We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice local braueri”
Review of Salm Braeu

Salm Braeu
Ranked #48 of 4,193 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $28
Cuisines: Austrian, Gastropub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome in the amazing world of on the premises brewed delicious beers, brewed according old receipies,the love for homestyle cuisine and on the premises destilled brands, made from our beers.Welcome at the most historical site with an 450 years history. Welcome at Salm Braeu of the Welledits-Family.Since June 2013 Salm Bräu is 100% smoke free indoors !
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
302 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice local braueri”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We drop in just for bier, which was their own (surprise!). Place was almost for eaters, but there were a small bar in back of restaurant. We didn't eat but dishes looked great.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarmo_Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,145
    1,482
    363
    112
    87
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Excellent food in very good prices. Didn't get the chance to drink beer cause I was driving but I got good feedbacks for them from the rest of the company I was with. The atmosphere and the decoration of the space was superb. The waiters need to be more friendly and engaging.

Helpful?
Thank Epsilon_GR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great restaurant & brewery”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Ribs were delicious & service was great. Beer was also pretty good. It can get pretty crowded so go off hours or on off days.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfville, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Es ist wunderbar, What an amazing place.”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had read some great reviews on trip advisor and decided to check it out. We were very glad we did.
The atmosphere is fantastic and as it was a lovely summer evening we ate outside in the courtyard.
This place is hopping and we were seated at a communal picnic table which was nice, as we had a chance to sit with people we may never otherwise have had the chance to meet.
The menu provided many great choices most very traditional. I had the ribs which were amazing and my wife had the roast pork and dumpling which she also raved about.
As this is also a brewery we both chose to go with beer (DERRR) We appreciate nice beers and both our selections were delicious.

Next time we are back in Wien we will definitely be visiting.

Vielen Danke.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrancescaEdward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Spareribs or stelzer + excellent house beer”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

It's a great place to go with a big group of friends to have a good food, beer and loud chats. They do the best stelzer in Vienna. Spareribs are also delicious, but too spicy for my taste.
And if you are fan of unusual drinks this place also offers you opportunity to try senf beer. ;-))

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zhenya82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salm Braeu also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Salm Braeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing