We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of HOLLEREI

HOLLEREI
Ranked #369 of 4,104 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Gent, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food!”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Great restaurant nearby the Schönbrun Schloss. The terrace is at the street side of the restaurant however it is surrounded by hedges and winevines which give a great atmosphere and you have the feeling you are in a garden far away from the street. The house cocktail is particularly good :) and also the day menu was very good. Dessert was not bad but there is room for improvement :).
But if you're a vegetarian you should certainly try this!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lies M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    44
    21
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
110 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This used to be one of the top vegetarian restaurants in Vienna. People who visit it the first time might still find it great. But the cooking certainly has not improved over the years. I would have still given it 4 stars where it not for the soup of the day, which tasted like they ran out of supplies and had to water it up. The Polenta Salad was quite okay, the Red Curry (with smoked tofu) was only average. They only had one beer on tap that night. The wine menu needs reworking.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank boardshorts48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great evening all in all”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We got to know this place through a boshure recommendation and as my travel partner and I are both vegetarians we always like to try restaurant that specialize in vegetarian meals.

This restaurant is situated close to Schönbrunn (also to its subway station) and has a lovely outside seating arrangement. The street it is sited in is not one of the prettiest but once inside the garden and also the restaurant the atmosphere catches you. Cute tables, nice waiters, candles, flowers, trees and so forth. Also the inside furniture provides a nice ambiente... The drinks are really affordable and fresh, the food is a bit more expensive than normal restaurants (you might want to check out the cheaper lunch options) but it is surely worth it. The offered menu definitely provides creative meals and I am sure that also non-vegetarians would find it worth trying - in particular the samosas as entrée and the tiramisu for dessert are worth it!

All in all a place to visit and enjoy. Think about going there before or after a visit to Schönbrunn as it is really close and probably cheaper or at least the same price range as the cafés in Schönbrunn!

Great info: If you have the 72 hours card for Vienna you also get a broshure with coupons. This restaurant is in it as well (at least when we were there) and you can get a 25% discount on the food which makes this restaurant even more recommendable and affordable!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Svenja Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
105 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Vegetarian heaven”
Reviewed December 27, 2011

This is the way you want food to taste... Great spices and great ingredients make the dishes outstanding. In summer, there is a small out-door patio garden, where you can eat in the shadow of nice big trees. I would highly recommend the Mexican corn soup, which I have tried at least three times, and am still excited about it. The polenta salad is another favorite!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank maffe_johansson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Obsessed”
Reviewed September 27, 2011

My boyfriend and I stumbled upon this place during our first night in Vienna; lucky for us it was down the block from where we were staying. We loved everything about this restaurant, and we ate here every night of our trip (and sometimes for lunch as well - and he's not even a vegetarian). Our favorites were the polenta salad, the red curry, and the burrito. Great atmosphere and friendly staff as well. It's been months and we still talk about it all the time.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mek4Eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HOLLEREI also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to HOLLEREI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing