We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Hotel Vienna Urban

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Vienna Urban
Ranked #26 of 216 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Don't bother with expensive hotels downtow. This is right next to metro which takes you anywhere in less than 30 minutes. Get a Vienna pass and oh are set to go. Hotel is excellent, rooms are spacious and comfortable, staff is nice and helpful. Rooms get cleaned well daily. There are comply of things that could make this a better hotel, sun as having a refrigerator in room, and maybe having a better breakfast. But overall it is excellent

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank Ogi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 243 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2012

Stayed her for 3 nights with friends. Lovely hotel near Schonnbrun Underground Station( Line 4), and easy to find from Wien Mitte (Landstrasse). I took the CAT train from Vienna airport (very quick), my friend took the S-Bahn whish a few Euro's and a little longer.
We purchased the 72 hour pass online before arrival (Eur 25 inclusive of CAT) and just carried it everywhere (no one checks).

Hotel was lovely, had a free prosecco on arrival. Rooms are spacious and the shower was amazing. Rooms had usual amenities but no kettle o=in our room (although my friend had one in hers). Brekkie was ok, but no hot food (only boiled eggs). It got boring after a day! The restaurant does serve nice reasonably priced drinks in the evening and staff were lovely.

A few local pubs and restaurants in walking distance from the station (we were in the mood one night and sat in a local pub at 2am, it was only us! but friendly locals.

As above, very easy to get around and only 5 mins walk to the station. Vienna is a lovely place. Definately have to go back :)

Room Tip: No AC in the rooms, but windows are huge and cool the rooms quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed for three nights here mid July 2012,cute hotel, couldn’t really fault it for anything. Was located extremely conveniently for the Schonnbrun Underground Station( Line 4) – was really simple to get here from Wien Mitte( Landstrasse) the main city centre station – only around 12 mins journey , and then a two – three mins walk to hotel from there. Schonbrunn Palace is right outside the station which makes it a great location for sightseeing. Welcome Drink in the bar on arrival which was a nice touch - nice Prosecco to start off the trip ! Rooms were larger than usual, I was occupying a room solo , yet I was still given an amazingly big room – huge bathrooms with great walk- in shower, crisp clean linens, great beds ,large flatscreen tv , tea and coffee facility was in my room but not my friends’ room. No mini bar in room or soft drink vending machine in hotel. The reception staff were really helpful and friendly regarding questions about sightseeing – Wifi is free in the hotel and a really good speed , there is also a pc available in reception for internet access free of charge, and plenty of tourist brochures etc.
The bar and pizza restaurant were nice but we only ever had breakfast there ,which was fairly decent – cold meats ,eggs, cheese, cereal, yoghurts , tea, coffee all the usual. The only drawback this hotel had was no air conditioning – this did not bother me at all but I can imagine if weather was warmer it would be a negative point. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a sensibly priced , nice comfortable clean base from which to explore this fantastic city.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter , the fron rooms face out to t he street , though not a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Travelkittykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Good clean modern hotel. Limited eating in the hotel, only pizzas when we were there, but a good breakfast. TV but no kettle or drink facilities in the room which was a bit disappointing. Well out of the centre but 5 mins walk to the Schonbrun U-Bahn station so easy access throughout the city.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

stayed here on business and could not fault the hotel on service and finish - nice bedroom, clean and spacious. Restaurant was nicely designed and Pizzas very good.
However it is out of town - if you plan for that then its great but don't expect city centre...

Room Tip: try and get one on the back of the hotel away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

This hotel seems to fall between chairs. It has some elements of a three star hotel but also feels very budget in other ways. The price of the room certainly wasn't budget but I guess this is Vienna.

Our room had a kingsize bed (hard matress), kettle, room safe and large wall mounted flat screen TV. The free Wifi was very fast and for the most part reliable (it was down for 24 hours but the front desk said this was a provider problem). The room was quite large but the storage space for clothes and luggage was limited.

The nearby Schonbrunn U-Bahn (Line 4) makes all areas of the city easily accessible. I would recommend the 14 Euro weekly pass if you are going to be in Vienna for more than three days. It is usable on all forms of public transport within Vienna and with a single trip costing 1.80 it quickly pays for itself.

When new I think this hotel would have been nice but the maintenance has clearly been a low priority here. The desk in our room was typical dark laminate that had been damaged in many places showing the white chipboard underneath. The rods that were meant to be attached to the curtains to slide them open and closed were leant against the wall in a corner.

The staff were also a mixed bag. The two staff on the front desk the day we arrived had no idea what to do about the safe in our room that had been left locked by a previous guest. Fortunately I managed to guess the code that had been entered and get it open myself. They also had no idea about local public transport passes. On the other hand the breakfast staff were excellent and constantly refreshing the good range of foods available for breakfast.

The standard of the room cleaning was poor and it has to be pretty bad before I notice these things. The room floor wasn't vacuumed in the six days we were there and it hadn't been done before we arrived. The room wasn't dusted in the time we were there and there was a layer of dust on most shelves in the wardrobe and on the desk. The bathroom floor was also not very clean.

As a moderately priced hotel for Vienna and with your eyes open with regards to the problems I mentioned above you could do worse for a short Vienna stay.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the middle space only have a view of the skylights of ground floor and you'll n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Hotel is clean but I found the decor to be rather spartan for my taste.

Represented good value for money though if you just want a base to explore from.

Location is good - easy to get to city centre on the U4 line which has frequent trains & is also close to Schonbrun palace.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pajoe_OC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Furstenhof
Hotel Furstenhof
#199 of 359 in Vienna
230 reviews
Renaissance Wien Hotel
#68 of 359 in Vienna
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 Days Premium Vienna
#271 of 359 in Vienna
12 reviews
Ottakring
A&O Wien Stadthalle
A&O Wien Stadthalle
#79 of 216 in Vienna
309 reviews
A&O Wien Hauptbahnhof
#39 of 216 in Vienna
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vienna Urban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vienna Urban

Address: Sechshauser Strasse 83, Vienna 1150, Austria (Formerly Urban Resort Hotel/Beta Art Hotel)
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 216 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Price Range: $49 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vienna Urban 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the Schönbrunn Palace and Gardens, our hotel represents the ideal starting point for exploring Vienna's main tourist attractions. Great infrastructure offers you easy access to the city centre and the most significant historical sites, regardless whether you arrive by car or are planning to use public transportation. Clear lines, deliberately chosen colour contrast and functional elements characterise the architecture and interior design of the Vienna Urban Resort Hotel. Each uniquely designed space shows the special attention to details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Vienna Urban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing