We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful service & rude staff”
Review of Adagio Vienna City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adagio Vienna City
Ranked #109 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Awful service & rude staff”
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

How this place has such good reviews on here makes me suspicious, whilst staying in the hotel almost every guest I met or overheard was complaining - mainly on deaf ears. I've never came across such rude staff in the tourism industry, anything you said to the reception was like an effort followed by huffs and puffs or oh I can't do that.

The bedroom was small, with fairly adequate basic facilities however the shower had not been cleaned and the water wouldn't drain away, after numerous times of asking they finally sorted it out.

They switch the automatic doors off so early you must always take your room key with you, I came back to find the door locked even at 7pm!!! Ridiculous, nobody was answering the door bell! As for €13 for breakfast ha that's just a joke!

Do yourself a favour and don't stay here, it's over priced, basic, unfriendly staff who couldn't care less and there are better options at proper hotels!

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonjaHolzhauer, Geschäftsführer at Adagio Vienna City, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear foxybabee,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion about your stay in the Adagio Wien Zentrum.

We are sorry that it did not meet your expectations, and we would like to offer you a sincere apology. As you noticed by reading the reviews from our hotel, this is not the kind of service we aim to offer to our guests. Especially that you did not feel welcome in our aparthotel and that the reception did not help you with your request is of cause a situation which we need to work on. We made immediately a meeting with our staff und we made a training plan to make sure that this situation will not happen again to a guest of our hotel.

We like to thank you regarding the advice that there is no information at the door, that you need to use our key card in the evening to open the door. We have written today a message which is now visible at the door.

Your satisfaction is important to us, so we would like to make up for your unpleasant
stay. Please be so kind a have a look at your personal message as well.
It would be a real pleasure for us to welcome you again at the Adagio Wien Zentrum.

Yours faithfully,

Sonja Holzhauer
General Manager
Adagio Wien Zentrum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    325
    101
    25
    19
See reviews for
168
352
38
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

For Adagio i can not tell it is bad. But if you visit Vienna not for business, i will not recommend. The hotel is without any soul. But it is near of center, clean etc. But before check in ask for street view. The garden view is not good. You will only see building walls.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Lovely location close to the historic centre, trams, and train. Good amenities in the hotel. Everything was clean and tidy and the kitchenette was most welcome with a small supermarket just down the road. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The only thing that went wrong was a small issue with the shower in our room. Thoroughly enjoyed the say.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RGandLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja H, Geschäftsführer at Adagio Vienna City, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your nice comment about your stay.
We are glad to see that you had a pleasant stay.
For the inconvenience which we may have caused regarding the shower we feel very sorry.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Best regards from Vienna,

Sonja Holzhauer
General Manager
Adagio Wien City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

New hotel with clean and spacious rooms. We chose a room with a kitchenette which was good to make breakfast and a snack. Laundry is coin operated and quite expensive . Wi if only works in foyer. About a 10 minute walk to centre of city. Good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mollySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonjaHolzhauer, Geschäftsführer at Adagio Vienna City, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for your review about your recent visit at Adagio Wien Zentrum.
Comments such yours are exremely important to us and allow us to continually monitor and improve our services. Thank you also for your advice concerning the laundry facilities.
We are delghted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel soon and that your next stay will be just as enjoyable as your last.

Warm regards

Sonja Holzhauer
General Manager
Adagio Wien Zentrum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This room had excellent value, was beautiful and clean, and the proximity to the central part of Vienna and the U-bahn was fantastic. The kitchen was fully stocked with all items needed to cook. There was a large fridge and microwave. The bed was a murphy bed, which could be put away. There was a radio and desk.

The bathroom was gorgeous. Small, but clean and very modern! We will gladly stay here again if we go to Vienna in the future.

If you ask the people in the lobby for advice on where to eat, party, etc. they are likely to direct you to mainstream tourist traps. Feel free to contact me for advice on places to eat and dance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank princess_twenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonjaHolzhauer, Geschäftsführer at Adagio Vienna City, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay on TripAdvisor and thank you for having chosen Adagio Wien Zentrum.
We are very delighted to read that we were able to fulfill all your expectations.
To satisfy our guests with a personal and decent service is our daily goal.

We truly hope to welcome you back at our hotel at any future occasions you might have.

Best regards from Vienna,

Sonja Holzhauer
Gerneral Manager
Adagio Wien Zentrum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This hotel resides in a good location because there are two tram stations (#1 and 2) very close to it. It is not exactly in the center, so if you don't want to use and pay for trams you should look elsewhere.

I have mixed feelings about this hotel. First, I used a weekly pass to trams and found the location very convenient. Rooms are also nice and clean, although they are very much small. It has nice amenities like a fridge, oven, microwave and a dishwasher. However, room cleaning is not free (including towels) if you stay between 4 to 7 days. For more than 7, they provide a weekly cleaning service while for less than 4 they say it is included in price. I found this uncomfortable.

Breakfast, on the other hand, was a joke. Don't bother to pay for it and eat outside. Staff could speak English with no problems but they were not as polite and helpful as one would expect. Overall, I would not recommend this hotel as it was more expensive than what it actually offers.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blckeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja H, Geschäftsführer at Adagio Vienna City, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much that you took the time to give us a feedback about your last stay.

We are happy to see that you enjoyed the location of our hotel and you apreciated equipment of our kitchen. You are right about the cleaning procedure. If you are staying longer than 3 nights in our hotel, we offer cheeper room rates and the cleaning in once in a week. If you wish to have extra cleaning service, of cause you can book it at the reception for a small extra charge. We feel very sorry, if we missed to offer you this at the reception.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for your negative breakfast experience. We addressed each point with our team and action is being taken where appropriate.

We appreciate your sharing your opinion, and we would be more than happy to get the chance to welcome you again at our hotel and to proof our quality of service.

Sincerely,

Sonja Holzhauer
General Manager
Adagio Wien Zentrum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Clean and comfortable. Staff helpful and even printed stuff of for us as we only had ipad with us.The underground is only a 5 min walk away and easy to use. We used our bikes to get around and viewed many of the attractions which was great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdagioWien, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Adagio Vienna City, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you so much for taking the time to share your opinion about our Aparthotel Adagio Wien Zentrum with us.

I'm delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay in Vienna in our Aparthotel
Whenver you come back to Vienan I hope to welcome you again in our Aparthotel.
We are looking foward to it.

Best regards
Isabella Gasselich
Assistant to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Novotel Wien City
Novotel Wien City
#124 of 360 in Vienna
1,377 reviews
Inner City
Starlight Suiten Hotel Salzgries
Inner City
Best Western Hotel Pension Arenberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Mercure Wien City
Mercure Wien City
#135 of 360 in Vienna
967 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Capricorno
Hotel Capricorno
#20 of 360 in Vienna
489 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#24 of 360 in Vienna
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adagio Vienna City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adagio Vienna City

Property: Adagio Vienna City
Address: Uraniastrasse 2, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#82 Family Hotel in Vienna
#96 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Adagio Vienna City 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adagio City Vienna is located in the heart of Vienna, right next to Julius-Raab-Platz and in close proximity to the ring road and the historical city center. We offer 124 fully equipped rooms, from studios for 2 people to 2-room apartments for 4 people. Located in the "Stubenviertel", with its unique facades, narrow alleys and numerous courtyards, it is the ideal base for a business trip or a long, relaxing weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adagio Vienna City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adagio Wien Zentrum Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing