We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and worth the money.”
Review of Imlauer Vienna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Imlauer Vienna
Ranked #138 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice and worth the money.”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 days. Hotel and rooms are very clean well presented. Ignore the people moaning about the location, it's perfect and only a short 10min walk to the centre. WiFi internet was fine. Free PC internet access in lobby connected to printer. Bar closes at midnight but again prices and service were good. Didn't try the breakfast, plenty of places 2 min walk away. UBahn is 1 min on your right out the main door, although not once did I have to get my ticket out my pocket, so not sure how their system works. Oh well... I'll be staying here again next time I come from England for a Wiener Schnitzel at Figlmuller. :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrGund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beiwzd, Manager at Imlauer Vienna, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear value guest,
thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and with other travellers. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our guests and to obtain their perpective of the hotel, and one of the best ways for us to learn more about our hotel is through the eyes of those who have visited us.
Your support is greatly appreciated and we thank you for choosing the Hotel Imlauer Vienna.
We are indeed very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
Comments such as yours truly insipre all of us here to work harder every day and to try to exceed our guests´expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Imlauer Vienna in the very near future.
best regards
Daniel Zwieb
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    277
    69
    17
    19
See reviews for
73
303
18
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
delhi
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Just returned from Austria . Last 5 days were in Hotel Imlauer , Vienna. The hotel turned out better than expected.Except for the rookie who checked us in and insisted on a suite on the ground floor( we had reserved and paid for a room with balcony 1 month in advance) our stay was very comfortable. The room was larger than one can expect in most European hotels , great loo, free wifi, and a nice terrace to enjoy a drink in the pleasant evenings.But the cleaning definitely needs to be better. The one thing we missed was a restaurant in the hotel. The bar only had a snack menu with very few options.

Room Tip: Must take a room with balcony/terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rksd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beiwzd, Manager at Imlauer Vienna, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear value guest,
first of all I would like to thank you for your recent visit to Imlauer Hotel and for having taken the time to write feedback about your stay on TripAdvisor.
Your feedback with regards to our facilities and services is extremely important to us and allows us to continually monitor and improve our services.
I am sorry to hear about the difficulties you experienced with the overall service and I apologize most sincerely for the unfortunate incidents. Please be assured that we will review all your points to assess which improvements we can make in the future.
Rest assured that we have taken your comments seriously and are working hard for fast improvements.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
In the meanwhile, please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance you might need from our side.
best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We are just got back from 3 nights in this hotel . And we are very disappointed about their service . The hotel clean and look nice but far a way from the center ,so sometimes u need to change trains in order to get to your destination ,in addition the Internet was so slow or even totally off in our room and although that we have asked them several time to fix it they haven't done anything about it , or gave as options that were so low .

Room Tip: Look for another hotel ! but if u chose it , Ask for a room in the center and not in the back so you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lenIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beiwzd, Manager at Imlauer Vienna, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear value guest,
thank you very much for your comments.
We are very happy that do you had a nice stay at our hotel.
Our WIFI-connection is now brand new and works properly now.
I really do hope to welcome you back at any time.

Best regards
Daniel Zwieb
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is not a 4-star hotel by international standards. Here is why:

- room cleaning takes place in the afternoon!!! Even after requesting room cleaning to take place in the morning, the cleaning staff would still show up in the afternoon, sometimes as late as 4-5pm, when we would be back to the room. Every other hotel I've stayed at in the world would clean the rooms in the morning;

- cleaning was done very poorly, no dusting whatsoever. Complimentary bottles of water, coffee & tea were not replaced every day;

- staff at the front desk unhelpful and arrogant. Google.com was far more helpful than the gentlemen at the front desk;

- the room (junior suite) had three steps to go down to the bathroom. Very dangerous at night in the darkness. It also had a tall step into the balcony. The hotel should warn the customers that this type of room is not appropriate for the elderly;

- hotel requires a 50 euro deposit upon check-in for anything you might have from the mini-bar. Again, this was never ever required in any of the hundreds of hotels I've stayed at. Moreover, I was not warned of this policy upon booking the room. This policy is not on the hotel's website;

- if you like to watch TV, be aware that the hotel set limits on the TV volume. Some English channels were barely audible;

- the suite didn't have a tub. Only a shower. Strange for a 4-star hotel;

- AC was not cooling the room enough. I've had it set on the lowest temperature possible (>10C) with the highest fan setting, but it never went below 25C.

If you don't mind dust, heat and crappy customer service, then this hotel is not too bad. It's very quiet, the rooms are big, and it's relatively easy to get to.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Disappointment60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beiwzd, Manager at Imlauer Vienna, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear value guest,
thank you very much for choosing the Hotel Imlauer Vienna for your recent stay in Vienna.
Your honest comments are very well received and help us to measure our quality and service on a daily basis.
Your comments regarding our front desk team members and housekeeping team members have been discussed with the department heads and we are most grateful to you for having taken the time to bring this matter to our attention.
It is through constructive criticism such as yours that we are able to take corrective actions when necessary.
Commets like yours truly inspire us to work harder every day and to exceed our guest´s expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you soon again to our hotel.
best regards
Daniel Zwieb
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Even though it's outside the city center, this hotel was great. The metro is close by, free wifi, kettle, and lovely spacious room and bathroom. The beds were so comfortable. We were really impressed! Breakfast was too expensive (17 euro!) but there are options nearby. Overall, would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeadaCailin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The Imlauer, while not in the city centre, was still within easy walking distance to the centre and very close to a metro station - Vienna's metro system works wonderfully well, can get you to the other side of the city extremely easily and quickly.

Free wifi worked really well in my room. Didn't have the breakfast, just went for a walk in the morning and there are heaps of options around.

Bathroom was clean and modern, bed was comfortable. Price was really good - you don't need to pay more to be in the city centre when there are great options like this.

No complaints.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beiwzd, Manager at Imlauer Vienna, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear value guest,
Thank you also for having chosen the Hotel Imlauer Vienn for your recent stay in Vienna.
It makes us very proud to see that we were able to fulfill your expectations and you was satisfied with our services.
I really hope, that you will come back to our Hotel one more time in order to obtain of our good quality.
best regards
Daniel Zwieb
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Hotel rooms are very well appointed. Air conditioning, free wifi, TV, fridge and kettle are included. You can walk to the cathedral in 20 mins or turn left out of the hotel to catch the no 2 tram to Schwedenplatz and you are nearly there. From Schwedenplatz you can change to the no 1 tram to Lowengasse for the Hundertwasserhaus. Alternatively walk to Praterstem to get the no 0 tram or S1 train to the Belvedere. A choice of good inexpensive continental breakfasts are available at the bakery café on Taborstrasse across the road from the junction with Rotensterngasse and you can also pick up a lovely cake there to take away. For an excellent Spanish restaurant go down the unpromising looking road to the right of the ice cream parlour at Schwedensplas and El Pulpo is immediately on your left. A really good base for a visit to Vienna.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beiwzd, General Manager at Imlauer Vienna, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear value guest,
thank you very much for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor.
Thank you also for having chosen the Hotel Imlauer Vienna for your recent stay in Vienna.
It makes us very proud to see that we were able to fulfill your expectations and you was satisfied with our services.
I really hope, that you will come back to our Hotel one more time in order to obtain of our good quality.
best regards
Gerald Wlcek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Nestroy
Hotel Nestroy
#174 of 360 in Vienna
573 reviews
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Leopoldstadt
Novotel Wien City
Novotel Wien City
#129 of 360 in Vienna
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Mercure Wien City
Mercure Wien City
#134 of 360 in Vienna
981 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#31 of 360 in Vienna
1,458 reviews
Margareten
Holiday Inn Vienna City
Holiday Inn Vienna City
#61 of 360 in Vienna
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imlauer Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imlauer Vienna

Property: Imlauer Vienna
Address: Rotensterngasse 10-12, Vienna 1020, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#97 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#103 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#120 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Imlauer Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a peaceful part of the city, Hotel Imlauer Vienna makes a great base, with the Taborstr. and Nestroyplatz U-Bahn stations 5 minutes away. Guests can walk to the Prater amusement park, 10 minutes away, and ride the Riesenrad Ferris wheel which made an appearance in the movie The Third Man. Guests can pore over their guidebooks and plan the next day's sightseeing in the hotel's charming glass-covered courtyard. Other welcome amenities include a sauna and a small fitness center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Imlauer Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imlauer Vienna Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing