We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vienna is expensive....but it was good value”
Review of Zum Bettelstudent

Zum Bettelstudent
Ranked #103 of 4,161 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Austrian, Bar, European, Pub, Central European, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Inner City
ny
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Vienna is expensive....but it was good value”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

There is no getting around how expensive Europe is...and Vienna is no exception. After throwing money away on overpriced mediocre restaurants, I asked a local where to go. He directed me to a place that I could neither pronounce nor find. Then when I found it (and other locals said, "Yes!") it was closed for the day. I think it was a Sunday. Since I was lost, I went into the International Hotel where a friendly concierge directed me to this "Student" restaurant. Of course, I was expecting cheap-ish food but basic. No. Actually, the food was quite good and the ambiance reminded me of places in Ann Arbor, Michigan....a college town. The wiener schnitzel was tasty, filling and they even had VEGETABLES....a bit hard to get sometimes when traveling. The price was affordable. It was more the type of place where professors and students alike eat and take their families. Definitely worth a visit if you are hungry and want a good meal out in Vienna.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank innvictim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    186
    46
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good Budget Restaurant”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The food and service are great, you do not have to wait much for the food, we have been there twice during our trip, The atmosphere in the evening also very nice. The prices are not expensive, 2 persons for 35€

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nuno_Pinto1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
293 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“A recommendation that actually worked out”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The hotel guy sent us here, and I figured there might be some collusion. Not the case. Dinner was great in spite of huge portions. The server put up with some awful German as he cheerfully brought the orders. The prices are reasonable, and the food is typical. We'd go back if we were in the neighborhood.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuViPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great value, huge portions, went back twice!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Really loved this restaurant; compared to others in the centre, and around, it's quite a bit cheaper.
The staff were very friendly, and it was nice to sit outside and feast.

I had the kaschespatzle- which, at 7.50 was a steal. As you can see by my photos, the portions were huge, and they tasted delicious.

More details on my blog here- http://pigtailedpoet.wordpress.com/2013/08/17/a-week-in-vienna-day-three/

But this is definitely one of the better restaurants, and was easy to find!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Viennaberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great place for local food and homebrewed beer”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Try local specialities like the Spinatnockerln, although they also have great Schnitzel. Friendly, accomodating staff, good beer and wine, super location - it's all good!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zum Bettelstudent also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Zum Bettelstudent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing