We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to stay when visiting Wien!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of K&T Boardinghouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
K&T Boardinghouse
Ranked #2 of 110 Vienna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Torino
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay when visiting Wien!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

I spent 3 nights at K&T Boarding house and had a great time. The innkeepers are extremely kind and precise. They gave us all the necessary information to reach the hotel and to tour the town. If you want to spend a nice and relaxing weekend in Wien and prefer to walk around rather then use busses and underground this is the perfect place to be. it's 15 minutes walk form the main museums and bouldings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    79
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
48
109
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

The best thing about K+T2 is its fantastic location in central Vienna, just off the cosmopolitan shopping street of Mariahilferstrasse and about 10-15 minutes walk from, well, everything.

The room we booked was spacious, clean, with a comfortable double bed, TV, good wireless, warm and quiet due to the double glazing. We found the extra space be very relaxing compared to regular hotel rooms. En-suite shower room as standard, no bath.

So what didn't we like? Well, there is a general theme you may notice when reading these reviews: the maid (who isn't really a maid). It's important to understand that this isn't a hotel. We found her manner to be brusque but helpful when needed, and I would like to stress that she is more of a caretaker than a maid/concierge.

Overall however we were very satisfied with our stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room at the back of the building which may be quieter if you are a light sleeper - as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

It was a 10-15 minute walk to the K&T2 from the Westbanhof train station straight down Marianhilfer. There is a small twist in finding it as it is a ½ block over and door is around the side of the building but really, it was pretty easy to find. Having said that, you could transfer from Westbanhof to the Neubaugasse train station, which is right across the street from K & T. The entry way is a little dark and foreboding but that is only till you learn where the light switches are. The rooms are on the second floor, our hostess Tina was polite and efficient and provided us with good sightseeing advice and all that we required. I find it interesting how many people review negatively about people who are what I would describe as efficient, then mistaking efficiency for rudeness. Not everyone gushes warmth or friendliness but that doesn’t make them rude. We had a nice large room (it was our 2nd largest room of the trip) that was fairly clean and well appointed, with reasonable quality fixtures. The room had high ceilings and several large windows that could all be opened. Our room did overlook the bus stop but the windows did an adequate job of dampening the sound, my better half happily uses earplugs for noisier locations and I fortunately never have a problem sleeping anywhere. We easily slept in long after the buses started running each morning.

There are lots of stores, shops and restaurants close to the room and the amazing Nachts Market is only 5-10 minutes away (fresh fruit, bread, cheese, coffee, restaurants… everything you could want). The subway is across the street.

As an aside, if the slippers they provide aren’t to your liking then just don’t use them.

We would happily stay here again; the cost (79 Euros), location and room make this a good place to stay.

Previous Hotel – Gasthof Weisses Lamm, Hallstatt Austria
Next Hotel – Guesthouse Hodak, Seliste Croatia

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LSUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
431 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

I have never written a negative review on Trip Advisor before. This is the first time that a Trip Advisor rating has not lived up to my expectations. The K&T Boardinghouse website states: "There are 5 spacious rooms, each with full, private facilities, Cable TV (CNN), up to 5 people per room, 2 of the rooms are very large and all are kept at a high level of cleanliness." I explained to Tina in an e-mail that I was traveling with 4 female adult family members and that we needed a room with the capacity to sleep 4 adults. When we arrived we were shown to a room with one large bed. To our surprise the female staff then folded the back of the couch down and proceeded to put sheets on the couch as we watched dumbfounded. This was not a pull-out couch. There was no matress. A child might have been able to sleep on the couch but it was certainly not meant for two grown adults. This room could never have accomadated 5 people.

We were also dismayed to find two pairs of used worn slippers by the bed. We placed them by the door assuming that someone had left them there by accident. But no, they were for guests to use. There were also three very old & dirty small rugs in the room. They appeared to have not been cleaned in months. The bath rug was especially disgusting. The slippers and rolled up rugs were placed in the closet during our stay.

The young staff member was aware of our dissapointment with the accomodations and became very rude. Yes, she did give us the map of Vienna and robotically recited the sites. She was not friendly or helpful when we asked questions. One morning as we were leaving our room for the day we witnessed the same staff member being very rude to another young couple. They had come early just to see if an early check-in was possible.

We made the best of our accomodations and had a wonderful time in Vienna. We laughed about our room and jokingly called it our 'Hostile Hostel'. The old adage - 'You get what you pay for' certainly applies.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MKTBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at K&T 1, which has a great location between the Westbahnhof and Ringstrasse, on a busy street with shops, cafes and Ubahn stations, yet is very quiet. Free wifi, TV, and a folder full of helpful advice were available in the large, very clean and well appointed room. Our host, Tina, was very helpful and friendly. A great value!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Filiz1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We picked K&T due to its many favorable reviews on trip advisor, and we were overall not disappointed. The boarding house is in a fantastic location, and all major attractions in the inner stadt were within walking distance (and this comes from two girls who hate walking). The boardinghouse is also very near Spittle berg, a nice neighborhood filled with interesting shops.

Do note: If you're taking the metro to the boarding house, take the Amerlingstrasse exit as per website instructions, but take the Escalator instead of the Elevator to exit the metro. The latter will not bring you to Cafe Ritter but instead to the main street. We were lost for a while because of that.

K&T does not provide breakfast, which is ok. There are alot of food options around. K&T was clean, simply furnished and the shower worked just fine. When we made our reservations, we specified that we wanted a quiet room. However, we were given a room on the first floor, and directly outside our window was the bus stop. We were told that it's ok, the buses will stop running after midnight. But woe to early and light sleepers. Pls bring your ear plugs with you.

A nice lady met us at K&T (I forgot her name) and proceeded to give us a city map and also made some typical tourist recommendations. However, when we asked for more information pertaining to music performances and etc, she was not able to assist.

Overall, this is a value for money lodging, and I would have given it 5 stars if we had been allocated a quiet room. The room pictures on the boardinghouse's website are pretty accurate representations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jit_doe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Appreciated the location (between the rail station and the Ringstrausse), the room cleanliness, the helpful on site staff person and (MOST OF ALL) the a/c! It was so hot when we were there and the a/c (extra charge per day) was a godsend. We would not have survived without heat breaks in our nicely cooled room. Do not even consider visiting Vienna in the hot summer months without a/c!

A couple of sightseeing tips: 1) The palace apartments are not a/c and it was miserably hot when we were touring. 2) we took one of the sightseeing bike tours and it was quite lame - don't do it! Waste of time and money :(

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BandMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Mariahilf
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Neubau
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#21 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Neubau
NH Collection Wien Zentrum
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K&T Boardinghouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K&T Boardinghouse

Property: K&T Boardinghouse
Address: Chwallagasse 2, Vienna 1060, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — K&T Boardinghouse 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Many of the Amenities marked are not in our house directly available but in the very close vicinity. We are located in the best zone you could ever have in Vienna, just right off MAriahilferstrasse the biggest shoppingstreet in the City. Many eateries, cofee shops and restaurants are closy by fancied by the locals. Most of the major sights are within walking distance and the U3 metro station is right front of the door.Breakfast is available also outside as the variety is so reach in choices. In our beautiful old house you can spend some days feeling the autentical viennese atmosphere!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your K&T Boardinghouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing