We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice & cosy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
A&O Wien Stadthalle
Ranked #79 of 216 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Very clean place, friendly staff, pretty comfortable beds.
Internet is free just in common areas, in the room you have to pay for it. Breakfast is available also.
Bathrooms are very clean and equipped with good quality toiletries.

Room Tip: bring your own bed sheets, in a room for 4 people, just 2 beds have sheets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 60 of 309 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

First of all, let's say that the price is OK for what you get, at least in a place like Wien.

The bedroom for 2 persons is a bit small (you can barely walk), but it is well kept: it is clean and the furniture is somewhat recent. The bathroom is nice, though also small. Common area was quiet, with comfy couches. Location is OK - we arrived by metro in little time to the center.

However, staff could be more attentive - a couple of examples: when we arrived, we had to wait like 15 minutes because one person was counting some money, the other was supervising it and the third seemed to do nothing. When we were finally attended, they could not be described as "friendly", and gave little explanation about how the hostal worked and as far as I can recall, none of the city. A Japanese guy could not understand the explanations, but they made little effort to solve that matter. Last thing is that they charged a deposit of 0,5€ for every drink contained in a bottle, but this was written in German only and definitely not explained by the staff. That means that if you get a bottle on day 1 and return it on day 2 to retrieve your deposit, it is probable that they give you a bad look, because you do not have a receipt - which they do not give if not previously asked for.

Apparently, breakfast had to be booked for the whole stay without the chance to try it one day and then choose whether pay also for the next days or not. Internet was not accessible within the rooms, but oh well. Bedroom walls were thin-paper and the heat was suffocating (no A/C in most of Wien places, sorry!). Linen and bed were OK, but double beds were put aside, so you could hit yourself with the wooden frame if not careful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gorg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We booked a quad room for one night just in order to get an early flight back home, everything was just perfect. Totally new furniture, bath, linen. Staff was very helpful. Centrally located. Free wi-fi in the lobby. Very cheap! Recommended for a short, cheap and non-demanding stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ViacheslavMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Arrived 15 minutes after check in and was ignored by staff. When we received our room key we had to walk through the hostel with dirty carpets etc. When we got to our room it had not been cleaned! The bin was overflowing, the beds were unmade and there was used towels on the floor. We quickly informed reception who told us housekeeping had already cleaned the room but that they would go and check. Half and hour later we were told our room was now clean. We were given no apologies and no explanation. The location isn't the best with seedy bars and sex shops lining the streets of the walk into the centre. We didn't pay hostel prices but we essentially got a private hotel room. Would not recommend as a hotel stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hayley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is the second A&O Hotel/Hostel we've stayed at. The other was A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof. This hotel/hostel in Vienna is a copy of the other A&O hotels/hostels. Same facilities (lobby 2/7 bar, roofterrace, free wifi in lobby, IKEA-style rooms).

Our room (no. 35) was big, clean and cool, there wasn't airco but although it was 30 degrees celcius, we didn't need it. The bathroom (with toilet and shower) wasn't big, but big enough. The hotelroom was cheap (about 20 euro's p/night). Breakfast is 6 euro and is good (buns, cheese, meat, salad, cereal, coffee, thea, milk, juice... the works). If you can spend a little extra, you should definitely stay at the hotelpart instead of the hostel.

Staff was friendly, but frankly we didn't need them a lot, so it''s hard to say if they had good or bad customer service.

The hotel is located at a fairly descent location. Near two U-bahn stations, and several tram stops. It's a 25 minutes walk to the Innerstad, so that's not to bad. The surrounding neighbourhood is a bit dodgy, Not terrible, but definitely not the best part of Vienna.

If you're looking for a clean and fairly well located budgethotel, this hotel is a good bet.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulG78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Disgusting, poor customer service, AO Hostel is by far the worst I have ever stayed in.
when staying here make sure you go backpacking/travelling with your own linen if you do not want to be overcharged as I have seen hostels inc linen and great service only a few mins down the road. location right across a payed car park (€1 per Hr) where gypsys often hag out and migrate to AO premises lock car and cover everything including your wheels. Very unhelpful staff mainly directed at night shift receptionist. Heavy traffic driving by your room ,poorly structured building and maintenance lead to a very uncomfortable room temperature, maybe a fan could be installed in the room, if A/C is too expensive. Wifi is an extra fee if you want to use it in your room, this is common, but NOT worth the price !
Stay here if you want a night in hell.

Room Tip: Never stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danstush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Need to top up money for pillow & duvet cover sheet. Bring your own sleeping bag if you would like to save cost or for hygienic purpose.
Free wifi only available at the lobby, you gonna pay more if you would like to connect wifi in your room.
The only good thing about this hostel is it is near to Metro station & there are supermarket & a shopping mall nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Ottakring
Hotel Geblergasse
Hotel Geblergasse
#222 of 359 in Vienna
519 reviews
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
A&O Wien Hauptbahnhof
#39 of 216 in Vienna
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Vienna Urban
#26 of 216 in Vienna
243 reviews
A&T Holiday Hostel
#45 of 216 in Vienna
216 reviews
Hotel Cyrus
#100 of 116 in Vienna
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A&O Wien Stadthalle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A&O Wien Stadthalle

Address: Lerchenfelder Guertel 9-11, Vienna 1160, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Ottakring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 216 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Price Range: $16 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — A&O Wien Stadthalle 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The A&O Wien Stadthalle is a historic building and offers modern rooms in various categories. The hotel is captivating not only because of its stylish bar in the vaulted cellar, but also because of the comfortable library with an inviting reading corner and the charming beer garden. The A&O Wien is located just 900 meters or one underground station from the Westbahnhof train station. The historic city centre, with its numerous sights, is easy to reach due to the excellent connections. With its central location the A&O is ideal for those traveling by car or with the train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your A&O Wien Stadthalle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a&o City Stadthalle Hotel Vienna
a And o City Stadthalle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing