We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great simple menu”
Review of Kaffee Alt Wien

Kaffee Alt Wien
Ranked #331 of 4,158 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Austrian, Bar, Cafe, Central European, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Old University Quarter
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great simple menu”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Went there for a late lunch and maybe we were a bit lucky that there were not many people. So we didn't really face the problem of smokers inside the place. The place is rather dark though. But worry not, they serve good food. The menu was very simple. Someone told us to try out their goulash, and we did. I'm not sure whether it's a Viennese thing or what, but we've tried several goulash in Vienna and every one of them is different. One thing for sure, the goulash here is one of my favourite. It has big chunks of beef. Makes it look like smothered pieces of steak. Very tasty. We were also given buns for the side. I don't think I was starving that time, but the buns were good! So good that we had to order more of them.

Very nice food, friendly owner. The only thing that can be improved is the atmosphere. A good place to eat

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim_CZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    117
    39
    22
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not a tourist trap”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Our bike tour guide recommended this spot to us and we went here twice for the goulash and schnitzel and drinks. The front can get smokey so it's good to get a seat by the open windows if you're a non-smoker (or sit in the back section). Love the posters and furniture, no frills, just a great spot to hang and pass the time. Schnitzel with potato salad was about 9 Euro but it was the best schnitzel we had during our time in Germany and Austria, not over-breaded, and perfectly paired with the potato salad. Wines well-priced by the glass and beer, too. You will see down the street a line of tourists waiting to get into Figlmueller and feel so glad that you didn't go there, but instead relaxed among locals at Alt Wien.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoradoRocks915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best coffee in town”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were looking for a place to eat during roaming around the city with two kids. This was a nice looking place so we went inside. The place looks old and dirty but somehow friendly at the same time. The food was tasty and I drank here the best coffee that I had in many years! Next time I am coming to Vienna, this will be the first place I am going to visit!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank miketkf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5,503 reviews
1,750 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11,901 helpful votes
“Characteristic stop, good coffee!”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stopped at the Kaffe Alt Wien last year and enjoyed a cup of the dark stuff here. Kaffee Alt Wien is unique and characteristic coffee shop - seems like something out of old movie, making a fun activity for those looking for something different to the trove of chic and classic konditorei and cafes spread around the city center.

There is a Kaffee Alt Wien branch near the Nascht Market as well, we bought a bag of ground coffee from here during our trip last year, enjoyed it for a couple months after returning home. Unfortunately, didn't have enough luggage space to bring home another bag this year but would have certainty bought again. Maybe next year!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“my favourite place”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

maybe i'm being biased, but this is hands down my favourite cafe in vienna. it's old, it's dirty, it's grimy. it's a perfect reflection of viennese character. the walls are plastered with theater, exhibition and concert posters. after the second world war, when the owners returned to their cafe, it was the only building in the street where the windows were still intact.
the gulasch is one of the best in the city. the drinks are still fairly cheap for the first district. coffee and cakes are also very good.
more of a nighttime cafe than for during the day.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank julu2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaffee Alt Wien also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Kaffee Alt Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing