We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful apartment, great hostess, quiet area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Appartements Hermine
Ranked #22 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We spent nearly a week here on the first floor and loved the apartment. High ceilings, very tasteful décor, modern in a classic style. Spotlessly clean and warm on cold days, this place is perfect. It is half a minute walk from an entrance to the u-bahn station Schottenring, on the north eastern bank of the Danube Canal. Our charming hostess allowed us to leave our bags in a locked room on the ground floor on our day of departure as we were getting a sleeper train in the evening. Living in this apartment allowed us to choose whether to eat in or eat out so it was much more economical than staying at a hotel and we had much more space. I would recommend this apartment very highly indeed and would certainly come back again on my next stay in Vienna.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1013WesternRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 86 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

This place exceeded our expectations - and by a long way. Our apartment was on the third floor (OK, a bit of a pain walking up there) but what a joy it was to experience the rooms.

This is a classic Vienna layout: comfortable, confident and spacious to the point of extravagance. It lacked nothing, and was clearly well loved both by the owners and by those who frequent it.

Although the location isn't central, it is close to a tributary, and across the bridge is a very lively part of town with many eating and drinking places. The metro is a couple of minutes' walk, though don't make the mistake we made of getting out at the wrong side of the river.

All in all, superb. We'll be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThePrivacySurgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We, a family of four, stayed in apartment Sophie from friday to monday before christmas. The apartment was clean when we arrived, has floor heating in all rooms (except the WC, for some reason).,It is located more or less on top of an underground exit and is therefore very easy to find and get to.

The apartment was more than big enough for the four of us, with the bedrooms located so that the two little ones were not bothered by the adults after bedtime. The price is good, too, making the apartment perfect for a family getaway.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoachimL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed in apartment 'Karoline' with a friend. It is a large appartment with one huge bedroom and a smaller one (but still fitting a double bed). It has a lovely large lounge, a spacious hall, a good bathroom with a nice shower but a very small and poky kitchen with no daylight. Don't even try cooking in this kitchen, we did and it was awful with the electric hob and no cooker hood or other form of ventilation. To be honest, the food in Vienna is utterly delicious so if you can afford it: eat out as much as you can!
We stayed there in October and the neighbourhood is quiet and a bit glum in at this time of the year. Not too far a walk to the centre of town. The apartment was clean, the decor is homely with a few unique pieces of furniture which makes a nice change with the usual unpersonal holiday rentals. The owner is pro-active, efficient and very friendly. Yes, there are a few flight of stairs but when I saw a 90-year old lady climb up the stairs with her shopping bags -declining my offer to help- ;it put things in perspective! I definitely recommend this place and would stay again when back in Vienna.

Room Tip: The top apartment is the most spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leontine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We spent two nights here while visiting Vienna and had a pleasant stay. We booked the Apartment Caroline, which is a top floor unit. It's a good workout getting to the top! We had four people and found there to be plenty of space for all of us. Having two bedrooms and a separate living/dining room was wonderful. For the most part the apartment was clean and met our standards.
The location was good with quick access to the subway system and a car lot close to park our car for two days (although the car lot only takes changes, which was annoying and the subway stop is bizarre as we could get on the green line going towards town). It is possible to walk into town and we did do that one day.
Would recommend staying here and would certainly stay here again. Excellent value for what you get.

Room Tip: If you don't want to climb a lot of stairs try to get a unit on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Banshee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Appartements Hermine in Vienna. The location is just across the canal from the old city and steps from a U-Bahn station. It is a short walk from the Stephansplatz but it's not the most pleasant walk along the graffiti-covered sides of the Donau Kanal.

We booked the "Theresa" which is a ground floor unit and it was ideal for our family of 5. The apartment is spacious and well-appointed with two bedrooms and and a pull-out in the living room. There is a full kitchen and a washing machine. The private patio was a nice bonus.

Sonja, the proprietor, was very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this place to a friend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

First of all, we stayed in Sophie. From the very beginning, the renting of this apartment was wonderful. All inquiries were responded to very quickly. Sonja was great. We arrived in Vienna by train and getting to the apartment by public transportation was very easy-literally steps off the U. The apartment was exactly what was promised and more than we expected. Very clean, updated, nicely decorated. I could have moved in. Steps easily climbed. We were traveling with 3 children and one senior. No one had any problems. Washing machine worked great. Wifi signal strong and consistent. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to visit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chefmsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
GAL Apartments Vienna
GAL Apartments Vienna
#8 of 217 in Vienna
136 reviews
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#41 of 358 in Vienna
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appartements Hermine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appartements Hermine

Address: Herminengasse 3, Vienna 1020, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Price Range: $114 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Appartements Hermine 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Appartements Hermine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing