We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy and good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Der Kuckuck

Restaurant Der Kuckuck
Ranked #380 of 4,071 Restaurants in Vienna
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: German, Austrian, European, Central European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Inner City
Description: The “Der Kuckuck” (cuckoo) isone of the most traditional restaurantsin the heart of Vienna.Only five minutes walking distancefrom St. Stephan’s cathedral it offers best Austrian hospitality with excursions to the formerAustrian-Hungarian monarchy.Come and enjoy an evening inoriginal Viennese atmosphere with perfect food & wine. Monday to Sunday:from 5 p.m.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cosy and good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

It is indeed a charming little restaurant ideal for couples/small groups only. Busy - many after us were turned away. Seemingly only one waiter for the whole restaurant when we went, but he did an amazing job, kept calm and did all that was needed. Food was filling and satisfying Austrian standard, with some nice wines.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vincethefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    103
    35
    25
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, Scotland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not the best”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

On a three cities trip in Europe, this was the most expensive, and the most disappointing meal we had.

Restaurant is small and charming, but there the compliments cease. There were only three other diners, mid evening, so it wasn't like it had been busy. We ordered our food, including mushrooms for starters, and the waiter came back some minutes later to say they had none. Now if you offer mushrooms on the menu, do you not make sure you have them bought in? So we skipped starter.

I had the Tafelspitz, and it was pretty poor - no gravy to speak of, the meat was extremely fatty - I left about a quarter, and the plate was awash with what could only have been spinach in a creamy sauce - the whole thing didn't even look appetising. My wife had Paprika Chicken, which she said would have been okay if it had been a supermarket ready meal, but it was pretty bland.

Desserts - My wife raved about the violet ice cream, but my "Austrian" cheese board had Port Salut (French) Le Roule (French), a Camembert like cheese, yet no Austrian Smoked. All looked like cut up supermarket mini cheeses.

Not impressed - would avoid in future.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank barfly51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“4 Course Meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

This was a nice small restaurant. The 4 course dinner was very good. The only downside is that because it is so small that if there is a big party of people as there was when we were there its hard to hear your own conversations. The place did have a cute atmosphere with its Cuckoo Clocks all around, hence the name!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank RosaC119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nolensville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
121 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Cozy and Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Enjoyed dinner with a group of colleagues at this restaurant on a Friday evening. It's a small, cozy place, with about 10-12 tables. I found it charming. The restaurant was full and that made for a bit of noise but not so much we could not talk with one another normally. There was a choice between a 3 or 4 course menu and I enjoyed the dumplings for a starter, pumpkin soup, salmon for main and apple strudel for dessert. It was all delicious. Together with wheat beer, what a happy tummy! My colleagues enjoyed all fo their dishes too. I found the menu price to be in line with other similar restaurants and the portions very generous.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent, friendly and very typical.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant has a very pleasant, traditional ambience with very friendly but discreet service.
The food was very good and home-made. I tried the dumplings for starters and the traditional boiled beef for mains. Both were very good. The wine selection is also varied, including the Austrian wines to complement the traditional food.
I would certainly pay another visit!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Der Kuckuck also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Der Kuckuck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing