We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrid service!”
Review of Umar Fisch

Umar Fisch
Ranked #462 of 4,193 Restaurants in Vienna
Price range: $16 - $65
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Wieden
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Horrid service!”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Just came back from Umar Fisch and boy, am i dissapointed. My husband reserved a table for two and we came exactly on time. The manager (maybe even the owner, since he was being so arrogant) said we'd have to wait a couple minutes for a table, then he offered us a table by the door and when we refused to take it (because it's freezing outside and the door is constantly being opened) he started literally shouting that 'everybody wants a table away from the door, everybody reserved their table just like you, you demand a table right now' and 'the best you can do is just take this table'. He finished with a 'bye-bye' and turned away. Needless to say, we will not be coming back.
To be fair - we went to this restaurant last year without a reservation and it was great, except for being tiny and overcrowded.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank nyaredzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    92
    37
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“I should not be rating them”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

as it will only improve difficulties to compete for a table.

The review can only be brief. Umar is an excellent venue to enjoy fish and atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaBene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best Seafood of Austria!!!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

As a former chef I visit a lot of local and famous redtaurants. Umar Fisch is one of those who don't need any propaganda......full of locals, great food and service! A must visit for sure

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack69SaoPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lafayette, california
Level Contributor
122 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We went for lunch in the middle of the week during a busy time in December. We did not have a reservation but got a table by the door(thankfully since they allow smoking in the restaurant). It is very tiny inside. We had swordfish and rosemary potatoes, mussels and salad and two beers. Total cost 56Euro. Would definitely recommend this place for the food. They seem to be busy in there all the time.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paris4us063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
205 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A good place for fish in Vienna”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Overcrowded, not very fashionable - but what an excellent choice of delicious fish dishes !!
For sure, you don't come here to enjoy comfort and elegant surroundings - your mission should only be set on enjoying a wonderful fish dinner - and then this is the place for you when visiting Vienna. Very serviceminded staff and they also have a good selection of wines to go with the fish.
Be aware because of the location in the midst of the Naschmart, they are not open after 18.00 on Saturdays. And be sure to make a reservation as this is a very popular eating venue.
Enjoy !!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SignarI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Umar Fisch also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Umar Fisch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing