We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet hotel across street from subway/metro”
Review of Hotel Riede

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Riede
Ranked #17 of 113 Vienna B&B and Inns
Palm Desert, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice quiet hotel across street from subway/metro”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were on a family trip and arrived by train to Vienna (Wien Meidling) so we wanted a hotel close to station. This hotel is a great value with friendly staff and large well equipped rooms. Wifi wasn't so great and there was no air conditioning, which was a little uncomfortable because the weather was quite warm and humid. However, the good price, family run atmosphere, and size of the rooms make this a very attractive place to stay. The neighborhood around doesn't have much to offer but downtown is just minutes away by U-bahn (underground train) and the historic antique elevator with stairs going around it is quite nostalgic. Please plan to pay in cash because they do not accept credit cards or checks.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    32
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
41
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

a nice and quiet vienna pension. the owners were very kind offering us a bottle of their own-made wine. the apartment we took was clean but the wifi signal was absent. poor breakfast. good location near u-bahn station and supermarket.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Calin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had a very spacious triple with a good bathroom, great proximity to the metro, very helpful hosts but best of all--- the best breakfast in 6 weeks of traveling! There was a very large selection of fabulous bread, cheeses, meat, fruit, cereal, yogurt etc. The location is 50 feet from a metro stop and we found it fast and easy to get anywhere in Vienna. We highly recommend the Hotel Riede.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenECS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in late May. The room was large and very clean. Hotel service was "solid" - there to be counted on but not in your face. Breakfast was standard German/ European fare. Three floors, services by one of those old wood/ glass/ wrought iron small scale lifts - great. The location tends to grow on you. First up, there is a wondering where we are. But the Underground almost over the road allows very easy access to all parts of the city. Even the location of the hotel, while not being the majestic elegance of the old town, is interesting to walk around. A bit more down to earth. In a city where you can spend an awful lot of money very quickly, this seemed good value. We would stay there again, and happily recommend it to any others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is our third trip to Europe. We've stayed in many hotels and B&Bs in different countries. We stay at moderately priced places....not the real expensive and not the cheapest....but the ones rated high by Tripadvisor. This hotel (also a B&B) has raised the bar, for me, on how good a hotel can be. Our room was very clean....and cleaned everyday. Breakfast was buffet and as good as it gets. The location is excellent for travel in Vienna....the underground is across the street with an escalator and elevator. Buy your ticket(s) at the machine for one trip or many days. Laundromat is 5 min walk....great place after 7 days of travel with no clean clothes to wear. If I make it back to Vienna, I wouldn't look for any other place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kanakaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We rented an apartment for 3 people for 120 Euros per night. We had 2 largw bedrooms, one of which had a full size sofa. The rooms were immaculate and comfortable. The breakfast was included and was one of the best we have had in a long time. Location was terrific, with a subway stop and very large grocer across the street. The staff was very accommodating and helpful. We will definitely stay here on our next visit. To keep costs down the hotel does ot accept credit cards. This was not a major inconvenience as there is an ATM in the groxery store.

Room Tip: No pool. Third floor was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeadmileJacksonville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is a family operated small hotel across the street from the metro stop. It offers a delicious breakfast (a selection of meats, breads, cheeses, fruits, vegetables, cereals, yogurt, juices, baked goods, hot drinks) and a large, clean, comfortable room for a reasonable price. The owner speaks excellent English, which was most helpful, since our knowledge of German language is minimal. He supplied us with maps and directions and patiently answered our questions.
We are first time visitors to Austria, and staying at Pension Riede made a huge difference in the speed and ease with which we adjusted and got around in Vienna. It was an easy "home base" from where we could quickly get to any place in Vienna as well as our day trip to Baden. There are stores ATMs and a laundromat within walking distance.
We would both love to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizOHonolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#25 of 360 in Vienna
916 reviews
Hotel Schani Wien
#36 of 360 in Vienna
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Fabrik
#10 of 113 in Vienna
180 reviews
Mariahilf
Time Out City Hotel Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riede? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riede

Property: Hotel Riede
Address: Niederhofstrasse 18, Vienna 1120, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riede 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect location of our Art-Deco hotel makes sightseeing easy. You will be situated in the heart of the City and only minutes away by Underground from Schoenbrunn Castle and our famed opera house and musical- theaters.Our comfortable and well-equipped rooms and apartments all have private baths and come with satellite-TV, mini-bar and direct-line dialing telephone service.A sumptuous, full breakfast is served in our cozy dining room by our friendly and courteous staff. A parking garage is also available to our guests upon request.During your stay you will be looked after by our family, who will do their utmost to make your stay in Vienna as memorably enjoyable as possible.The Riede Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Riede reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing