We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, a little bit away from the tourist area”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Imlauer Vienna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Imlauer Vienna
Ranked #143 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Oxford
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, a little bit away from the tourist area”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This hotel lives up to the excellent reviews we read online before choosing it. Recently refurbished, spotlessly clean, beautifully furnished and appointed. Beds comfortable. We benefitted from a free minibar for being "Expedia Elite" clients, which was a bonus we weren't expecting. We didn't have the breakfast (€17), but chose the cheaper option of different cafes instead. The bar area was very pleasant, and had special offers. We visited, but didn't use, the up-to-the minute gym/sauna area. It would have been nice to have a pool, or even a jacuzzi, but space is probably at a premium.
Staff on reception generally helpful.
Location - nearest UBahn Taborstraße, which is one stop from the Ring, and walkable into the city centre (10-15 mins).

Room Tip: Our room was above a courtyard, and one morning there were people chatting in there at about 5am. Wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imlauer, General Manager at Imlauer Vienna, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
I will forward your positive words to our employees, as this is the best motivation for the future.
Nice to hear that you liked our special arrangements as well as our Sauna and Fitness area which is brand new without any pool our Jacuzzi due to limited space.
Thank you very much for your great comment.
I hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,
Gerald Wlcek
General Manager
Hotels IMLAUER&Nestroy Wien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    269
    67
    17
    18
See reviews for
68
292
17
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Briarcliff Manor, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed at the Imlauer from May 25 to 29th, 2013. Our room was a junior suite, quite spacious with a terrace. The room was clean and comfortable, but not luxurious. It is very convienient to the subway station and about a 20 to 25 minute walk to the museum district. We didn't eat here but had a drink at the bar one night. The bar has the staples but very limited wine selection. There were three steps down to the bathroom in our room. We did not have a problem with this but it could be for for some people. The staff was courteous, professional and helpful. If you need a taxi they will call for one and it will be there in 3 minutes. There is no concierge so it's a good idea to do your homework and bring a communication devise. For example, We wanted to rent a car. The staff recommended the Orbitz site but could not help us with the reservation. The Internet in the hotel is spotty but luckily the people we were traveling with had an international phone plan and made the reservations by phone. Overall I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you use a hair conditioner bring it with you. The hotel supplies a shampoo/body gel and lotion bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imlauer, Assistant General Manager at Imlauer Vienna, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear value guest,
Thank you very much for reviewing our property.
I am glad to read such good things about our rooms and their furniture as well as the good location of our hotel. We do have different typed of Junior Suites – also with barrier-free access and without any stairs in the room for the convenience and the choice of our guests.
Thank you for your nice comment about our staff – usually we also do private car-hire-reservations for our guest and we do have a concierge service at our reception desk – I will now have a word with my team in order to avoid similar situations for the future.
I am sorry, that you experienced a lack of choice at our bar-wine-card, but we are currently renewing it and we will shortly have a new one with a great choice.
I hope to see you next time back again.

Best regards
Daniel Zwieb
Assistant General Manager
Hotels IMLAUER&Nestroy Wien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, MA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Imlauer hotel in Vienna. Good location and beautifully decorated room. We had several stops on our trip, each only a couple hours apart, but, in separate countries. We had some questions regarding taking the rental car out of country and just the logistics of what we had planned to do. The staff at the desk went far beyond what we would normally have expected, making phone calls and actually doing research to get answers for us. It was a good location and was a very comfortable home for us in Vienna. With all those pros, my only con was that breakfast (not included in our room rate) was pretty expensive, £20 per person, and didn't seem to be worth it to us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imlauer, General Manager at Imlauer Vienna, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear value guest,
Thank you very much for your very kind review.
I am glad to read through it with its worm and motivating words – I have already forwarded your feedback to our staff and they are very happy too.
Our buffet-breakfast is available for € 17,00 per person and per day and our guest do have a great choice of different hot and cold specialities.
I hope to see you back again the next time you visit Vienna.

Best regards
Gerald Wlcek
General Manager
Hotels IMLAUER&Nestroy Wien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Managed to get a special-deal price, and was therefore quite happy. Internet was rather slow. Breakfast too pricey, but other options (and shops) nearby. TV volume restriction was a bit too low. The twin-room was quiet, beds comfortable, and modern bathroom roomy and well lit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Jarisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imlauer, General Manager at Imlauer Vienna, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your positive comment.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
We are currently switching to another provider for our free WIFI internet system in order to get a better performance. Maybe you take advantage the next time you stay with us.
We hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,
Gerald Wlcek
General Manager
Hotels IMLAUER&Nestroy Wien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for the May bank holiday, which we spent having a long wknd in Vienna. Hotel was very nice, rooms were large, clean and seemed relatively recently renovated (new-ish and large bathroom also). Hotel has excellent transportation links to the underground and is centrally located, 15 min walking distance to the city centre - so very convenient for tourists spending a long wknd. It is also not far from the airport, our shuttle taxi (which we arranged for €60 return in the airport terminal at arrival) took about 30min to the airport with no traffic and 50 min with traffic.

Breakfast in the hotel seemed quite expensive at €17-20 per person, so we did not have it in the hotel on any day. There are several very good cafes nearby, which had great cofee and Austrian pastries, etc and are inexpensive (including a Der Mann cafe), so not having breakfast in the hotel was not an issue.

We booked the hotel via an Expedia offer, so was not particularly expensive, overall our stay was very good value; much better value than other 4 star hotels in Western Europe (for example in Italy or France).

Hotel staff were nice and helpful, the reception staff had quite good recommendations (we were also not allowed on one occassion to make a local call from the reception, which is probably fair but still a downer).

The hotel bar which we tried once on a Sunday evening was a complete disappointment. There was no barman on the day (staff shortage), hence no cocktails, draught beer or bar food available at all. Only thing that was on offer was bottled beer. Various other parties chose to leave and go elsewhere, we regretfully chose to stay. Probably that night was an exception but in those circumstances may have been better to close the bar altogether.

Would definitely recommend and look to visit again on our next trip to Vienna. Vienna is a beautiful and touristic city and this hotel is a great place to have as a base to enjoy the city.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GreatTraveler98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imlauer, General Manager at Imlauer Vienna, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear value guest,
Thank you so much for your kind review.
It’s a pleasure to hear, you liked your stay with us and it’s good to know that our guest love the situation of our hotel as well as the easy access from the airport/stations.
Our delicious breakfast buffet is available for only € 17,00 per person and per day and includes a great choice of specialities for the convenience of our guests.
I am sorry, that you experienced some problems with our bar staff, thank you for informing us and I have already had a conversation with the person in charge in order to avoid such situations for the future. Again, I am very sorry for the inconveniences you have experienced with this.
Thanks’ for recommending us to other guest and it would be a pleasure, having you back again soon.

Best regards from sunny Vienna
Gerald Wlcek
General Manager
Hotels IMLAUER&Nestroy Wien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in May 2013 and totally loved the place. I would definitely stay at the same place if I come to Vienna again.

Pros
– Wardrobe was big with enough equipment to comfortably arrange our clothes.
– Room was spacious, super clean with modern furnishings.
– Bathroom had warm floor, hair dryer and soap + shampoo.
– We asked for quiet room, and we received it. We didn't hear what was going on in other rooms.
– Close to metro and city center, we used metro only 2 times when we were heading to distant attractions. We don't mind walking, so several times we walked to/from city center. The weather was wonderful.
– They have wine, water and snacks at the mini bar in the room, which is quite reasonably priced. We had 2 tea cups, 2 wine glasses and a kettle at our room.
– 2 BILLA stores are nearby – good if you, like us, like to buy water/snacks, some local wines, etc.
– Friendly English-speaking reception, recommended us restaurants in the neighborhood and answered our questions 'how to get there - what to see there".
– I give 4 stars to sleep quality because we had different experience, all in one bed. I was totally fine and think the bed was comfortable. I did sleep well. My husband said it was uncomfortable and he woke up several times each night. He sleeps on his back, I like sleep on my sides :)
– Free Wi-Fi

Cons
– The only thing I didn't like was expensive breakfast. 17 Euros per person is too much in my opinion. But, on the other side, it stimulated us to explore more cafes in Vienna – which is a plus in the end.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TanyaZ182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imlauer, Geschäftsführer at Imlauer Vienna, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear value guest,
Thank you very much for your nice and very warm and motivating review here on tripadvisor.
Thank you for sharing your experiences with other guests.
It’s nice to hear, you had your best experiences with the furniture, amenities and standards of our guest-rooms – maybe you decide for the superior-room the next time you visit us – You will love it too.
I am happy to read your recommendations about shops/restaurants/locations – other guest will take advantage of this 
Thank you for your review about our staff – it’s a pleasure to hear, you were as happy with our service.
It was a pleasure, having you as our guests, and I hope you will return very soon.

Best regards
Gerald Wlcek
General Manager
Hotels IMLAUER&Nestroy Wien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Mississippi
Level Contributor
120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We just stayed at this hotel for four nights. Out room was in a sort of peculiar location on the second floor with a few twists and turns to get there, but it was very quiet. The room is compact, but the space is efficiently arranged. We had absolutely no problem with the Internet at any time.

It's convenient to the underground, but we were on a three week trip and I certainly wouldn't have wanted to drag two medium suitcases and two heavy carry-ons for that distance, even if it is all flat. Upon leaving Vienna, we took a cab to the airport for a flat rate of 35 euro. I wasn't crazy about the price, but I was less crazy about the idea of taking all that luggage to the underground closest to the Imlauer and then having to change subway lines to get the Cat train to the airport.

Hotel staff were very helpful. On the day we left I noticed a card in our room that said if we skipped a day of room cleaning, we'd get a 5 euro voucher for use in the bar. That might appeal to some potential guests.

It was hot part of the time we were in Vienna, and we were pleased that our room had air conditioning, even though the halls in the hotel did not. We did not visit the restaurant or bar, so I can't make any comments about that. I appreciated the convenience of an electric kettle with tea bags and instant coffee packets. We like to carry snacks and drinks with us when we head out for a day of sightseeing, and there are 2 Billa grocery stores near the hotel. I would definitely stay in this hotel again if we come back to Vienna.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank heartimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imlauer, General Manager at Imlauer Vienna, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear value guest,
Thank you very much for your detailed review.
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your vacation in Vienna and that you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your nice comments about our service and staff – they really appreciate your very warm and motivating words.
Our hotel is completely air-conditioned throughout all areas, however sometimes we experience higher temperatures in the lobby and bar area due to very hot weather, but we are currently working on it in order to get it cooler there as well.
Further, our environment-programme “help us make a difference for the environment” is indeed very popular and frequently asked by all our guests.
See you soon,

Best regards
Gerald Wlcek
General Manager
Hotels IMLAUER&Nestroy Wien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Nestroy
Hotel Nestroy
#170 of 362 in Vienna
559 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Mercure Wien City
Mercure Wien City
#135 of 362 in Vienna
948 reviews
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#27 of 362 in Vienna
1,388 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#220 of 362 in Vienna
222 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Novotel Wien City
Novotel Wien City
#118 of 362 in Vienna
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imlauer Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imlauer Vienna

Property: Imlauer Vienna
Address: Rotensterngasse 10-12, Vienna 1020, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#97 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#105 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#120 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Imlauer Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a peaceful part of the city, Hotel Imlauer Vienna makes a great base, with the Taborstr. and Nestroyplatz U-Bahn stations 5 minutes away. Guests can walk to the Prater amusement park, 10 minutes away, and ride the Riesenrad Ferris wheel which made an appearance in the movie The Third Man. Guests can pore over their guidebooks and plan the next day's sightseeing in the hotel's charming glass-covered courtyard. Other welcome amenities include a sauna and a small fitness center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, ACCOR, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Imlauer Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imlauer Vienna Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing