We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Nice and comfortable hotel for a Vienna break””

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Senator Hotel Vienna
Ranked #185 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed May 4, 2014

The hotel is excellently located (good ten minutes with the tram to Schottenplatz). Modern well-equipped very clean 3 star hotel, the rooms on the site to the street are a bit noisy (if window open) but sound proofing is perfect. Rooms on the higher floors are more recommendable. The house offer a good breakfast, garage parking (16EUR/day) for the guests, very kind and helpful staff. Some good places to eat near to the hotel. I can warmly recommend this hotel to all Vienna visitors - alone, or with families.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holiday483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (905)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 144 of 905 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2014

Pros:
- Spacious, fresh, modern rooms. No single detail I could complain about. I would compare the room quality to 4* rooms in US and 5* in Europe.
- Very clean
- Good-looking reception
- Convenient location (tram 43 takes you to and from city center in ~10min, cruises every few minutes)
- Few very good places to eat in walking distance
- Underground garage parking(16EUR/day)

Cons:
- End of April when I visited the hotel was quite warm (~20). Hotel air conditioner(and ventilation) system works only for heating. It means that the only way you can get fresh and not warm air is opening windows. And right under your windows you have 6 car lanes and 2 tram lanes so it is quite noisy there. And with closed windows over night the air will be VERY unpleasant at morning.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denis_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

We spent 4 nights here in an attic room which was very nice. When the windows are open you can hear the cars from the street but this did not bother us. Room was clean and the staff friendly. The hotel is located about 20min by tram from the city center. We would definitely return.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Andreas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely stay here, it was located slightly out of the city but transport was within easy reach. The staff were friendly and the rooms nice. The breakfast was ample and a great start to the day.
Overall a perfectly acceptable 3 star hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ellie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Overall I enjoyed my stay at the senator and I can't complain about anything major. I booked through booking.com and got a great deal. The hotel was a good 15 minute tram ride from the city Centre which is comparatively close in Vienna. The area surrounding the hotel is nothing to get excited about but at least it isn't too noisy.

Upon checking in they didn't have my booking in the system which caused some confusion. If you book online I would call them as well to confirm they got you. In the end they had just forgotten to print out my reservation from their email. They were friendly enough staff and all was postive there.

The rooms were clean and fresh. Beds were comfy enough. My shower head in room 342 was broken but didn't really stop me from enjoying a beautiful shower. Nice soap and clean towels were provided.

The sound proofing from the street is amazing but from the room above it is average. I could hear footsteps but again this didnt annoy me at all.

Awesome pizza shop is nearby and I suggest visiting it.

I reccomend this hotel if you obtain a good deal.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mykool W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed at the Senator for 3 nights and found the room to be very warm, clean and comfortable. The reception/bar area is pleasant and you can get hot drinks down there too. The whole hotel is well kept and perfect for a short stay in a city.
The hotel is close to the tram stop and easy enough to get into the main sightseeing area. The reception staff were very nice and helpful.
The only downside was the breakfast. We had no problem with the limited foods but the machines dispensing "hot" water and "hot" milk only gave very lukewarm drinks. The fruit on offer was tinned and as the srambled eggs were also cold, a serving of boiled eggs would have made a nice change from cheese. I would also have nuts and dried fruit in containers as the nuts didn't taste fresh. My husband enjoyed the coffee which was hot. Some adjustments would make the breakfast much better.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janis l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Room 518 is the greatest. I highly recommend it :). Extremly clean and cosy. Not all the personnel is polite but you can get over that. Relatively low rates and it is just some stations with the tram 43 away from the City Centre

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank Vladimir D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Ottakring
Hotel Geblergasse
Hotel Geblergasse
#219 of 358 in Vienna
527 reviews
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#158 of 358 in Vienna
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Rainers Hotel Vienna
#159 of 358 in Vienna
610 reviews
Margareten
Ibis Wien City
Ibis Wien City
#97 of 358 in Vienna
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator Hotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Hotel Vienna

Address: Hernalser Hauptstrasse 105, Vienna 1170, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Ottakring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: $37 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Senator Hotel Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
iscover the 4* Senator Hotel situated in the 17th district of Vienna with perfect connections to Vienna’s historic Old Town and all the sights and attractions, like the Schönbrunn Palace, the shopping street Mariahilferstraße and the Viennese vineyards. The 179 rooms in our 4* Senator Hotel are divided into 5 different room categories, such as the calm City Garden Rooms, the spacious and comfortable Family Rooms and the intimate and romantic Cuddle Rooms. The rooms and public areas are designed with touches of red and yellow, which underlines the cosy and happy atmosphere. In the lobby area, two iMac computers and an Xbox 360 station are provided for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Senator Hotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing