We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A modern,sweet hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Senator Hotel Vienna
Ranked #193 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A modern,sweet hotel”
Reviewed September 28, 2011

This is a great hotel to spend a short holiday in. It takes 15-20 minutes to get to the centre of Vienna.
The hotel itself is very modern,considering the fact that it is a 3* hotel only.The rooms are very cosy,and everything is extremelly clean.They offer everything that is important,such as safe,tv,bathroom...The bed is so comfortable that you can count on a good night sleep.
The breakfast buffet offers everything you need,such as cereals,fruit,juices...
I would recommend this hotel to everyone,due to its good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiciBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    382
    152
    37
    31
See reviews for
159
394
54
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

This hotel is ideal for a weekend break in Vienna. It's within easy reach of all Vienna has to offer, conveniently located on a main tram line the journey into the center takes around 10-15 minutes. The hotel was very quiet and clean in both common areas and rooms. Rooms were simple, modern and had all the essentials such as safe, a/c, satellite tv, bathrooms had complimentary in all one shampoo/body wash, hairdryer and shaver point, basic but very functional and clean. Excellent powerful shower with plentiful hot water.

Breakfast is a self service buffet with a good selection of meats, cheeses, cereal, fruit (dried and fresh) breads and juices. The hot offering was scrambled egg and on one morning also pancakes.

Wifi is chargeable as an extra although there are two iMac's in the hotel lobby which offer free internet access.

The hotel bar is very small and is located next to the reception. If I had to give a negative that would be my only small criticism, I thought they'd missed an opportunity here by not offering a bigger more comfortable bar. That said, we found an excellent bar 'Cafe Latte' about 15 minutes walk or 5 minutes by tram from the hotel. The food here is excellent! Staff are lovely and has a garden area out the back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonyiow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

I was satisfied with this hotel, as it is very modern, clean and the prices are reasonable. It is not far from the city center, it takes only 15 minutes by tram No. 43 to get to Schottentor-University, which is a good starting point for sightseeing. The accommodation was perfect, the hotel room has a modern design, air conditioning and a deposit box for free. In frame of the "Vibrant Vienna" special offer, also the Vienna card and breakfast were included in the price (as well as the welcome drink which should have been included as well, although it was not offered to us, probably due to the fact that the waiter was not available at the time we arrived :-)). The breakfast was delicious and it was fine that you could leave the room at 12 and not already at 10 a.m. (as it is usual with other hotels) the last day. There was also a very nice Greek restaurant called Retsina near the hotel (on the route of the tram No. 43, Hernalser Hauptstrasse 68). If I go back to Vienna, I would probably choose the same hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gomel, Belarus
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Good place, near the center! Beautiful hotel!The room was clear and nice.If you want breakfast in a caravan shed, this hotel is for you. A lot of people at breakfast and the waiters can not cope, do not have enough beds, food, too. Maybe it was high season, I do not know, but when you have breakfast in the "ant hill" on vacation, where you want peace and quiet, it's not nice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tasa1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senatorhotel_17, Manager at Senator Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay at the Senator Hotel Vienna. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

Unfortunately it seems, that you experienced a bit of a rush during your breakfast. I really want to apologize for any inconvenience caused. We are strongly working on giving all guests a perfect service and atmosphere of well-beeing, even in these rare times of absolute peak periods.

It would be a great pleasure for us to welcome you again at the Senator Hotel Vienna in future, to prove our usual high standard of service in all aspects of your stay.

With my best regards from Vienna

Thomas Welzig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, England
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We had 5 days here in late August . All the plus points in previous reviews are correct - the place is clean, easily accessible by tram, gives excellent breakfasts. Hovever it is situated in a location where there are few decent restaurants which invariably means another tram ride downtown if you want a reasonable meal in the evening. If you are happy with KFC style food, however, there is a Huhne Paradies (Chicken paradise) in the next block !
After 5 days there we began to tire of frequent trips up and down tramline 43 into town. However the very reasonable cost of staying at Hotel Senator compared to other hotels closer to the Ringstrasse totally outweighs the mild incovenience of tram fatigue.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller-on-Tyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Stayed in the senator hotel for a long weekend. For the price we paid the hotel was great - clean, quiet and modern rooms with all required appliances (good aircon, tv, safe) and a decent breakfast included. Although the hotel is outside the inner stadt it was very easy to get to the centre of vienna, only 10 mins on the 43 tram (or night bus). It was also very convenient to get to schonbrunn schloss from the hotel. Friendly and helpful staff, no wifi but internet available in the reception.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScandiLise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

I was very satisfied with the accomodation and the services in total. The location of the hotel was perfect. We have spent most of the time out of the hotel so I have not noticed any remarkable difficulty. I really appreciated the air conditioning in the room considering the very hot weather during our stay. The only little concern related to the package "Vibrant Vienna" we have ordered. I would expect more initiative from the hotel staff if any service package is ordered and not to only to ask for additional services (e.g. Vienna Card, welcome drink etc.) which are a part of such a package. Notwithstanding this little disappointment, our general impression was very good and I would definitely use Senator Hotel during my next stay in Vienna.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaRubinova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senatorhotel_17, Manager at Senator Hotel Vienna, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your positive feedback about your stay at the Senator Hotel Vienna.

We are sorry that you received the including benefits for the "Vibrant Vienna" package only after requesting them. We have already taken preventive steps for the future that something like this won’t happen again.

We are looking forward to welcome you again soon at the Senator Hotel.

with my best regards from Vienna

Thomas Welzig
General Manager Senator Hotel Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Rainers Hotel Vienna
#162 of 361 in Vienna
582 reviews
Margareten
The Art Hotel Vienna
The Art Hotel Vienna
#155 of 361 in Vienna
369 reviews
Ottakring
Hotel Geblergasse
Hotel Geblergasse
#220 of 361 in Vienna
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottakring
Hotel Exe Vienna
Hotel Exe Vienna
#235 of 361 in Vienna
687 reviews
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator Hotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Hotel Vienna

Property: Senator Hotel Vienna
Address: Hernalser Hauptstrasse 105, Vienna 1170, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Ottakring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Senator Hotel Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
iscover the 4* Senator Hotel situated in the 17th district of Vienna with perfect connections to Vienna’s historic Old Town and all the sights and attractions, like the Schönbrunn Palace, the shopping street Mariahilferstraße and the Viennese vineyards. The 179 rooms in our 4* Senator Hotel are divided into 5 different room categories, such as the calm City Garden Rooms, the spacious and comfortable Family Rooms and the intimate and romantic Cuddle Rooms. The rooms and public areas are designed with touches of red and yellow, which underlines the cosy and happy atmosphere. In the lobby area, two iMac computers and an Xbox 360 station are provided for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Senator Hotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing