We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Asparagus menu”
Review of Five Senses

Five Senses
Ranked #401 of 4,193 Restaurants in Vienna
Price range: $10 - $42
Cuisines: Austrian, Diner, International, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Leopoldstadt
Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Asparagus menu”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I watched forward to the asparagus menu I saw on their internet site. And boy, it was worthed.
Excellent combinations with green and white asparagus from the starter to the desert. An extra from the kitchen with the appetizer and a brownie to take home were real nice surprises.
The size of the dishes are Vienna size, so watch out not to spoil your appetite with a desert in the afternoon if you want to enjoy the whole menu.
The plates come a late to quick to my liking, but I had that experience in all Vienna restaurants, so I suspect that is normal,
So overall experience: great food & wine, nice multi-lingual service,
As another extra, I got the WLAN password, so I stayed connected during dinner (which was important to me because of a family emergency).
The moment I go back to Vienna, I would visit this restaurant again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IngeborgDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    107
    44
    21
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“rip off”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

l was looking forward to a Wiener Schnitzel in Vienna we were Staying at the Novotel and got in late so decided to eat at the Five Senses because it has a good rate on trip adviser big mistake .
The food arrived only to find that the Schitzel was deep fried and the hot potatoes served with it where warm on the out side and cold inside.
after starting my meal only to realize the veal was old and tasted bad .
so only ate a little of the food.
l asked why to the waiter he said sorry and that was that he for got about it we were not happy told him it was bad and l could not eat it nothing was done but when we asked for the bill .
we had to pay full price and GET THIS they charge you a extra 5.80 Euro for the table setting and cover charge per person .
so be very careful you will get ripped off so i bad start to a good holiday

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank M3031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“10 out of 10!”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This was by far the best restaurant we dined at in Vienna and our expectations surpassed!!

The waiters were all excellent, very friendly, helpful, attentive and all spoke great english - they served truffle butter along with the complimentary bread, and also gave us a sample of something chef whipped up (an eggplant puree with pepper foam) to try while waiting for our main.

Food was also very tasty, cooked and presented well and came quite quickly. My wife found the schnitzel the best she's ever eaten!

Please check this place out if you're walking or cycling between Praterstern and the city!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank N and K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz, Austria
Level Contributor
131 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“lunch was fine there”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

do not know the prices, but I had lunch there twice and it was nice. service was friendly and attentive, food was good.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Delicious”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The servers were very attentive and helpful with recommendations. They also brought water for free without me asking for anything, which has been a rarity in Europe. The soup, potato ravioli and Italian dessert was all excellent. I also really liked the decor. Most of all, it was pretty reasonably priced.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five Senses also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Five Senses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing