We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome”
Review of Chamaleon

Chamaleon
Ranked #122 of 4,943 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Austrian, Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Inner City
Reviewed February 18, 2019 via mobile

The owner of Chamaleon is one of the best front of house people we've ever encountered. He made us feel at home and was so helpful throughout the meal with excellent recommendations on food and wine. We were encouraged to take our time and we could see that was their attitude to all customers, with families enjoying their huge fondue in what is a really informal, friendly atmosphere. It's not very big so definitely book and enjoy what is a great sociable eating experience. Good food (loved the mushroom one), good wine at a reasonable price. Thank you for making our last night in Vienna a memorable one.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank KOKEEFFE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 177 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2019 via mobile

Booked a table here when visiting Vienna with friends, absolutely gorgeous food, ambience good and the owner is a star. Helpful and more than willing to explain food choices and recommend additional items but only if required and all delivered with humour and warmth, prices extremely reasonable and not rushed to leave your table, if in Vienna then this is a must visit restaurant.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank lovetravelling50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2019

Came across this restaurant while searching for something to eat on a cold December evening and fondue was the perfect choice of food for the time of year and we weren't disappointed! Lovely cheesy goodness with bucket loads of bread to dunk in it! Staff were friendly and helpful as it was a Saturday night and we walked in without a reservation.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank speedsister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2019

This is on the road in front of Mozarthaus museum. It is somewhat off the beaten path. I stopped for lunch before going to the museum and sat outside. It was very pleasant and quiet, rather than round the block in the busy city street.Try the really great Swiss burger!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank palmpirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2019 via mobile

I’d definitely recommend this restaurant when in Vienna. We had the classic fondue with pickles and it was magnificent!
The staff are really friendly and helped us choose a local Viennese wine. Service was fast and it seems a family fun, friendly affair.
Such a shame we came on our last night or we’d definitely have returned.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Tottenhamk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chamaleon also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Chamaleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing