We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Senator Hotel Vienna
Ranked #178 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Heiloo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Just two minutes from the next tram station. Tram 43 brings you to the tram station Schottenring and from there to the center of Vienna. Near the reception you'll find free access to the internet. The rooms are nice, clean and from the 6th floor you've got a beautiful view on Vienna. For breakfast there's a great choice of cereals, fruit, bread, some cheese and coldmeat. There's a Lidl next to the hotel, for those who likes to spend less. On the other side of the street you'll find an organic food market with fresh fruit and delicious bread. At the hotel, in the breakfast room, you'll see colourful paintings of Tatjana Hoffmann who's artist name is Zwurski. The staff was great, kind and friendly. Insider tip: Kulturcafé Max, Mariengasse 1, just five minutes from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Silke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    370
    144
    34
    28
See reviews for
147
384
51
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in March through a Groupon voucher. The room was great with plenty of space for the two of us. The beds (although two singles like every Euro hotel) were extremely comfortable with comfy pillows. Bathroom was spotless and well kitted out. The rooms were cleaned and dressed every day by pleasant staff and although there were a group of young American (I think) kids we couldn't hear a peep.

The breakfast was really well stocked with hams, cheese, bread, cereal etc. and the staff were really pleasant.

The hotel was literally 2 minutes from a tram stop taking you into town in a few minutes, although in the rush hour you'd be better off waiting for one of the modern trams than the older ones as they can get a bit cramped.

The only drawback I can think of was that the room was really, really hot so had to have the window open all the time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisWilkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

we stayed at the hotel for 7 days. in general we enjoy our stay. the staff was kind and friendly and helped us in every question! the location of the hotel was ok. you can go to schottentor station with tram 43,which connects with other lines and metro. the tram stop is around 100m from the hotel. there is also a nightline. there is a supermarket right next to the hotel and many shops to buy food nearby. no free wifi in room but two macs in lobby,although very busy :-). no chair and fridge in the room and the bins were very small. the bathroom was spacious!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DespoinaThessaloniki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

I have been lately a couple of times (for business and pleasure) to the Senator Hotel in Vienna. And I must say it was an excellent choice: the place is easy to reach with the Tram, good buffet breakfast, very neat rooms. If it had wi-fi included in the price, I would give it 5 stars ;)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

We chose Senator as we needed hotel with good public transport connections plus parking (we arrived by car, but sightseeing in Vienna is smarter to be done via public transport) - of course all this at an affordable price.
A day earlier we stayed at Chopin in Bratislava (same chain) which was a really positive surprise! Senator is one class down (and so is the price ) but it does provide everything needed for a city tour at a truly extra price - we booked at non-ref rate (week prior to arrival) 55 EUR double room incl. breakfast!
Rooms were sufficiently spacious, tram stop to city center in front of the hotel (10 min travel), bus station to Schoenbrunn 5 min walk up the street (~15 min travel to the palace).
Hotel garage was super convenient and affordable (12 EUR per day).
The only downside was the breakfast, where hot dishes were limited to eggs only and the juice was tasteless. But overall, would definetely come back and recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnitaSk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

Well, recommendations in internet were justified. Well-positioned, modern, clean hotel with incredible staff. The room is extremely clean and nice (cleaned every day we were in a hotel) everything is new. Supermarket located on first floor of the hotel (!), works daily except Sunday until 18-20. Few cafe, restaurants and prepared food shops on this street. Tram and bus stops is few meters from Hotel Senator to each destination. I found only three lacks: no free wi-fi (two internet points in lobby for free, but you will pay to use wi-fi in your room); many rooms without double bed (two single beds); no minibars in the rooms. Anyway, the hotel is still recommended and gives fantastic value for the payment. The breakfast is also nice. And by the way, the hotel good for each season thanks to airconditioning.

Room Tip: not the first and not the last floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dima C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

We've just came back from Vienna, after we spent 4 nights in this hotel. Indeed, the location is not in the center of Vienna, but quite close of it. The room was very nice, modern, spacios and very clean; breakfast good. Another good thing is the free public parking places( if you are lucky) near the hotel ( at the hotel's parking the price was 15 euro/day). There is no free internet in the room, but they have 2 computers in the lobby with free internet access. The price for internet was 3 euro/1 hours; 6 euro/three hours and you couldn't split it when you need it. If you are loged in the internet runs for 1, 3 hours.. I think a free wireless internet will bring a plus, as now the internet doesn't cost so much and you could find it everywhere..
I definitely recommend his hotel and for sure we will come back when visiting Vienna!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roxu83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Rainers Hotel Vienna
#172 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Ottakring
Hotel Exe Vienna
Hotel Exe Vienna
#226 of 362 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Margareten
The Art Hotel Vienna
The Art Hotel Vienna
#160 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Dobling
Derag Livinghotel Kaiser Franz Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator Hotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Hotel Vienna

Property: Senator Hotel Vienna
Address: Hernalser Hauptstrasse 105, Vienna 1170, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Ottakring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Senator Hotel Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
iscover the 4* Senator Hotel situated in the 17th district of Vienna with perfect connections to Vienna’s historic Old Town and all the sights and attractions, like the Schönbrunn Palace, the shopping street Mariahilferstraße and the Viennese vineyards. The 179 rooms in our 4* Senator Hotel are divided into 5 different room categories, such as the calm City Garden Rooms, the spacious and comfortable Family Rooms and the intimate and romantic Cuddle Rooms. The rooms and public areas are designed with touches of red and yellow, which underlines the cosy and happy atmosphere. In the lobby area, two iMac computers and an Xbox 360 station are provided for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Senator Hotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing