We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ofal Ofal Good”
Review of Gasthaus Stern

Gasthaus Stern
Ranked #142 of 4,757 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $31
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Simmering
Description: the Stern is closed just 3 days a Year, 24th December, 31st December and 1st January
Reviewed July 6, 2016

A Great Local Find for those of us who like nose to tale dinning. I started off with the steak tare tare which was clean and flavorful, some of the best that I have tasted. And for my main, the deep fried calf brains. I know, I know, most people says it sounds gross, so if it was called cream of veal it would be extinct over night. One of the few restaurants that serve it year round. I could eat it every day. Sweet, creamy and with a great outside breading. Do not miss this one folks, well worth the trip.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank GerardL298
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 379 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2016

We came back 2 years later to this same restaurant traveling with our students. This place is even better than two years ago. Personally I went back for dinner all three nights we spend in Vienna. Unlike two years ago, if you're going in large groups you must make a reservation. My friends are blaming me for giving such a glowing review two years ago! But trust me, it's worth it! This time the special was wild boar either minced in very large patties or steaks. It was amazingly good! I also had cordon bleu, trust me you must try it. Even their soups are good! Their red beer is very tasty and their schnapps are definitely among the best ones I ever had in Austria. Among other things, their prices are excellent compared other dining experiences in Austria. Service is impeccable, their waiters are extremely nice and are extremely helpful even if you don't speak german.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank js2952
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2016 via mobile

We ordered a Bio Schnitzel and it came with salted potatoes as well as a fitting salad. It's a cozy traditional Restaurant with very reasonable prices! Reachable with the city train, station "Braunhubergasse". It was a bit annoying that the waiter took very long with bringing the bill but nevertheless the food overtrumped everything.

Date of visit: April 2016
3  Thank aebmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2016

This was our second and final restaurant in Vienna, a very nice unpretentious restaurant with a comprehensive menu serving a good range of Viennese dishes

The staff were excellent and our waiter was extremely helpful, discussing the dishes and pointing out those that were typically local

It’s obviously a local restaurant used by the locals – there were a number there when we were there – it’s not luxurious but still very nice

We started with Viennese Potato Soup and Small Beef Tartar, followed by Boiled Beef and Roasted calf’s brain served with eggs (they have an amazing offal menu) and finishing with chocolate cake & pancakes & cranberry jelly

The bill including tip came to 70 euro’s

If we are in Vienna again we will certainly go there again – it would take many visits to work your way through this excellent menu !

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Jclynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2016 via mobile

Typical austrian food in a classy way and very friendly staff, there are lots of old local people, because they know where is good traditional food :) Try it out if you are in this area of Vienna!

Date of visit: April 2016
2  Thank PokerPro_cc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gasthaus Stern also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Gasthaus Stern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.