We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best - but a few closures”

Tiergarten Schoenbrunn - Zoo Vienna
Book In Advance
More Info
$20.54*
and up
Tiergarten Schönbrunn Entrance Ticket
Ranked #5 of 564 things to do in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Zoo Vienna, the oldest existing zoo in the world founded in 1752. Schonbrunn Zoo was voted Europe's best in 2008, 2010 and 2012. Schonbrunn Zoo is the perfect place for a journey into the fascinating world of the animal kingdom. Open year round, it combines the highlights of the natural world with an unparalleled history as the world's oldest and Europe's best zoo. It is part of Schonbrunn as a UNESCO World Cultural Heritage listed site and home to more than 700 species of animals. Marvel at the Giant pandas, tigers, orangutans, koalas and elephants, immerse yourself in the magic of the Amazon and feel the heat of a tropical rainforest in the heart of Europe. Moderated feeding sessions, guided tours and a trip aboard the panorama train turn a trip to the zoo into an unforgettable experience.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Hove, UK
Level Contributor
146 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Still the best - but a few closures”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Still to my mind the best zoo I have visited and the kids have always agreed. Animals look happy and have enough space to avoid people if they want to. The only small gripe was the Polar Bear enclosure was being refurbished, which was fair enough, but the vast indoor tropical greenhouse was as well, which did cut down a bit on the visiting time spent.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jools&alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,627
    1,448
    365
    91
    43
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very much recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

The Zoo is more of a park. Very peaceful and beautiful place. Here you can see a lot of animals, watch the feeding of different species. If you decide to visit this amazing place also visit the green house right outside the Zoo.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathrine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
187 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“one of the best zoos I have been to”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

there was a sign for a panda at the Schoenbrunn palace, which is why I went, and when I got there, I saw a picture fo ra polar bear, and that would have made it top notch. Alas, they are only building the polar bear enclosure now for its arrival in 2014. But, they do have 2 active pandas, koalas, penguins, wallabies, and many other animals, including a baby elephant when I was there. Good views of the city.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank SaminDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iasi, Iasi, Romania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Most likely the nicest Zoo I've ever seen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I didn't get to spend much time in this Zoo, it was close to closing time when I got there, but I still paid 15 Euros(they had discounts for students, but only if they're under 19,DARN!, unlike most other places where they have discounts for students under 26), because I really really wanted to see the Pandas. And it was worth it. Not only that they were very cute, but the zoo itself was amazing. In case you know the game Zoo Tycoon, I felt exactly like I was in the middle of it. Every animal had an environment that was specifically suited for him, they had space, they looked happy. I saw many animals I had never seen or heard of.Definitely worth seeing and a good learning experience!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Madelleine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best zoo in Europe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was the first time that I have seen animals really enjoyed to stay in a zoo and let us people looking at them, except tigers, they always sleep!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank vivian191199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tiergarten Schoenbrunn - Zoo Vienna also viewed

 

Been to Tiergarten Schoenbrunn - Zoo Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing