We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, large portions, authentic feel”
Review of Zum Bettelstudent

Zum Bettelstudent
Ranked #108 of 4,161 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Austrian, Bar, European, Pub, Central European, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Inner City
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good value, large portions, authentic feel”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is a good place to sample some local, basic pub food and drink some cheap but oh so good beer. A bit noisy and smoky, but this is expected. Food was also very good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sathamoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    187
    46
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Decent Meal - Not Spectacular”
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had dinner here in late February 2013. We chose this place based on the TripAdvisor reviews, and were reasonably satisfied but did not think that it lived up to the reviews.

The menu is traditional Austrian fare, just like a number of other restaurants in the area. There were a number of locals eating there the night we visited, which is typically a good sign. I had the wiener schnitzel and my wife had a spinach dumpling dish. Both were good, though I had better wiener schnitzel (and potato salad) at other places in Vienna.

Service was both quick and helpful, and the atmosphere upstairs was nice. All in all, it was a reasonably good dinner and the price was in line with similar restaurants in the area.

There wasn't anything that was particularly bad here, but it just didn't measure up to our expectations after reading the reviews. Temper your expectations and you'll probably be satisfied.

Helpful?
Thank MrEricG
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Avoid it”
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We ( me and my husband) ate in this place on Sunday at lunch time. The food was good ( soup and schnitzel) but the service was terrible! We had to wait 20 minutes until the waiteress took the order and after we ate another 45 minutes to pay.... The portions were big enough and we have not been able to eat all schnitzel and asked to take away. The waitress put on the table a box and a bag and said us to put ourselves what we need!!! Good food, average price but poor service and be careful if you don't have to much time to spend !

Helpful?
1 Thank Iuliac67
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

If you want to eat good, PLENTY OF, food and drink good beer, this is the right place. It is near the city park. The prices are very decent and the quality of the services excellent. The spare ribs are delicious.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anka_bucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A piece of Vienna”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The most 'Austrian' restaurant I have ever been to. Excellent food and service. It has a smoking area, too. Lovely furniture.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank noramariaanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zum Bettelstudent also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Zum Bettelstudent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing