We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pension VITIS
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Vienna
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveler rating
172
38
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
38
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall kitchenten minute bus ridepublic transportair conditionerbeautiful citycontinental breakfastlaundry servicecentral viennacoffee makerseparate toiletcomfy bedcomfortable staywalking distancekarlapartmentairportstation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 213 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

For our first time in Vienna (August 12 - 16, 2013) what better place to begin from than the Pension Vitis. Karl was the perfect host - excellent breakfast, serviced apartment daily, readily provided information about Vienna - always there but not intrusive. Ideally located for use of public transport and the 3-day special with the 72 hr Travel Pass made visiting the city easy and pleasurable. We loved our stay (4 nights) and would gladly return to this pension. Thanks Karl. Brian and Heather - Melbourne.

Room Tip: Our apartment, first of the two, was excellent.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manicans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

It's 5 minutes walk from the 6 U-Bahn (Thaliastrasse or Burggasse stop), that's to say about 20 minutes from the city center; nearby (Hippgasse) there's a small supermarket.
Pension Vitis is a nice and quiet place; Mr Karl is really very kind and provided us with parking ticket and a 36h ticket for the public means of transport.
We had large breakfasts with bread, butter, ham, cheese, jam, coffee, tea and fruit.
The room was confortable and clean with air conditioner; the wc is separated from the bathroom and is very small; there isn't a bidet.
Mr karl suggested we could have dinner at Panorama Restaurant in Herbststrasse that is 5 minutes walk from Vitis; and it was a good idea.
We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LL-CC-FF-AA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We had an excellent week stay with Karl in Vienna at his pension. It was more than we expected with a small kitchenette, hallway and separate rooms for bath and toilet--like a small apartment. Karl was more than helpful with maps, bus tickets, instructions on how to get to Bratislavia, anything we needed. Plus he makes fresh hot rolls every morning for a charming breakfast on the patio.
It is a little farther away from the city center than I had imagined and at times that made it a bit inconvenient to want to go all the way back to the center after you had come home for a shower and rest. However, I think that small inconvenience was more than made up for by the place, by Karl, by the excellent prices and the super air-conditioning. We slept like logs and heard many others (on various jaunts around the city) sleepless from trying to get relief from the heat wave.
It is easy to catch the bus and as long as you are OK with that, I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eloise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

At the end of a whirlwind tour of Europe, arriving at Pension VITIS was like coming home. Owner Karl was there at the airport to meet us and took us in his comfortable, air-conditioned van (there was a heat wave that week) to his lovely Pension. But first he took us through the city center and whetted our appetites pointing out all the glorious places we'd be seeing. He is a Vienna native, and there's no question he can't answer, no detail he can't elaborate on. Also, he's a true gentleman.
His building is lovely - unassuming on the outside but cool and charming on the inside. It's in a neighborhood slightly out of the tourist zone, but around the corner from the bus that takes you there. He explains all of this to you, and even has metro cards you can buy from him (cheaper) saving you the hassle .
The rooms! Spacious and clean and comfortable. We were so delighted to see this as there were four of us. Every detail is attended to - a small kitchenette with coffee and tea service, a small refrigerator (and he points out where the market is down the street...)fresh towels neatly hung....all the tourist info in any language you could need out in the hallway.
He serves breakfast out on the patio - surrounded by ivy-laden walls and potted plants; coffee/tea/juice, meats, rolls with butter and jam, and fruit. My teenagers puzzled at the elderberry flower drink..but that's the point of travel, right? Trying new things?
We also asked - and were granted permission! - to see the famous Vitis - the cat for whom the pension is named. He's a very old cat now, but still takes visitors.
I have to mention that when I mentioned that my kids were history buffs, Karl sent me a number of links to special places the kids would love. That's value added!
When it came time to go, Karl graciously took us back to the airport at a very early hour, even though it was inconvenient for him. Like I said, he's a true gentleman.
Did I mention that all of this, for four of us (two teens and their parents), came to much less than anywhere else we stayed?
I'll be coming back next time I'm in Vienna. You should too. I can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask Karl anything. He's born and raised in Vienna.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Karl met us at the station . The train was 15 minutes early and he was there! We had a lovely time, the apartment was lovely and the air conditioning very welcome due to the high temperatures Vienna was experiencing. I was a little concerned that it was out of the centre but it was so easy to get into town and back. The room was quiet and breakfast outside was lovely. Nothing was too much trouble and we plan to go back! A lovely stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews