We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Went on a Sunday; No Smoking Rooms”

Ottakringer Landhaus
Ranked #221 of 4,106 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Austrian, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Ottakring
Shenandoah Valley, Virginia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Went on a Sunday; No Smoking Rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Prior to going to Vienna I bookmarked restaurants with good reviews, open on Sunday, and no-smoking facilities. This restaurant ticked all three boxes and we took the 43 Tram, walked a short distance, and arrived at Ottakringer Landhaus. The restaurant is six years old, but the building has been standing 150 years and was used in the past to stable fiaker horses. The facility itself has been beautifully restored for its present use, and also has a lovely enclosed garden for warm weather dining. We arrived in the early afternoon when there were but a few other diners, but in no time at all several families with children as well as couples arrived. This appears to be a popular restaurant for those who live in the neighborhood. Service was both very friendly and attentive. While my husband doesn't smoke, I do, so we sat in a No Smoking room and I went to the bar for a cig or two. The waiter always came to get me when my next course was about to be served! The food was Viennese classics with a bit of a gourmet twist. Just delicious! And they are happy to pack up what you are unable to finish to take with you. This restaurant, with its rural characteristics, is a nice respite from the bustle of Vienna and is quiet and relaxing.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neferteria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    50
    3
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A nice place to eat in Vienna!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We read the reviews in tripadvisor and as our hotel was near the Ottakringer Landhaus we decide to go there for a quick dinner! It is a very nice place with traditional decoration and friendly staff. You can have delicious food in very reasonable price! As many said in trip advisor reviews, the spareribs is one of their best dishes and the red beer also is one of the best. It is a place that i would recommended. The only negative is that the area near the restaurant looks a bit danger if you walk alone late in the night.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christos T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very quaint, good Viennese food and service, open Sundays”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We went to Ottakringer Landhaus because it was on our list of places with good reviews open on Sunday. It is out in the 16th District but is easy to get to: 43 Tram from Schottentor to Hernals S-Bahn station and then it's 400 meters (about 7 minutes) (consult a map or mapping program for the walking route).

The Landhaus building is some 150 years old, and served as a stable for Vienna's horse-drawn cabs, the fiakers, There is sidewalk seating, and also a pleasant interior courtyard and several smallish dining rooms of different sizes.

The menu is traditional Viennese for the most part. We began with an antipasti plate with broiled eggplant and zucchini, dried figs, olives, salami, and some other delicacies. Just enough to get started on.

One of us had a good wiener schnitzel with a green salad -- enough to take some home. (Just ask them to "einpacken" what you have -- most restaurants now do this, contrary to some TripAdvisor comments). The other had "spareribs", something we had seen on a number of menus but had not tried. They are broiled and come not with a BBQ sauce but with two dipping sauces, one horseradish and the other mustard-based. Two portion sizes are available. I had the larger, and it was more than enough. Comes with a few roast potatoes and some interesting garnish.

For dessert we split a palatshinken (crepes) with nuts, chocolate sauce, and whipped cream. Delicious.

Overall, we were quite pleased with the quality, quantity, and presentation of the food. The service was attentive and prompt. (We were there in mid-afternoon just as they were getting busy but I assume the service held up.) The atmosphere was pleasant and relaxing.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ValleyGuy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food and lovely outdoor dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

It was dark when we arrived here and it seemed to be hidden in a mainly residential area of flats. Sat outside in the courtyard and had delicious food from a varied menu. Very relaxed atmosphere and friendly service. One of the best meals we had in our 2 week tour of Austria. Highly recommended and worth finding your way there.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsDDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
256 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Quaint Neighborhood Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

The food was very good, the waiters were very friendly, the service was efficient. The restaurant is very pretty. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marieds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ottakringer Landhaus also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Ottakringer Landhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing