We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Salm Braeu

Salm Braeu
Ranked #51 of 4,308 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Austrian, Gastropub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome in the amazing world of on the premises brewed delicious beers, brewed according old receipies,the love for homestyle cuisine and on the premises destilled brands, made from our beers.Welcome at the most historical site with an 450 years history. Welcome at Salm Braeu of the Welledits-Family.Since June 2013 Salm Bräu is 100% smoke free indoors !
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Salm Brau is a picturesque Austrian restaurant and is located in Rennweg Straße 8 only 200 m from Lindner Hotel.
The restaurant is open 11:00-24:00 and is always full. At the time we were there, we found it impossible to find a table on the terrace even if we went for 3 days a few times a day through its front entrance. Finally we have decided to see how it works and we decided to stay inside. There's even more beautiful area inside and banks have backrest (from simple outside banks) and open doors and windows make the atmosphere to be pleasant. It seems that the service went quickly inside.
The restaurant has an interesting menu based mainly on meat, especially pork, which is cooked in various traditional ways and matched with inspired garnishes with mushrooms, oven made cabbage more or less identifiable sauces and various vegetables.
The own production of beer is excellent and offered in various types (including a kind of spicy beer, but no tasted yet). Beer is served in containers of various sizes depending on the consumer's thirst and capacity.
Meals are surprisingly large and the prices are lower than other restaurants located in the downtown area.
There's always a special offer of the day, and some offer differentiated on weekdays ( as I understood).
The waiters are very friendly and the reaction of the chef is more than prompt.
I can only wish you good appetite if you get there!

The 3 servings (from the pictures) along with 2 beers and 1 juice and 2 shots of tequila have cost 51 euros.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank marian1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,404)
There are newer reviews for Salm Braeu
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,204 - 1,208 of 4,404 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

We went and had food here twice, as it was just around the corner and served till late. The beer (which is brewed on location) is very nice and a good variety to choose from.
The food is less than average though. The second time I had the Goulasch and it was inedibble. It had no flavour whatsoever. My partners food was OK.
Me, a Bavarian (living in the UK) knows how these dishes should taste like (Austrian and Bavarian food is very similar/identical) and was disappointed that the food wasn't a better standard.
The location is fun - the beer is great - but work on the food (I guess tourists don't really taste the difference between good Austrian/Bavarian dishes and just average).
Sercvice was OK - very busy all the time outside and if you don't want to share a table with strangers, then don't go - you will be seated next to others, if no other table available :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert W, Inhaber at Salm Braeu, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Guest, with regret we have to learn, that you disliked our Gulash. This is surprising, because we don't have any reports about a complain. Especially our Gulash requires a special way of cooking and we doubt, that in Bavaria you use this identical way of preparatio, there are some similarities in terms of foodie Bavaria and Austria, however, the differences are significant. We did not have any other complains around the date of your visit.

Based on these known facts it is highly unfair to claim, we would not mind about the food because of our tourists, moreover, such assumptions are without any base.

We are sorry not have been able to satisfy you, maybe you came with wrong expections...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Very busy but excellent food and service if you like your fare traditional. Good value and open till late.

Thank NewcastleNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is one of my beloved places in Vienna!
Since I visited it for the first time, I try to visit it each time I arrive to Vienna.
Fantastic beer, excellent local kitchen and fancy style - everything is perfect!
Beef ribs are marvelous, schnitzel is thin and crispy and the beer is cold and very tasty!

Great place to rejuvenate after long-distance walk around the Belveder.

Have a try on your own and you will see!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mopbl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The restaurant was very busy when we arrived at around 8pm which we took as a positive sign. We ordered a couple of local beers that they can provide in glasses up to 1litre! This was nice and novel, if a bit heavy!

This was our first time tasting Austrian food so we did not know what to expect. The schnitzel was fine and sauerkraut was okay also. But not particularly flavoursome. Also we ordered another dish with a mixture of meats: two types of sausage plus slices of beef and pork. The cuts were not particularly high quality, quite fatty, served with potato dumplings, which were nice. The food was okay, however, if you are looking for good value I would not recommend, as average price of main is over 10 euros.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank eva20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert W, Inhaber at Salm Braeu, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear Guest, well, with regret we have to learn, that you have not been properly prepeared for your trip to Vienna, Austrian cuisine is more on the heavy side and the majority of our internationa guests like this, sorry to hear, you did not.
Very difficult to understand is your commend about our price value....

we are sorry, that you have choosen the wrong place to go...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salm Braeu also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Salm Braeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing