We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food; uppity staff”

Gasthaus Zu den 3 Hacken
Ranked #162 of 4,261 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Inner City
New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good food; uppity staff”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We recently shared a meal here while visiting Vienna. The food was good but I had a problem with one of the staff. He definitely did not want to seat us although there were tables available. At first he turned us away and then reluctantly gave us a "reserved" table outside. As we enjoyed our dinner, we watched many people, about 6 parties in all, without reservations get seated immediately. Because of this, I would not recommend.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suecitysue72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    172
    50
    21
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
31
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice food and pleasant dinner”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

A wide menu with Austrian specialties not offered in other restaurants. Choice was difficult. I had calf sweetbreads breadcrumbed and fried and my colleague had char. Both dishes were very good. Very nice Starobrno, and pinot blanc. The waitress was efficient and she made the effort to kindly speak to us in French and she speaks it very well . The wine list is so impressive it is difficult to make a choice. A very nice evening.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vaquilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very good, Very typical”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

just a hundred meters away from Saint Stephen cathedral, in the mid of touristic Vienna, this restaurant retains an authentic atmosphere with a strictly "Austrian" menu and tastes.

The Goulash, Scheinbraten and of course the wienerschnitzel are very good, the apfelstrudel nice, but not exceptional. They have some outside tables for the warmer days and evenings. Prices are very reasonable, considering an "haptspeice" goes for under 20 euros and it is essentially a whole meal. Service is efficient, at least two of the waiters speak good english, but a few words of German will win you some extra smiles.

Good for couples or business meetings as well.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Guido C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
571 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

A friend and I recently had an excellent dinner on Friday night. We did not have a reservation and the restaurant was full, but they gave us a table if we could finish in 1 hour. The waiter gave us samples of 2 red wines that were very good and reasonably prices. The wine list is huge so we were glad they made recommendations and surprised they gave us tastes. The roasted pork was very tasty. I can understand why this is a popular place.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim_atl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Family dinner during vacation in Vienna”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We hit this restaurant for dinner during our vacation while looking for another place in the area. The location isn't exciting but we sat outside on a nice summer night. In addition to the normal German/Austrian "porky" fare, that had several specials to include reh(deer). We got several specials and they were all very good. Price is comparable to other places; you should expect to pay about 90E for a sit down dinner for four with drinks and maybe one or two extras. Fast,friendly service. I would come here again for the food.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank roger m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gasthaus Zu den 3 Hacken also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Gasthaus Zu den 3 Hacken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing