We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid and reliable”
Review of Hotel Riede

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Riede
Ranked #15 of 110 Vienna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Solid and reliable”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in late May. The room was large and very clean. Hotel service was "solid" - there to be counted on but not in your face. Breakfast was standard German/ European fare. Three floors, services by one of those old wood/ glass/ wrought iron small scale lifts - great. The location tends to grow on you. First up, there is a wondering where we are. But the Underground almost over the road allows very easy access to all parts of the city. Even the location of the hotel, while not being the majestic elegance of the old town, is interesting to walk around. A bit more down to earth. In a city where you can spend an awful lot of money very quickly, this seemed good value. We would stay there again, and happily recommend it to any others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    32
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
41
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is our third trip to Europe. We've stayed in many hotels and B&Bs in different countries. We stay at moderately priced places....not the real expensive and not the cheapest....but the ones rated high by Tripadvisor. This hotel (also a B&B) has raised the bar, for me, on how good a hotel can be. Our room was very clean....and cleaned everyday. Breakfast was buffet and as good as it gets. The location is excellent for travel in Vienna....the underground is across the street with an escalator and elevator. Buy your ticket(s) at the machine for one trip or many days. Laundromat is 5 min walk....great place after 7 days of travel with no clean clothes to wear. If I make it back to Vienna, I wouldn't look for any other place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kanakaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville
Level Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We rented an apartment for 3 people for 120 Euros per night. We had 2 largw bedrooms, one of which had a full size sofa. The rooms were immaculate and comfortable. The breakfast was included and was one of the best we have had in a long time. Location was terrific, with a subway stop and very large grocer across the street. The staff was very accommodating and helpful. We will definitely stay here on our next visit. To keep costs down the hotel does ot accept credit cards. This was not a major inconvenience as there is an ATM in the groxery store.

Room Tip: No pool. Third floor was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeadmileJacksonville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is a family operated small hotel across the street from the metro stop. It offers a delicious breakfast (a selection of meats, breads, cheeses, fruits, vegetables, cereals, yogurt, juices, baked goods, hot drinks) and a large, clean, comfortable room for a reasonable price. The owner speaks excellent English, which was most helpful, since our knowledge of German language is minimal. He supplied us with maps and directions and patiently answered our questions.
We are first time visitors to Austria, and staying at Pension Riede made a huge difference in the speed and ease with which we adjusted and got around in Vienna. It was an easy "home base" from where we could quickly get to any place in Vienna as well as our day trip to Baden. There are stores ATMs and a laundromat within walking distance.
We would both love to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizOHonolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orbe Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Very friendly reception from the owners of the hotel. The car park is difficult to find but is close to the hotel and has a safe entrance. The hotel is very clean, well situated at 50m from the Metro and there is little trafic in the streets around. The breakfast is good. At the end of the stay the owner of the hotel gave us a nice present, a bottle of wine of his fathers vineyard.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann_Danny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We were delighted with our stay at Pension Riede. The hotel is a ten minute walk from Schonbrunn, and there's a Ubahn station across the street that can have you downtown in a few minutes. The room was very large, very comfortable, and immaculate: high ceilings, wonderful bed, beautiful bathroom. Breakfast was just superb, as were our hosts. They were able to arrange secure parking for us nearby, so we were able to park the car & then just forget about it for our entire stay. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Vienna-- just superb.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed @ the Hotel Riede in March-April 2013. We were in room 38, an apartment with 2 bedrooms and a toilet & shower in the apartment, which was nice. The toilet was in a room by itself, and the sink and shower were in another room. A hall connected the 2 bedrooms. The hotel is in a quiet area of Vienna (at least it was at Eastertime), and the Ubahn station is practically across the street. The windows had metal blinds which we could lower at night & raise in the morning, which provided a nice dark room to sleep in.
Be aware that you have to walk COMPLETELY through the breakfast room to reach the front desk (reception) of the hotel. I had a hard time locating it at first, being jet-lagged & uncertain of the signs in German.
The staff at the hotel were so helpful, both before we arrived in Vienna as well as during our stay.
The only problem I encountered was that the wifi was a bit undependable. It worked fairly well outside the breakfast room on the ground floor, but it was unpredictable in our apartment. I got better reception outside in the (unheated) hall. Not a huge deal for alot of travelers, but worth a mention.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Renaissance Wien Hotel
#74 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
Mariahilf
K&T Boardinghouse
K&T Boardinghouse
#2 of 110 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Fabrik
#9 of 110 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Mariahilf
Pension Kraml
Pension Kraml
#8 of 110 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riede? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riede

Property: Hotel Riede
Address: Niederhofstrasse 18, Vienna 1120, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riede 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect location of our Art-Deco hotel makes sightseeing easy. You will be situated in the heart of the City and only minutes away by Underground from Schoenbrunn Castle and our famed opera house and musical- theaters.Our comfortable and well-equipped rooms and apartments all have private baths and come with satellite-TV, mini-bar and direct-line dialing telephone service.A sumptuous, full breakfast is served in our cozy dining room by our friendly and courteous staff. A parking garage is also available to our guests upon request.During your stay you will be looked after by our family, who will do their utmost to make your stay in Vienna as memorably enjoyable as possible.The Riede Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Riede reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing