We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good Wienerschnitzel!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Salm Braeu

Salm Braeu
Ranked #41 of 4,106 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $27
Cuisines: Austrian, Bar, European, Central European, Brew Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome in the amazing world of on the premises brewed delicious beers, brewed according old receipies,the love for homestyle cuisine and on the premises destilled brands, made from our beers.Welcome at the most historical site with an 450 years history. Welcome at Salm Braeu of the Welledits-Family.Since June 2013 Salm Bräu is 100% smoke free indoors !
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very good Wienerschnitzel!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

What else? We went there in the evening, service was fast, reasonnably friendly. Wienerschnitzel was excellent!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Antanarive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,039 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,075
    1,429
    342
    109
    84
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great beer and good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

At the end of Belvedre Gardens, it looks crowded but we had no trouble getting a table for 4 in a nonsmoking area. It was a short walk from our hotel and recommended by our hotel. A fun place with typical Austrian food. Wish the weather had been warmer to sit in the garden. again, great beer!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank DKG06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert W, Inhaber at Salm Braeu, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We highly appreciated your positive feedback, we are sorry for the weather, hope, next time you will be more lucky. Best Greetings to San Diego, hope to see you soon again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
“Our best meal in Vienna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

This restaurant got on our to-do list during pre-planning of our trip to Vienna and I am glad time allowed a visit. We arrived early evening and though the place was packed, a spot was found for my wife and me (I'd recommend a reservation). The service was prompt with the usual Austrian curtness blended with just the right amount of patience for questions and menu clarifications. The beer (Maerzen in my case) was an example of top tier brewing craft.

It might not be for everyone, but my Blunzengroestl with Bierkraut was something I won't ever forget (think corned beef hash but with blood sausage). My wife ordered the mixed sausage and roast pork plate, which was ample and tasty.

I would strongly encourage anyone looking for Oma's traditional-style cookery, along with beer done right, to make a stop at Salmbrau.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blank_Stare_Brewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert W, Inhaber at Salm Braeu, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
wow, these words are bringing so much sunshine into our staff´s world, thank you for that. We feel very happy, that you have enjoyed every minute of your stay. Indeed, our "Blunzengroestl" is typical Austrian hardcore speciality and those who love it, can´t stay without it. Your positive feedback about the beer will also be forwarded to our young czech Brewmaster, a pearl in our team, hope to welcome you some time soon again..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A hearty place to eat and drink”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Located at the end of the Belvedere gardens this beer brewing meat fest is an ideal place for a solid eat & drink. With gruff lederhosen clad waiters and litre buckets of beer, brewed on site, the Salm Brau is not a place for feint hearted (or stomached). Most popular seemed to be the Surstelze for two. A huge hock of ham big enough to satisfy the biggest of appetites. So impressive that never before has a plate of food been so well photographed. I would imagine many appearances on Face Book's personal pages entitled 'look what we ate!!' The fare isn't just huge slabs of meat mind you. The menu is actually quite extensive with choices to suit most. The Salm Brau also brews its own excellent quality beer that is served in large, even larger and a jug large enough that it really should have its own life guard. For a shared Surstelze, 3 x 1/2 litres of beer and a glass of reasonable quality house red, we paid a very decent €44.00. Can't argue with that. For additional convenience, the no. 71 tram stops right outside. Quite handy when self propelled forward motion might be an issue.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The-Travel-eater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert W, Inhaber at Salm Braeu, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
WOW; thank you for this nice report, we are happy, that you`ve enjoyed your time at Salm Braeu, certainly you had not to leave hungry, one of our priority, finally, it´s a brewery and restaurant located at the Salesianer Monastery.
We hope, you will visit Vienna some time soon again, and will remember Salm Braeu, when your stomache remebers the address :-)
Best Greetings...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

First time here: food was great and beer even better. They have their own brewery and they produce a few types of beer. You can even take away beer in some spcial bottles ( look at the bar).Go for it but you'd better make a reservation if you want to eat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mitrescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert W, Inhaber at Salm Braeu, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your positive recap of your visit, it feels good to know, our guests appreciate atmosphare, food and beers. Yes, we also fill the beer into bottles on request, takes only a few minutes. By the way, Salm Braeu also hosts its own destillery, destilling finest spirits from pure beer.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salm Braeu also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Salm Braeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing