mistake you've enjoyed your stay in the Fleming's Deluxe Hotel Wien-City. We hope to welcoming you soon again.
Best regards
Fleming's Deluxe Hotel Wien-City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Most things about this hotel were to my liking, even the transparent shower, which I know some people may find a bit odd but you are forewarned when booking. The room was spacious, and the bed comfortable. There was small coffee machine in my room which I made good use of and the minibar was well stocked. There is also a turndown service each afternoon which I hadn't encountered during this trip to Europe.

I loved the location which was within walking distance of a great many tourist attractions and shopping opportunities if that's your thing. The property is very close to public transport also. There are banks, an Apotheke, and a supermarket quite close by which when you have been traveling for a while is very helpful.

Reception staff were very helpful providing suggestions and assistance with tours and city maps. They also found a nail salon and made an appointment for me which was much appreciated. Wait staff in the Brasserie were very keen to meet all needs if possible. Room service menu was a little limited and seems to be the same in all Flemings properties (I stayed in three Flemings properties this trip) however the service was prompt and the staff friendly.

I would have liked to see more vegetarian options on the restaurant menu and particularly dinner options. Ordered tomato soup one evening which arrived with a prosciutto garnish even after telling the waiter I was a vegetarian. Perhaps the language barrier was the problem.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meejayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at Fleming's Deluxe Hotel Wien-City, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear meejayne,

thank you very much for taking the time to write this review.
I was very happy to read your comments and I was especially pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope we may welcome you soon. Until then, all the best to you.

Best regards
your Fleming's team Wien-City

(Sorry for the ham in your tomato soup)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Fleming's Hotel Wien-Westbahnhof
Josefstadt
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Josefstadt
The Levante Parliament
The Levante Parliament
#138 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Josefstadt
Hotel Graf Stadion
Hotel Graf Stadion
#63 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#72 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fleming's Deluxe Hotel Wien-City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fleming's Deluxe Hotel Wien-City

Property: Fleming's Deluxe Hotel Wien-City
Address: Josefstaedter Strasse 10-12, Vienna 1080, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fleming's Deluxe Hotel Wien-City 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are laying Vienna at your feet: You will reside in the city center in the beautiful "Josefstadt" quarter, directly behind City Hall and only a short walk from the Hofburg and Parliament. You can easily reach all landmarks and highlights of the emperor's city by foot. Our Fleming's delights for you: excellent service, comfortable Deluxe living, and an incomparable design concept. In addition, you will find services such as shoe shining, limousine, room, and secretary services. The first step to a successful event is selecting the right location. Our conference hotel in Vienna provides 4 fully air-conditioned conference rooms with daylight and 2 boardrooms in our conference center. These can be individually connected, thus giving you a customizable venue for symposiums, banquets, or conferences in Vienna. The technical equipment, with power window blinds, free Internet access via WLAN, ceiling beamer, centrally controlled media technology for various preprogrammed technical scenarios, and a network interface, leaves nothing to be desired. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Fleming's Deluxe Hotel Wien-City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing