We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent view and view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Settimo Cielo

Settimo Cielo
Ranked #629 of 4,104 Restaurants in Vienna
Price range: $20 - $52
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, European, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Inner City
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent view and view!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We really enjoyed lounging in this restaurant with an impressive view of the St. Stephen's Cathedral. The restaurant is at the top of the Hotel Royal, with nice staff and atmosphere. It could be a bit pricey but it was ok as we wanted to be there because of the view. Highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank S1m8ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Settimo Cielo, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest S1m8ne,

thank you for your positive review.
It is a pleasure for us that you enjoyed your visit at our Ristorante Settimo Cielo.
We always try to do our best to exceed our guests´ expectations and are happy each time we manage.
Hope to see you soon again

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    46
    20
    8
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
509 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“with a view over vienna”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

a real nice restaurant with italian touch and flair, situated across the stephans dom on 7th floor, it will guarantee you a bit of quietness and a lovely view over the roofs of the historic center of vienna. the kitchen is mediterrean with a touch to the nouvell cuisine, but absolutely adorable ! kind and attentive service!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank nonatop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Settimo Cielo, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank your very much for your nice feedback! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit at Ristorante Settimo Cielo and you liked the location, the food and our staff.

Thank you again. Looking forward to welcome you soon again.

Your Settimo Cielo team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
217 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Nice place to be”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

As in many other cases it is the property's location which compensates potential missteps of the team ! It is located close to the St Stephan's dome and in the vicinity of the headquarters of the former Imperial Navy Command [would you believe that Austria had that ?]
We got first a spicy soup and than some fishes [I had sole ] . My business partners and myself found the food well done and tasty.
We got a good Gruener Veltliner wine.
The service has been mediocre but the atmosphere and the grate view saved the evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cetatzeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Settimo Cielo, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Radu C!
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your visit of our Ristorante Settimo Cielo. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your food and our wine. We would like to excuse the mediocre service that you mentioned will talk to our service team to make sure that they will show you next time that they can match the view!
We really hope you will give us the chance to let us prove!
Best regards your Kremslehner family and the Settimo Cielo team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
171 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A Bit of Heaven”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I was part of a large business group taking over this central-Vienna Italian restaurant for an evening dinner, but the real enjoyment of the cleverly-named Settimo Cielo, a glass box on the top of the Graben Hotel next to and looking across the skyline and up at the cathedral, would be for a close and intimate lunch or dinner at the isolated tables for two on the narrow outdoor balcony.
A sunset reservation would be recommended -- the light is wonderful, and the city's many churches fill the air with the sound of bells.
Our set menu probably provided a decent sampler -- salmon tartare or salads to start, beef filet or turbot as main course, chocolate souffles or fruit tartes for dessert. Both a pinot grigio and a tuscan red were tasty and appropriate.
Service was well-handled, no small challenge in a space that is comfortable for diners but probably tight for servers.
And pricey, no doubt -- those looking to avoid sticker shock should be advised.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Settimo Cielo, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest Jim P,

we are pleased to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at our Ristorante Settimo Cielo, with its marvellous view over Vienna’s roof tops.

In fact it is really a magic atmosphere during a candle light Dinner with the light of the St. Stephens´s Cathedra shining into the restaurant and all the city lights in the evening, …

Thank you for sharing your nice impressions with the readers of TripAdvisor!

Looking forward to welcoming you soon again in our Ristorante Settimo Cielo,

best regards

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A romantic restaurant with very good food”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Located in the very hearth of Vienna, this Italian restaurant is located at the top floor of an old building. You will find a nice unique room, with not very numerous tables (and this is good, although it is better to book during week-ends and summer season: just use their website) all with candle lights, and the roof made of glass showing you the stars (or rain/snow, but it is also nice). From the very large side windows you can look to the city and behind the bar there is a fantastic view of the high part of the Vienna Stephan Cathedral. The food is very good and very well presented; we enjoyed the "Candle light dinner for two", a very nice experience if you are travelling with your beloved companion. Music is present but very low (good!) and tables are far away from each others (very, very good!). The gentle staff speaks German, Italian and English. Last but not least, it is not very expensive taking into consideration the quality of the food, the elegant environment and the downtown location. The only very expensive item is wine, so be prepared or drink just a couple of glasses as we did (so you can order a 1 litre bottle, or half a litre, or just one glass. That is fine!). In other words, this is an elegant restaurant but the price you pay is worth of.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alessandro T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Settimo Cielo, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest Alessandro T.,

thank you very much for taking the time to write a review at TripAdvisor!

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at our Ristorante Settimo Cielo and appreciate the compliments about our food and service provided by our staff.

The best compliment we can get is that our guests tell everyone about our food and return to the restaurant again.

So, thank you again and looking forwards to welcoming you soon again at our Ristorante Settimo Cielo, we remain

sincerely yours

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Settimo Cielo also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Settimo Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing