We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean Room, Good Location - Good Value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Admiral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Admiral
Ranked #231 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Central MA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Clean Room, Good Location - Good Value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

The Hotel Admiral is located just off the main shopping thoroughfare, close at-hand to the Museums Quartier and the U-Bahn stop there. The U-Bahn stop for Neubau is just a few minutes' walk up the hill (it services different lines). A 20-minute walk to the inner city, the Hofburg, etc..

I didn't find the staff to be either pleasant or rude - neutral is the way I'd describe them, and it was OK by me. This is an Old-World budget hotel, and it is fine for what it is. All I require is a clean room and bath, and working Wi-Fi -- the Hotel Admiral fit the bill.

The price was decent booked through an online consolidator and I was overall pleased with the value in terms of location, price and accommodations. The included breakfast is ordinary, but varied enough so that you can satisfy your morning hunger and need for a cup of coffee.

I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kennorthrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    88
    48
    22
    13
See reviews for
52
53
20
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moorebank NSW
Level Contributor
147 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

The: positive fore up: the rooms are clean and reasonably modern as well as spacious, the wifi had excellent strength throughout and worked very well and the hotel is in a great, fairly central location. One can walk to the major inner city sights within ~30 minutes ( St Stephen's, Hofburg, museums, opera etc.) Vienna's shopping mile (Mariahilferstrasse) is also just around the corner and so are underground stations for the U2.
On the downside, the reception staff can be rather acerbic, if not to say outright rude. I watched a staff member telling off a poor Asian guest for daring to ask for her room key: "Can't you see I am busy now- just wait!" in a tone that I have never heard used to address a paying hotel guest ever.
As other reviewers have pointed out, there is a nightclub across from the hotel, and rather wasted patrons leave at all times after midnight in a rather raucous fashion until ~ 5:30 a.m. - hard to have an uninterrupted night's sleep. Better ask for a room towards the back.
Breakfast, as expected for a room at budget price is rather basic, but adequate; it is however a completely loveless affair, with cheese/salami etc bread/bread rolls served in a very uncaring fashion, not a particularly nice start to a day.
All in all: a budget hotel with adequate standard for sight seeing,centrally located and reasonably priced for Vienna. You don't want to stick around in the hotel too long and risk being exposed to the wrath of a receptionist :-)

Room Tip: ask for a room not facing the street, you'll sleep better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amadeusm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, ON
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Attempted to check in early at the Hotel Admiral for 9/9/12 at about noon-ish. Was rudely advised by curly-haired lady that we could not be checked in until 2pm. I then had to ask if we could store our luggage there and looked at me as if I was asking her for the moon to be served on a silver platter and reluctantly showed us to the storage room.
Then, hoping to see some sights and look them up via wifi, I asked her for the password and she said that she couldn't give us the password to the wifi because we weren't checked in.
Then I asked for directions to the Opera House and she mumbled the directions to me expecting me to know where I was going. At that point, I decided to go ask somewhere else.
Seemed she did not want to be bothered at all with any questions ever.

The room was ok. Standard and clean. Comfortable. Except beware! There is a nightclub pretty much immediately across the street from the hotel so if it is a hot and humid night, you won't be able to have the windows open since the club will be blaring and the people outside will be smoking and chattering away. The hotel does not have AC and you have to ask for a fan.

The hotel was in a great location as it was between the major shopping area and the major sights.
The sign inside the hotel said that it would be 149 Euros per night. I definitely wouldn't be paying that if I had a choice...this hotel is most definitely not worth that much. Perhaps 49.

Room Tip: Get one in the back to avoid the nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vienna hotels

Cesena, Italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

The location is perfect to visit the city.
2 min from underground statio, right in the center of town.
Helpful staff, room was clean and ok. Nothing spectacular but ok for budget.
The breakfast is good

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fulvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

Unpleasant and condescending staff, unfamiliar with the concepts of good hotel management and customer service. On arrival they claimed to have no record of my reservation, no apology was offered and it fell to me to formulate a solution. The room was adequate however the decor was dated and somewhat ugly, as was the rest of the building. WiFi access is free (simply brave audience with the cretins at reception) albeit limited (YouTube videos do not load for one), and usage requires a signature which is all rather outrageous in the first world. The breakfast was adequate yet unimpressive. Certainly the worst accommodation of the ten on my trip. Avoid this drivel.

Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Pliquer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

This hotel made our stay in Vienna even more memorable. The woman at the front desk went above and beyond to let us know the sites and landmarks that were not to be missed. The rooms were above average for the price we paid, making the hotel an extremely good value. The hotel served breakfast which was about average. Parking was inexpensive and right next door. Overall, the hotel exceeded our expectations, was in a fantastic location, was clean and we would recommended any traveler to stay there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

We spent four nights at this hotel with a group of 13 American college students. The rooms for the students were triples and a quad, ours was a double. The rooms are clean, the bathrooms modern and clean. The breakfast, which is included, runs from 6-10 am with meat, cheese, rolls, yogurt, cereal, sometimes scrambled eggs or frankfurters.
This is the second time we have visited with a student group and both times have been an excellent experience. The staff is polite and helpful and the location is convenient to all locations in the historical center of Vienna.

Room Tip: Try to get a room not facing the main street. It is quite noisy during the night out on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier
Mariahilf
Hotel Terminus
Hotel Terminus
#251 of 367 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Carlton Opera
Hotel Carlton Opera
#177 of 367 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Hotel Drei Kronen
Hotel Drei Kronen
#171 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Neubau
K+K Hotel Maria Theresia
Neubau
Savoy Hotel Vienna
Savoy Hotel Vienna
#141 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Admiral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Admiral

Property: Hotel Admiral
Address: Karl-Schweighofer-Gasse 7, Vienna 1070, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #231 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Admiral 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Admiral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing