We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall a Good Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of K&T Boardinghouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
K&T Boardinghouse
Ranked #2 of 114 Vienna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Overall a Good Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We picked K&T due to its many favorable reviews on trip advisor, and we were overall not disappointed. The boarding house is in a fantastic location, and all major attractions in the inner stadt were within walking distance (and this comes from two girls who hate walking). The boardinghouse is also very near Spittle berg, a nice neighborhood filled with interesting shops.

Do note: If you're taking the metro to the boarding house, take the Amerlingstrasse exit as per website instructions, but take the Escalator instead of the Elevator to exit the metro. The latter will not bring you to Cafe Ritter but instead to the main street. We were lost for a while because of that.

K&T does not provide breakfast, which is ok. There are alot of food options around. K&T was clean, simply furnished and the shower worked just fine. When we made our reservations, we specified that we wanted a quiet room. However, we were given a room on the first floor, and directly outside our window was the bus stop. We were told that it's ok, the buses will stop running after midnight. But woe to early and light sleepers. Pls bring your ear plugs with you.

A nice lady met us at K&T (I forgot her name) and proceeded to give us a city map and also made some typical tourist recommendations. However, when we asked for more information pertaining to music performances and etc, she was not able to assist.

Overall, this is a value for money lodging, and I would have given it 5 stars if we had been allocated a quiet room. The room pictures on the boardinghouse's website are pretty accurate representations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jit_doe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    79
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
48
108
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Appreciated the location (between the rail station and the Ringstrausse), the room cleanliness, the helpful on site staff person and (MOST OF ALL) the a/c! It was so hot when we were there and the a/c (extra charge per day) was a godsend. We would not have survived without heat breaks in our nicely cooled room. Do not even consider visiting Vienna in the hot summer months without a/c!

A couple of sightseeing tips: 1) The palace apartments are not a/c and it was miserably hot when we were touring. 2) we took one of the sightseeing bike tours and it was quite lame - don't do it! Waste of time and money :(

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BandMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omer
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

The boardinghouse is ideally located for visitors that would like to see the sights and enjoy a lively neighbourhood with shops and restaurants and such.The underground and other means of transportation are across the street from the building, very convenient. The room was very clean and bright, comfy beds, cleaned every day and prompt change of towlels and such. The kettle and coffee/tea came in very handy and so did the little fridge. The only problem was the noise of the busses under the windows because we kept the windows open. Truth to be told, the owner advises re this problem and if you lock the double glaze windows - the noise is hardly noticeable. Another way to avoid the noise is to ask for a room that faces Chwallagasse, which is a quiet little street. Total - a very convenient and comfortable place at a decent price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rayush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We really enjoyed our experience at the boarding house in Vienna. The location was right off of Mariahilfer Strauss which was very close to the Ringstrauss. Lots of ships, cafes, and markets close by. We highly recommend paying the extra for A/C - really worth it in July. They have a frig in the foyer for anyone to use and free Wi-Fi. The room was large, clean, comfortable and super cheap compared to hotels. We loved the experience of feeling like our own apartment and no hassles with hotel stuffiness. Would definitely go back and stay longer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mfair5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

We spent two nights at the boardinghouse. The room was really spacious and simply but tastefully decorated, the internet was good and the location very convenient for exploring all areas of Vienna. Some points of concern are that the busstop outside the window is indeed VERY noisy and in retrospec it would have been better to pay the additional cost of the air conditioning, as we visited during a very hot period. Another minor inconvenience was no long mirror in the bedroom, but there was one available in the hallway of the boardinghouse. Still overall it was a good stay and would consider k&t again should we come back to Vienna

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelinBs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

We spent 3 nights here. The owners have 2 locations, but they can be a little difficult to find. K & T 2 is just off of Mariahilfer Str., a busy thoroughfare with plenty of coffee shops, restaurants, etc. There is no breakfast included, but there are plenty of places around to get something. It is easily walkable to the Ringstrasse (c. 15 mins.) and there is a metro stop right around the corner. It was also an easy 10 min. walk from the Westbahnhof along Mariahilfer Str. We did that pretty easily with our bags.
You have to get buzzed into the building door when you arrive. The K & T rooms are in a suite of rooms up a flight of marble stairs. It was a bit unnerving when we arrived. The stairs were dark even though it was midday. The owner was out of town, and the young woman in charge called to us out of the darkness. Her "greeting" was perfunctory, not warm, or welcoming, or helpful in navigating this unusual setting.
The room itself was excellent--very large and comfortable. Our room faced the street where the door is--not by the bus stop. (We had read concerns about the bus stop noise.) Although there was some noise, it was not problematic for us in our room.
The owners provide a thick notebook of information about their facility, the neighborhood, and Vienna. There was wireless internet, and we could not find it in the notebook. The young woman insisted it was in there, but instead of showing it to us she handed me the notebook and stood there defiantly while I looked again. (It was there, a small, unlabeled code on the backside of one of the many sheets.) Her attitude was most unpleasant.
This whole initial experience left a bad taste in my mouth, but after that the room, the location, and Vienna itself helped improve my impression. Even the young woman in charge became a little more hospitable.
The price for our room (double bed, ensuite bathroom) was 79 Euros per night. We were very pleased with that price.
If we went to Vienna again.....we would definitely price other accommodations, but we would also be content to return to K & T.

Room Tip: A room with windows opening over the doorway would be quieter than a room with windows over the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolgerry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

K&T 2 is great place to stay, clean rooms, central location, metro station nearby, and within walking distance to most places of interest. The young lady at the Boardinghouse, perhaps inexperienced, was half-willing to provide service. We felt that we had to please her in order to make our stay enjoyable. Otherwise everything else is perfect.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yihsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#21 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Mariahilf
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
NH Collection Wien Zentrum
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K&T Boardinghouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K&T Boardinghouse

Property: K&T Boardinghouse
Address: Chwallagasse 2, Vienna 1060, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 114 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — K&T Boardinghouse 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Many of the Amenities marked are not in our house directly available but in the very close vicinity. We are located in the best zone you could ever have in Vienna, just right off MAriahilferstrasse the biggest shoppingstreet in the City. Many eateries, cofee shops and restaurants are closy by fancied by the locals. Most of the major sights are within walking distance and the U3 metro station is right front of the door.Breakfast is available also outside as the variety is so reach in choices. In our beautiful old house you can spend some days feeling the autentical viennese atmosphere!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your K&T Boardinghouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing