We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Benediktushaus Guest House
Ranked #4 of 115 Vienna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2012

The room at the benediktushaus is simple, the breakfast is adequate, but the location is superb if you want to be right in the historic old vienna without being swarmed by tourist. You practicaly can walk to everything.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niokatachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Benediktushaus Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 142 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2012

I can only underscore what others have already said: the Benediktushaus is simple but comfortable and very quiet. I got the one room that does not face the inner courtyard but the Freyung and even then it wasn't loud, even with the window open. Even though there is no warm food (eggs may be ordered in advance), the breakfast buffet is substantial and healthy (which also means nothing sweet, no cakes or pastries). For location, quality and cost effectiveness, there can be no better deal in Vienna.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GenieL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

March 2012. This place has great breakfasts and comfortable beds.
This is not a place for luxury and/or thrill seekers but it is well located. You are so close to the centre of the city, restaurants, cafes, shops and yet it is still quiet.
The rooms and bathrooms are very clean and good serviceable furniture including a large desk. Tea and coffee making facilities provided, with a small amount of supplies. The heated towel rails are great for cold mornings and for drying clothes. the bed and pillow were good, the room nice and cosy. It is quiet and allows reflective time. The desk staff were mainly very helpful.
There are a few steps once inside the entry door, then you can take a lift or walk up to reception.
Breakfast is served buffet style. There is a truly great assortment of cheeses, butters, pates, sliced meats, breads, rolls, cereals, fruit, jams, honey and tea and coffee. No hot food, but honestly, I had the BEST breakfasts here.
There are no tv or radios in the room, but there is Wifi. If you are relying on this, make sure you are not on the same floor as reception.
For me, this was a great choice.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

At 99euros a double for bed and breakfast, this is a bargain in the Inner Stadt. Great location within 10 minutes walk of most sights and very close to subway and trams. Provides our small traveling group with exactly what we need and no more -- free wifi, gathering space, and adequate breakfast (I was expecting something homemade or modestly better from others' descriptions but it was ample enough). The registration desk is open only limited hours, and this has the potential to pose some difficulties, but didn't bother us. Very interesting location as part of an abbey complex with a beautiful church, nice museum and gift shop, and what I learned is the most highly regarded private school in Austria.

Room Tip: website changed from time I booked to our arrival so I didn't realize that some rooms had been...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatKTn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Close to downtown Vienna. Situated in an old monastery. Atmosphere is churchlike - very peaceful, very quiet. This is reflected by the spartan interiors of the room. No fridge or minibar but complimentary coffee/tea. Spacious closet and drawers. Lockable drawer for valuables. Breakfast included. Buffet of breads, cheeses, cold meats and olives, cereals, yoghurt, jams, pâté, apples, fruit salad and juices as well as coffee and tea. Absolutely delightful and very different to the run of the mill hotels usually found in large cities. Excellent value. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JHnRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

The Benediktushaus is part of a functioning Benedictine Monastery and comes with all of the peacefulness of a religious retreat. It is wonderfully located in the center of the city and easy to reach by a 10 minute walk from the metro (U3 line, Herrengasse). The rooms are somewhat spartan and the reception is not manned 24 hours, but for the price it is a great value.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet - ask for a double bed even if you have booked a double room.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank General_Ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Back in 1986, as one of a group of 14 students from Linfield College, I spent a semester in Vienna. We lived for one month at the Benediktushaus and then had our classroom there for the remainder of the semester when living with host families.
In December 2010 I had the the pleasure of traveling to Vienna with my parents and some of their friends for a few days before a cruise on the Danube River. When I suggested staying at the Benekiktushaus, they checked it out and were all for it to please me and because of the very reasonable price in comparision to other first district hotels.
In 1986 we were expected to speak German to the staff as part of our immersion. By 2010 I have forgotten most of it! But no worries, the front desk staff speak and write excellent English. They even arranged for a private shuttle to meet us at the airport and transport us directly to the hotel. I believe my dad arranged this via email as our reservations were made directly with them through their website. They also held our bags as checkout was earlier than we able to leave for our cruise and arranged a shuttle to take us to the boats on the outskirts of Vienna. None of us brought a computer but saw other guests using theirs in the common areas.
I'm only giving them four "dots" because the decor of the rooms hasn't changed since 1986 and I though the color scheme was outdated then. The bathrooms, however, have been thoroughly renovated and are very modern and clean. Guests now will not know the joy of a sit down shower... The rooms are very large and plenty of space for even 3 people -- even if you live there for a month. Breakfast is great with plenty of options to choose. The elevator is still very small so frequently some of us took the stairs becase our group would not all fit and some needed it more. Very convenient to all the First District sites, the Ring and an UBahn station. Several grocery stores are nearby as well and lots of restaurants, etc. We happened to be there during Advent and with it all the Christmas markets, including one on the Freyung which made the area very festive and also convenient for getting a mug of Punsch or Gluwein.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CathiCloreFrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Old University Quarter
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#25 of 361 in Vienna
1,331 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#8 of 361 in Vienna
909 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#4 of 361 in Vienna
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Mercure Vienna First
Mercure Vienna First
#33 of 361 in Vienna
443 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 361 in Vienna
1,483 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#11 of 361 in Vienna
2,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benediktushaus Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benediktushaus Guest House

Address: Freyung 6a, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range: $110 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Benediktushaus Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Benediktushaus Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benediktushaus Guest House Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing